We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Germain en Laye- France / Horsham- UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here on 5th October and loved it. Rooms were big, comfortable but beware Henchard room is two single beds together which was a little disappointing as we had booked a double room.

You absolutely MUST eat dinner here. The food is simply stunning! I had pork belly and my partner had fillet steak. Amazing. The dark haired waitress could do with smiling a little more in our opinion, just to maintain good customer service. Breakfast is included with the room price and it is delicious!

Overall would recommend staying in this beautiful inn-defo for the food (its won a lot of awards for good reason!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma_louise00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and we delighted that you loved your stay and found the food stunning - thank you. We are concerned that you were disappointed about the fact you had booked a double room but then stayed in 'Henchard'. We have 2 king rooms and 1 twin room, and when your partner Jake rang to book we advised him that the kings were unavailable but there was the option of staying in the twin that we could turn into a large double which he then booked. We also confirmed this in an email to Jake as well saying that you would be staying in a twin room turned into a double - we are therefore sorry that you did not realise this before arriving.
Kind regards
Mike and Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
108
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Chetnole Inn staying the Hardy room which as stated in previous reviews is large, comfortable and spotless with a great view. We were staying on a DBB basis and the food was excellent with a good varied choice. There was also a good selection of wine. We walked to the train station one day (10 min walk) and caught the train into Weymouth which gave us both the opportunity to enjoy the Dorset country side. A great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for just one night but will return. Excellent room named "Tess". Bed a bit hard for us but still had a wonderful time as the room was spotless with free Wi-Fi and a lovely view looking at the church.
The charming service all round was excellent as was the evening meal. The fillet was the best I have had for a long time. It was seared and then served on a small but very hot granite slab, so that you just cut off a slice which you cooked to your exact liking. I will return again just for this steak!
Nice selection of good value wines and beers to complete a very nice village pub experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had three nights at the wonderful Chetnole Inn in early September .
A truly happy and comfortable experience , totally spotless and wonderfully decorated rooms , excellent food worthy of many awards , and a choice of ales and ciders , not to mention excellent wines .
Value and quality are rare to find these days and both are in abundance at this charming truly English village Inn.
I will definitely return to this Inn and beautiful Dorset soon .

Room Tip: 3 rooms and all totally individual and absolutely charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beautiful atmospheric inn. Hidden in Dorset countryside, not far from Sherborne. We stayed for one night in Hardy room, spacious,nice and clean. Owners are friendly and hospitable. This place is also an excellent dining pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are delighted you had a great stay and hope to see you again soon.
Mike & Jude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August in this lovely Inn, the first night we stayed in the twin bedded room (Henchard) which had the most comfortable beds and the room was lovely - very clean & fresh. Tea/coffee tray with 'real'coffee.
We had to move rooms the 2nd night as we were very late booking & stayed in a room with a king sized bed(Tess), this again was excellent but the bed a little hard - not really a complaint- just preferred the 1st room.
The breakfast was superb with fresh ingredients very well cooked.
The Restaurant had stripped pine tables and the menu was excellent, we had no problem making a choice for the 2 nights. Wine was very good and not overpriced.
We were lucky enough to book the rooms through Laterooms at the discounted rate of £75 per night B&B but would have been quite happy paying the full price of £95.

Definitely recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: We liked Henchard which had very comfortable twin beds, which were pushed together before our arriva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cedmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Jane, thanks for taking the time to review us. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay.
All the best
Mike & Jude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in the room called Tess - lovely view out towards the church and the room was fresh ,bright and spacious. The whole Inn combines traditional things like stone floors, pine furniture with a fresh modern look. Had dinner there twice and there is definitely a good chef at work. Chetnole was also a good base for exploring local villages and doing two long walks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Property: The Chetnole Inn
Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing