We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good village pub with good food”
Review of The Chetnole Inn

The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chetnole
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The chetnole is a country inn boasting a good range of real ales. we have a lunchtime snack menu for a quick light lunch as well as our full menu if you wish to treat yourselves. Our menu is complimented by a wide selection of wines. We have a lovely beer garden for those nice sunny days and log burners for the cold winter nights. Your four legged friends are welcome in our snug bar where they will find buscuits and a water bowl. Children are more than welcome and can eat off there own menu or smaller portions of some of the main dishes can be arranged.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good village pub with good food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We took a New Zealand guest here as one of the best pubs to eat at in the vicinity, we were not disappointed. The food, as before, was good, beer good and nice ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    26
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure why the reviews are so good for this pub / restaurant. The welcome was warm but not exemplary, we weren't shown to our table. There were no tablecloths on the table, just bare wood although maybe thats just for ambience! The menu was varied but seems to be trying too hard instead of just offering good quality. I don't want to sound negative as the food was good but not great. Worth a visit if you are nearby, but I wouldn't travel to eat there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty-Cristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review us and glad that you found the welcome warm, the menu varied and the food good. We are a country village inn offering great varied pub food that is locally sourced and home cooked in a relaxed, friendly & rustic environment, thus we do not use tablecloths as we are not trying to be a fine dining restaurant but more of a casual dining experience.
Many thanks
Mike & Jude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pease Pottage, West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate here as part of our stay at the Inn (please see my more detailed review under the hotel). Great starters, mains, & desserts - and very varied across the menu (with board specials each night as well).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesMyerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just go back from a fantastic stay at the Chetnole Inn. Mike and Jude are very welcoming hosts. Food is right up there with 5 star hotels in London, but also very reasonably priced. The room had tasteful decor, also very clean. With nice finishing touches like the fresh coffee and Moulton Brown products. We will defiantly be returning for another visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is now a regular in our diary the accomadation is very good with evertning you need. the couple that own the Inn and the staff are first rate and the food is terrific weather you want a snack or a really nice dinner. Cant find fault we love it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chetnole Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing