We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
$316
$250
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$191
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
330
42
8
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
42
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersparking areathe cottagesmountain gorillaseach morninggovernors campsteep walkgreat hostsrelief managerroaring firestinging nettlescool drinkan amazing experiencenational parklarge tablehot water bottlesstone path
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 385 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

After reading mixed reviews about Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge I am pleased to tell you GO! It appears they had some issues with a previous manager, who is no longer there! It is the best accommodations for gorilla trekking in Rwanda period. The accommodations speak for themselves....awesome! The people can be a little timid as English for some is not their first language. Things can be lost interpretation...but be patient. I discovered when I spoke to them in French the real nature of these people flourish....they have nothing but good intention for your experience. Having experienced some of the finer cuisine on this planet, I would tell you that both our dinner experience were quite good. Now for the reason we all come "Gorilla Trekking"! You will need gaiters and gardening gloves as there are stinging nettles when you are out hiking. Don't have any? No problem the lodge provides those that need them with gloves and gaiters. You would be wise to bring rain gear as well.

There are now 10 families available for visiting. Each group will have no more than 8 visitors. On the morning of your trek you will be whisked off to the park headquarters, where you will join with the others that are there for gorilla trekking. The park officials meet with all the drivers and create the groupings for the day. You then will meet your group and your guide and get a quick briefing of the family you are about to visit. Then you head out to your starting point, which is a 5-10 minute drive. Once you arrive at your starting point you will meet a group of porters, which will carry all you stuff for $10.00. Highly recommended as some of these porters are reformed poachers and have been convinced by the community that the gorillas are good for the community....by making money porting they are starting to understand the economic impact these beings are having. you will also have 1 or 2 trackers working with your group, they have been in the field since sunrise tracking the gorillas movement from where they last left them the evening before.

We did 2 treks..our first one was with Agashya family, which if I remember correctly has about 23 members with lots of juveniles. We had a 45 minute walk through farmland to get to the park boundary, which is a stone wall...then another 45 minute hike through dense bamboo vegetation before we reached our group. Once you are within a minute or 2 of the family, you will be asked to leave all your belongings behind other than yourself and a camera. It's been 2 weeks since I first saw these gorillas and there are not words I can use to describe how I felt being amongst them. You get a lot closer than the 7 meters that is suggested at base camp. The second family we visited was the Sabyinyo family....this family has the largest silverback gorilla in the world as the boss! Just amazing! What a phenomenal experience

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rRobJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thanks you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was our last stop on a fantastic trip through Tanzania & Rwanda. The Silverback Lodge, perched high in the mountains, overlooks the valley & the nearby mountains where the Gorillas live. Our lodge was beautiful, spacious & very comfortable including a log fire which is lit before you return from your Gorilla trekking. The service from the efficient & friendly team is world class!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thanks you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The staff at the hotel was amazingly helpful and when taken into consideration that tourism in Rwanda is still in it's infancy I think the lodge is the highest caliber available when visiting the National Park to see the Gorillas.

The rooms are incredibly spacious (we stayed in one of the Suites which was huge!) with roaring fireplaces that keep you warm at night.

The staff and the entire experience is built around the Gorilla Trekking and the little extra's they do really make your experience stand out when seeing other trekker's staying at other lodge's. For example, Sabyinyo provides gator's (to keep fire ants from getting into your trousers) and rain poncho's should the weather prove that they be necessary, they also eagerly provide either a full packed lunch or a small snack depending upon the extent of your daily trek.

Negatives to point out would be that the walk/hike from the car park to the lodge is lengthy and up a very steep hill (so much so they provide you with walking sticks to make the journey) and depending on your room be prepared for another long walk. All of this possibly exacerbated by the altitude which makes it more difficult for those not used to it. I wouldn't highlight this as a major problem (as assumedly you are there to go trekking!) but something to highlight for those who may be less physically able.

Overall fantastic experience.. and we'll be back again to see the Gorillas

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jobinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A warm greeting upon arrival at the parking then a short climb to the beautiful lodge. A welcome drink and orientation. Then I was escorted to my cabin/suite which was exceptional, with a crackling fire, libations, living/dining area, large bed with a hot water bottle at night, great bathrooms, fresh fruit, and water. Looking out of the windows on all sides were magnificent mountain views.

The lounge area was warm and inviting with many wonderful books and chairs to sink into. The dinning area was welcoming as many guests joined together for delicious food, wine and wonderful conversations.

Gaiters and jackets were provided, for our exciting adventure and trek into the lush mountains, home to the magnificent Gorillas.

The Sabyingo Siverback Lodge could not have been more perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wonderfulworld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I really loved this place. The manager and all the staff could not have been friendlier. The food was great and private rooms were really nice. I will be going back again without a doubt. Simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hershkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews