We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saxilby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Saxilby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited overnight, with my parents. They had the Garden Suite, (their second stay, as we have family in Saxilby) and I stayed in a twin room in the main house. I simply wanted somewhere to sleep to make our whistlestop tour logistically possible, but from the moment I spoke to Gordon on the phone to make the booking I should have realised that we were going to get so much more! I cannot praise Gordon and Margaret highly enough. Their welcome was second to none and throughout our brief stay nothing was too much trouble (advice on where to eat, printing and annotating maps for me ....even finding a special pin for my poppy!!) The rooms were impeccable, the white cotton bedding was pristine, there were warmed fluffy white towels and bathrobes and even "The White Company" toiletries in the ensuite bathroom!! The attention to detail is remarkable, even down to a choice of hot chocolates on the drinks tray. Breakfast was extraordinary, I have never been offered so many choices!!
It wouldn't be exagerating to say that Orchard Cottage easily exceeded some 5* hotels we've stayed in!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICOLA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you so much,Nicola, for submitting such a prompt and informative review. It was a pleasure to meet you and see your parents again. It is our aim to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable,so we are very happy that Orchard Cottage lived up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 303 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited Orchard Cottage for a one night stay as we were attending a wedding in Lincoln & reception in nearby Sturton on Stow. We stayed in the garden guest rooms which were very nice & cosy, lovely views of the very well-kept gardens.
Margaret & Gordon were very helpful in printing off maps & directions for us. As Margaret was singing in the Cathedral on the Sunday morning we did not have much time to spend with them. We would have liked to have spent some time talking with them both; they seemed such a lovely friendly couple. The breakfast was really nice & well presented with lovely home produce.
If we are ever in the area again we would certainly go back to Orchard Cottage.
Thank you Margaret & Gordon for making our short stay enjoyable.
Michael & Ann

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive and prompt review; it is much appreciated. We would also have wished to spend more time with you both but it is not always possible. Glad to say that the Cathedral service for our Deanery went well so thank you for your consideration. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Visiting near by Sturton on a training course at Gelders. Found this after trying Canal View earlier in the year.I normally stay out in Business Type hotels but after 4 days in Hilton Hotels last week wanted something different. This is one of the best and friendly b&b s I have had the pleasure to stay in. Great nights sleep,very quiet,and a great breakfast all at a reasonable rate.I will be back later in the year when I need to go back to Gelders.I have told Gelders that this is a great little place to stay and so . Anyone looking for a B and B in Saxilby should look no further than Orchard Cottage.Thank You to Gordon and Margeret.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbj104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay at Orchard Cottage; our aim is always to welcome our guests into our home and make them feel comfortable in a relaxed environment.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for submittiong your review so promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our ratings say it all. We arrived tired from our long overseas journey, were served tea and quickly established in our comfortable private rooms overlooking a very pleasant garden. Breakfasts were wonderful and complete and we very much enjoyed Margaret's and Gordon's company and travel/ dining advice. We arrived strangers and left friends. The location was ideal for historic Lincoln and its wonderful cathedral and to reach all of NE Lincolnshire and the Humber bridge by automobile. Per Ardua ad Astra. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilot82267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your 4 days with us at Orchard Cottage. We enjoyed our many conversations with you, particularly as we shared so many common interests and experiences. The aviation and educational aspects of our lives provided many nostalgic discussions; 'Per ardua ad astra indeed'!

Gordon and I look forward to your next visit and thank you for taking the time to submit your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely! Really pleasant helpful interesting couple providing 5* PLUS accomodation, service & food. The front of the property doesn`t hint at the lovely interior & furnishings. The Garden Suite is the perfect private retreat. Anybody planning to visit the Arthur Swallow Antiques & Home Show at the Lincoln County Showground will appreciate the position in the pretty village of Saxilby & the Garden Suite is ideal for early starts & late finishes without disturbing other guests. Easy access to A1, Lincoln Ring Road & quiet backroads to Showground & Hemswell Antiques Centres. The village offers 3 pubs (2 do good food), Supermarket with cash machine, Post Office, Take-Aways & Convenience Stores plus a Garage with lots of "bits" for car/van & trailers. If THAT isn`t enough... you can go Horse Riding at Saxilby Riding Club, eat lunch at Mick`s Cafe at Odder (just down the road) & admire all the Barges & Rivercraft on the canal that runs through the village & out onto the Humber Estuary. Also great for touring Lincoln with it`s historic centre & visiting any event on the Lincoln County Showground.
Sorry if I sound like a holiday brochure but the benefits of a visit can`t be understated DESPITE me preferring it to be a closely guarded SECRET!
Regards from Just Jane & Pete (with one eye)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

It was so good to hear from you and thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at Orchard Cottage, earlier this year. We are sure that future guests will find your approach to the local attractions both amusing and informative, as we did. Definitely, a good 'holiday brochure'!

Gordon and I recall your visit with much pleasure and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

So pleased to have found Orchard Cottage. Our daughter stayed in the main house, we had the garden suite allowing us all to come and go as we pleased. Both rooms were very clean and well presented with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.

Margaret & Gordon were excellent and caring hosts, very hospitable and welcoming and provided a top class service. The Breakfast was first class and worthy of its award.

We would highly recommend the Orchard Cottage, Saxilby to anyone, Top Class accommodation. Many thanks to you both.


  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Orchard Cottage ; it was a great pleasure to enjoy your company and interesting conversation during your 5-day visit. We hope that you had a safe journey home and that your daughter continues well in her studies. We will think about you when we are next 'high flying' in our Cessna!

Thank you for taking the time to submit this very positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wonderful experience being looked after by Margaret and Gordon.
We stayed for two nights in their garden annexe overlooking the croquet lawn and summer house.
Agree entirely with other reviewers and what a pleasant surprise to be asked 'What time we would we like breakfast!". My wife and I have eaten breakfasts in many hotels but Margaret's is by far the best.
With luxurious surroundings, convivial atmosphere and the Oh-so deep pile warm towels it certainly is a place we could and will recommend.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Garden annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaceNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed a 'wonderful experience' in our Guest Suite Garden Annexe; it has proved very popular with other guests too.
Your positive comments about your stay are much appreciated and do help us to maintain our high standards. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking the time to submit this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxilby
0.6 mi away
Canal View Bed & Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Creston Villa Guest House
6.5 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bridleway Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Bridleway Luxury Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Grange de Lings
160 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#4 of 51 in Lincoln
601 reviews
5.6 mi away
Newport Guest House
Newport Guest House
#6 of 51 in Lincoln
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Address: Orchard Lane, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Saxilby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saxilby
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Cottage, a cottage style house with a guest suite annexe, is situated in a central village location, 6 miles from Lincoln Cathedral, close to local amenities and public transport facilities by rail or bus to the City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing