We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good ploughmans!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chetnole Inn

The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chetnole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The chetnole is a country inn boasting a good range of real ales. An inventive menu is complimented by a wide selection of wines. We have a lovely beer garden for those nice sunny days and log burners for the cold winter nights
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good ploughmans!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We found this pub after searching for a pub close to Evershot, the locals and the bar staff were very friendly when we arrived and very welcoming. We ordered lunch and I had a ploughmans which was one of the nicest I have ever eaten, the restaurant area is cosy and comfortable with some really quirky art on the walls. The only negative on the day we visited was that there was only one real ale available on tap, otherwise it's a nice country pub.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel-Si1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your ploughman's and that the pub was nice and cosy for you.

Sorry we only had one ale on, we do normally have a minimum of two and sometimes three. As it was the second week in January it was a little quiet thus would prefer to do one excellent beer than two not so good. Sorry for this and hope that on your next visit you can try more !!

Thanks for taking the time to review us.
All the best
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    25
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across the Chetnole Inn en route to visiting family in Taunton. What a great find! The Inn is very welcoming & cosy & we were greeted warmly on arrival. We were here for lunch, so sampled the ham, egg & chips & tomato, mozzarella & basil panini - both meals were delicious, as was the pint of Doom Bar. We will definitely be paying a return visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank frenchkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for the review, great to hear you enjoyed your lunch. Would be great to see you again if you are in the area again.
Thanks
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caminha
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pub in remote Dorset village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious dinner here with friends on a Saturday night. Good choices on the menu, with some unusual dishes. Simple decor, nice atmosphere, with local clientele.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitty_eastaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My forth or fifth visit now and it is still as good as I remembered it.
The ingredients are of excellent quality and cooked to a high standard.
Money well spent!!!

Helpful?
Thank 4udio5urf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mid-week dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We live nearby, but had never been to the Chetnole Inn. We decided to try it out for dinner mid-week. We arrived early, so had a walk around the lovely church yard opposite (doors open at 6:30pm). The tables filled up quickly after we arrived, and I expect at weekends you would need to book. The welcome and service were more efficient than friendly, but we got everythng we wanted, and the food was very tasty. We would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chetnole Inn also viewed

Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing