We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pro master chef menu, wonderful food.”
Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Firstly a big thank you to Jude for being so attentive to our stay, both Ali and myself were made feel very welcome .
Our room for the night was Tess , great cosy room !. Spotlessly clean with a really comfy bed.

It's the kind of inn you wouldn't mind driving an hour or more to get to just to sample the food . That being the case I'd recommend treating yourself and staying the night.
Thanks again to mike and Jude.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank joej_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 181 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed one night as a Valentines weekend getaway. We had dinner in the restaurant

Our room was large and comfortble (Hardy Room) but could not be described at cosy. It was well decorated, clean and functional. Similar to other reviewers I thought it would benefit from bath not just a shower

We arrived on a cool and damp evening and the room was warm as the heating was on. The following morning there was no heat and was just a little chilly

The food in the restaurant was lovely and the service efficient but without and real warmth.

Overall at the price we paid it represented reasonable value - In summary the stay was good but not great as it lacked the wow factor

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Hi all.I Booked Chetnole Inn for my Girlfriend as a Valentines surprise...I had phoned in advance and also booked flowers to be left in the room as well and the owners duly obliged with my request..Got shown to our room and WOW we was not dissapointed whatsoever,A very spacious,comfortable bedroom with everything you will possibly need.We stayed overnight and had a 3 course dinner and can safely say it was the best meal we have ever had(from the valentines menu feb 14 2014)..This is a freehouse establishment and has a wide range of drinks for you to try.Its charm is very oldy,worldy,rustic,and full of character!!!The service was exceptional from the moment greeted to check out.Well done to the owners Mike and Jude,and all the other staff that helped make this stay truly unforgetable!!
Mark and Kerry..

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi Mark & Kerry
Thanks for the review and we are so glad you had a great night away. Many thanks and look forward to seeing you soon !
Thanks
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous two night stay here and it is highly recommended! The Hardy room is spacious and well appointed and my wife was thrilled to have her favourite soap - Molton Brown in the bathroom! For me the wifi was fast and easy to access. The white towels and bathrobes were great.

We also ate in the restaurant pub on the first night (the second night - Sunday was closed). For me this was probably the best fillet steak I have eaten for a long time and a great quirky ideas is to cook it yourself on a small granite slab - so you get to cook it to you own liking. The rest of the meal was also very good (my wife had guinea fowl - also excellent). Breakfast was fast and a good choice on offer.

As the restaurant was closed on Sunday night, Mike and Jules (the owners) recommended us to the Acorn Inn in Evershot and also booked us in was was really nice of them. Well done - we shall be back I am sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

John, thanks for the review. I must say the fillet steak is a great favourite of mine as well. The steak is of exceptional quality, great to have a brilliant butcher and the granite slab is fun to cook on - keeps the steak warm till the end and cooked exactly how you want it.

Many thanks
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Have just returned from The Chetnole Inn. Lovely bright comfortable rooms, all the little extras included. Wonderful food, although I couldn't do the menu full justice due to loss of appetite but my husband definitely did!!! Thanks for a lovely stay

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thanks Claire for you kind words.
All the best
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just returned from a couple of nights stay at the Chetnole Inn. What a treat it was! The room (Hardy) was spacious and well equipped. Lovely ensuite facility with cosy bathrobes to boot. We had dinner on the first evening which was superb and we can easily see how the food has won so many awards previously. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. We both went for the Full English which was very tasty. The sausages were 'proper sausages'. Full of meat and taste.
It is a bit off the beaten track, but the fact that pretty much all the tables were in use at lunch and dinner is a testament to its local reputation.

We cannot praise it too highly and when we want a quiet night or two away, it will definitely be one of the favourite locations.

Previously, we have been a little sceptical of Trip advisor reviews, as there is often a wide variety of opinions. The Chetnole reviews were exclusively good and we can see why.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeLatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Mike, thank you for taking the time to review us, we are so glad you had a great time with us. Hope to see you again soon !

All the best
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here on 5th October and loved it. Rooms were big, comfortable but beware Henchard room is two single beds together which was a little disappointing as we had booked a double room.

You absolutely MUST eat dinner here. The food is simply stunning! I had pork belly and my partner had fillet steak. Amazing. The dark haired waitress could do with smiling a little more in our opinion, just to maintain good customer service. Breakfast is included with the room price and it is delicious!

Overall would recommend staying in this beautiful inn-defo for the food (its won a lot of awards for good reason!)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma_louise00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and we delighted that you loved your stay and found the food stunning - thank you. We are concerned that you were disappointed about the fact you had booked a double room but then stayed in 'Henchard'. We have 2 king rooms and 1 twin room, and when your partner Jake rang to book we advised him that the kings were unavailable but there was the option of staying in the twin that we could turn into a large double which he then booked. We also confirmed this in an email to Jake as well saying that you would be staying in a twin room turned into a double - we are therefore sorry that you did not realise this before arriving.
Kind regards
Mike and Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
7.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
247 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Rose & Crown Trent
The Rose & Crown Trent
#3 of 24 in Sherborne
45 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
447 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Acorn Inn
The Acorn Inn
#1 of 1 in Evershot
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range: $123 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing