We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canal View Revisited” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal View Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canal View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Saxilby B&B and Inns
Orem, Utah, United States
2 reviews
“Canal View Revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My first visit during my stay in England in May changed my perception of a B&B. I booked on line after looking for accommodation close to my son's residence in the Lincoln area. On arrival my husband and I were greeted by Roland and Louise and immediately felt at home. The rooms are incredibly clean, beautifully furnished, breakfast delicious, in all comparable to a really good hotel.
I booked all three rooms for a family weekend in November which was made all the more special by the care and attention of mine hosts. Would strongly recommend to anyone wanting to stay near Lincoln with all its attractions. Look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. Photographs on website are exact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
87
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

When my husband told me he hadn't been able to find a hotel and had booked a b&b I had visions of tired and tacky accommodation. I was proven completely wrong.

The guest areas are clean, uncluttered and very tastefully decorated. The bedding was just like home and the towels were proper bath sheets not flannels! The hosts gave us a very warm welcome and I thoroughly recommend Roland's scrambled eggs.

We will definitely book next time we are staying in Lincoln.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanas411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Friendly and helpful hosts in this lovely, clean B&B which is convenient for Lincoln. Very spacious rooms and fresh milk provided in mini-fridge in room is a lovely touch. As we require a gluten free menu this is an ideal place to stay as in addition to the breakfast selection there is also a good range of local restaurants which cater for coeliacs. Reasonably priced for location and quality of stay. Will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night on our drive through Yorkshire and the Lake District, and found Canal View a comfortable respite. Roland was a perfect host, the room was comfortable, the breakfast enormous. Roland was thoughtful enough and took the time to leave out a sandwich board on the curb so we could easily find our way back from dinner in the rain Couldn't have found a better place to land and plan to return on my next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for a night as we wre in saxilby for a friends wedding. The accomodation is in great shape , spotlessly clean, modern fittings with a fantastic breakfast sourced locally. Roland and Louise were very welcoming and Roland changed his plans for us so that we coulkd check in early and get changed for the wedding.
On the whole i`d recommend teh Canal view as provided great accomodationand excellent service.
Many thanks Dave, Kathryn and Bob

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Canal View is an excellent B & B run by Rowland and Louise who gave us a very friendly welcome on arrival. Rooms spotlessley clean with luxurious bed linen, huge en-suite with a powerfull shower, TV, hairdryer and a wide choice of beverages plus WiFi just about everything you would need for a perfect stay. The breakfasts are delicious!!
Perfect two night stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

A lovely weekend with lovely hosts. The welcome was warm and friendly and our room clean, spacious and comfortable. Even though we were at the front of the house overlooking an A road the triple glazing was very effective and even though I'm a light sleeper I still had two goods night sleep. The bed was super big and super comfortable with good quality bedding. The breakfasts had plenty of choice and the cooked element was served on hot plates, so important to us. Nothing to fault and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank numptygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxilby
5.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hillcrest
Hillcrest
#12 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 53 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
4.7 mi away
202 Guest House
202 Guest House
#5 of 53 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Canal View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6A Lincoln Road, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Saxilby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saxilby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Bed and Breakfast located in the pretty village of Saxilby close to Lincoln, one of England's oldest cities. Easy access to Lincoln by car, train, bus and bike. Superior bed linen and towels with well equipped en suite rooms. Suitable for business or social/leisure trips. Free Wifi, free parking, free breakfast freshly cooked with local ingredients with gluten free and vegetarian options. TV, tea and coffee and small fridge in every room. Guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canal View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing