We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb country pub with accommodation”
Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb country pub with accommodation”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is simply a charming village pub with great food, a lovely room and great staff.
The hosts Jude and Mike were extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The Chetnole has three rooms. Our favourite was 'Hardy'. Spacious with lovely views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomont1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    26
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
113
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Lovely little inn, superb food and breakfast, room was very spacious and comfortable. We had a drive to sherborne which is worth a visit. We stayed one night, perfect stop over on our journey back from cornwall

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexJackmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Highly recommended if you are looking for an "inn" experience. Good beer, good food and great bedrooms and a good host to go with it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPAHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Pleasantly furnished, clean, good sized room. Breakfast and evening meal very good. All staff, including owner, very pleasant and helpful. As one would expect in a country inn, the rooms are above the pub. Though the restaurant was very busy on the evening we stayed there and there were people in the bar, there was only a little transferred noise from below - more from people standing outside below our room - just something to bear in mind if you are early/light sleepers. Also, not sure if the bells ring from the church opposite at any time. All the compromise of getting away from the town into lovely countryside. Pretty beer garden. No problem with car parking. Quite well placed for visiting many houses/gardens and beaches of Dorset.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This inn has only a few rooms but they were, judging by ours, excellent in being clean, bright, well appointed and decorated. The owner and staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. We eat an evening meal, breakfast and lunch and could find very little to fault although vegetables were a bit sparce in the evening. All in all, we would recommend this inn unreservedly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AncientmarinerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Had a wonderful 2 night stay. Friendly staff, excellent accomodation and food fantastic.
Beautiful village.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed two nights in very comfortable, tastefully furnished, well equipped room & bathroom with beautiful view of village church. Molton Brown toiletries and big white fluffy towels. Delicious dinners and breakfasts and excellent service. Can't fault it at all. Beautiful countryside and loads to see and do nearby. Hope I can find an excuse to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Property: The Chetnole Inn
Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing