We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside very different to outside!”
Review of Sherbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherbourne House
Ranked #3 of 5 Attleborough B&B and Inns
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Inside very different to outside!”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed here recently and I would say that the guesthouse website portrays a very lovely image of the front of the house, which it certainly is. However inside is a different story. Rooms upstairs are tiny, and although we had a downstairs room it's right next to the kitchen and the reception area, so not very private. Beds are comfortable although all the sheets seem to be polycotton so it's a very warm night. Also the house is right on the busy road, so you have to open the window to get any air, which makes it a bit noisy.

I'd stay here if you are in town for a night perhaps, but not for a longer stay. The owners are nice enough, but it's not very homely and there's nowhere to relax other than your own room.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    33
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
20
31
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Very much a large B&B than a hotel - the hotel facade flatters to deceive. Rooms are OK but rather cramped and claustrophobic. Staff very friendly however.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2009

One thing I had trouble with in the UK was the water, but at the Sherbourne house they have a filtering system. It seems small but its the attentiont to detail there that makes is a wonderful place to stay.

We were so comfortable with the staff and the guests we didn't even need to lockeat our room.

Food is excellent
Owners are great
Location is very central

If you are looking for a nice place to stay and not be in the busy part of town this is for you. We will stay there again soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_E_S_L_A_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Small family run hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the hosts were very helpful and the food was very good. It was in a good location for our stay and we will definately stay there again if we are in that area again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyMinnie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

A very nice guest house in a quiet village. The staff went out of the way to make me comfortable, to the point of offering me a ride o the station. It's nice to stay at a place where all the staff know your name, even before I introduced myself (unless I'm that infamous in the licensed trade).

I crowned myself on the doorframe each day, but then I'm 6'3", and the food was a little out of my budget, but I can't fault it for friendlyness.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snodlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The hotel is small but very comfortable. The food was excellent and the service first class. Would recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We have stayed here before and thought that it was a nice frendly place. The breakfast is great, plenty of choice and freshly cooked. The only thing I would say is that the housekeeping standards in the bedroom could do with improving. The bath had hair in (not ours). The TV was very dusty as were the, window cils and table tops. The taps in the bathroom had someone elses toothpaste stuck to it.. We will still go back, but hopefully to a better standard of cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Attleborough
0.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wymondham
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
895 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbourne House

Property: Sherbourne House
Address: 8 Norwich Road, Attleborough NR17 2JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Attleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Attleborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherbourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sherbourne Housebourne House is a privately run country house, built around 1740, which offers an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all our guests. Located in the historic market town of Attleborough, Norfolk, Sherbourne House is ideally placed for Norwich, Snetterton Motor Racing Circuit, and places of interest in the Breckland area including Thetford Forest, Old Buckenham Airfield, Bressingham and Wymondham.Whether visiting for business or leisure, Sherbourne House offers the perfect location for any occasion. We are pet-friendly and offer free broadband wireless internet access throughout. The Restaurant at Sherbourne House serves a wide variety of freshly-cooked, local produce to cater for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sherbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbourne House Attleborough, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing