We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Saxilby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect one night stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night on our drive through Yorkshire and the Lake District, and found Canal View a comfortable respite. Roland was a perfect host, the room was comfortable, the breakfast enormous. Roland was thoughtful enough and took the time to leave out a sandwich board on the curb so we could easily find our way back from dinner in the rain Couldn't have found a better place to land and plan to return on my next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
88
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for a night as we wre in saxilby for a friends wedding. The accomodation is in great shape , spotlessly clean, modern fittings with a fantastic breakfast sourced locally. Roland and Louise were very welcoming and Roland changed his plans for us so that we coulkd check in early and get changed for the wedding.
On the whole i`d recommend teh Canal view as provided great accomodationand excellent service.
Many thanks Dave, Kathryn and Bob

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Canal View is an excellent B & B run by Rowland and Louise who gave us a very friendly welcome on arrival. Rooms spotlessley clean with luxurious bed linen, huge en-suite with a powerfull shower, TV, hairdryer and a wide choice of beverages plus WiFi just about everything you would need for a perfect stay. The breakfasts are delicious!!
Perfect two night stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A lovely weekend with lovely hosts. The welcome was warm and friendly and our room clean, spacious and comfortable. Even though we were at the front of the house overlooking an A road the triple glazing was very effective and even though I'm a light sleeper I still had two goods night sleep. The bed was super big and super comfortable with good quality bedding. The breakfasts had plenty of choice and the cooked element was served on hot plates, so important to us. Nothing to fault and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numptygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to stay at this excellent B&B for a family funeral near by. The owners, Louise and Rodney were lovely people and gave us a really warm wellcome. There home was nice and clean. The rooms nice and modern and spacious, and the breakfasts, MMMMMMMM!
First morning we had full English. It was all locally sourced. Very tasty. Second morning, I had the Smoked Salmon and scramblled egg on top of a toasted muffin. Devine!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I booked four nights stay and like many other guests before us I am sure, received a really warm welcome along with the coffee/tea and plum bread. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and complimentary drinks etc. in our lovely room with en-suite shower. Plenty of information from our hosts and leaflets,timetables etc.in our room.
Roland,Louise and their delightful daughter made our stay most enjoyable and we will certainly be recommending them to anyone thinking of visiting the Lincoln area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

booked 3 nights to vist Lincoln and do a spot of family history research. We were delayed in Booking in due to breaking down 40miles out,rang The owners and it was no issue at all. Arrived to a warm welcome and were showed to a beautiful room with ensuite. Roland kindly rang the local Restraunt The Bridge Inn to ask could they provide us with a meal even though it was close to last service,again no problem with this. The food at the Bridge was lovely it the drinks were very expensive..£4 each for a pint and glass of wine !!. breakfast at Canal view was local produce cooked beautifully...Roland manged great on The Monday when his lovely wife and little girl left him in charge whilst they went to enjoy The Olympics. Lincoln itself was stunning and we had great success in our search for Family History ..all in all a lovely weekend and I do intend to return ,this time with my sister to enjoy Roland and Louise hospitality once again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxilby
4.7 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
724 reviews
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
5.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,748 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#4 of 49 in Lincoln
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Canal View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6A Lincoln Road, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Saxilby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saxilby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Bed and Breakfast located in the pretty village of Saxilby close to Lincoln, one of England's oldest cities. Easy access to Lincoln by car, train, bus and bike. Superior bed linen and towels with well equipped en suite rooms. Suitable for business or social/leisure trips. Free Wifi, free parking, free breakfast freshly cooked with local ingredients with gluten free and vegetarian options. TV, tea and coffee and small fridge in every room. Guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canal View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing