We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Sherbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherbourne House
Ranked #3 of 5 Attleborough B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hi Doris and Tobias Thank you for a great time we spent with you both, you both have that special gift to succeed in every thing that you do, we wish you every success in making Sherbourne House the number one place to stay and enjoy the excellent food.
The rooms were of very high standard very clean and so cosy to stay in.
We will be back, once again thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
20
30
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Steyed here one night and from the moment I arrived was made to feel very welcome. The rooms were of a very high standard and those little touches were what made this hotel step in to a different league.
The dinner was outstanding value and the steak was exceptional, the best I had tasted in a long while. This hotel is well worth a visit but for those who live locally the restaurant is a must - great food cooked by an excellent chef is a rare combination! Would be sure to make this is not my last visit and will certainly be recommending to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We have just spent two very comfortable nights in this warm and welcoming hotel. Despite the snow and ice outside the rooms were cosy, spotlessly clean, well appointed and decorated and furnished in a tasteful and individual style. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was excellent and I would particularly recommend the steak and breakfast sausage!
The service is attentive and efficient but calm and relaxed and the owners approach made us feel welcome and at ease.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed here one night as a couple. Downstairs room that others have queried but not a problem. Large, well decorated and equipped, very comfortable bed. Service and breakfast faultless. Yes, rather close to moderately busy road but double glazing deadens traffic sound. Pleased that we stayed here. Ground coffee and cafetiere in your room - say no more.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Sherbourne House is a beautiful little hotel of great charm and character conveniently situated near the centre of Attleborough and just a couple of minutes drive from the A11. The bedrooms are delightful and the beds extremely comfortable, high on the "sink in" factor but firm at the same time. The dining rooms have wonderful features and are extremely comfortable and the conservatory is light and airy in the warmer weather and cosy when it's cold. The food is fabulous and the service great. This is a real haven where you will be made extremely welcome and very well cared for. I would come back like a shot!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but Room 1 is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolbannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed during a race meeting at Snetterton and as a team we would definitely return. We had lovely rooms, great service & the food was brilliant.
The setting is more B&B then hotel but still can not be faulted.
There is a downstairs room, which is adjacent to the reception area so maybe try to avoid this particular room if you are easily disturbed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n77njc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a beautiful house with lots of character. Our (3) newly refurbished rooms were large and had huge comfortable beds. Rooms and hotel in general was clean, tidy and well maintained. The location of the house is just outside the village so you are near to the shops if needed (but not in the countryside as such). The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice on the menu. I would comment that you get the feel of a guest-house/B&B as it is not a large hotel and the owners are very friendly- some might like it, others may not.
Would definitely stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agraham88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Attleborough
0.0 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wymondham
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbourne House

Property: Sherbourne House
Address: 8 Norwich Road, Attleborough NR17 2JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Attleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Attleborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherbourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sherbourne Housebourne House is a privately run country house, built around 1740, which offers an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all our guests. Located in the historic market town of Attleborough, Norfolk, Sherbourne House is ideally placed for Norwich, Snetterton Motor Racing Circuit, and places of interest in the Breckland area including Thetford Forest, Old Buckenham Airfield, Bressingham and Wymondham.Whether visiting for business or leisure, Sherbourne House offers the perfect location for any occasion. We are pet-friendly and offer free broadband wireless internet access throughout. The Restaurant at Sherbourne House serves a wide variety of freshly-cooked, local produce to cater for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sherbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbourne House Attleborough, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing