We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

The Spa at Aldercarr Hall
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We booked the spa pamper package for my friends birthday - and really had a great time. I would agree with some other people's comments about bits of mould in the changing room and the general entrance being a bit shabby - however the staff were all lovely and really helpful and professional.

For £40 each including a treatment and lunch and bubbly this was the best value place we found by miles and anything lacking in the presentation of the facilities was more than made up for by the friendliness of the staff and the good time we all had.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasy85186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Dereham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely quite little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

i loved everything about aldercarr hall, staff, facilities and the lunch was excelent

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trying to be something it's not - avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I did not stay at the hotel, but was bought a spa day for my birthday. I have to agree with everything NorfolkSteve posted - the entrance is round the back past the oil tank, somewhat unwelcoming. The decor is veryt tired and hotch potch. The swimming pool is small, cold and didn't look the cleanest. The hot tub is dumped in what was described as the conservatory, but is more like a corridoor with a leaking roof. It wasn't working on the day we went, and despite repeated reassurances from staff that the water would be hot enough by the end of the day, it felt just as cold at 2.30 than it did at 9am. The tea and coffee consisted of water in flasks and tubs of UHT milk, all of which had clearly been sitting there all day, next to an overflowing bin. The 'relaxation area' consists of 4 steamer style loungers in the gloom next to the pool, which didn't even have any cushions on. For lunch there was no choice - and what was clearly supermarket packet sandwiches emptied onto a plate( not even an attempt at garnish), with some supermarket bakery mini cakes and a packet of crisps. There is ONLY ONE changing room, with no piped hot water, grotty looking tiles, and an electric shower which produces a dribble of tepid water.
To be fair the treatments were ok, not the best I've ever had, but acceptable.
Might have been ok if you had just wanted a swimming pool attached to a B&B, but was certainly in no way of the standard required for a spa day at the expensive prices they were charging. We too tried complaining to the manager, who was rude and agressive, and walked off before finishing the conversation. I shall NOT be returning. AVOID this spa!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank caroline4328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spa that makes you feel at home and the day is all about you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Friendly staff members and the spa was clean!although decor needs some updating the equipment there works very well and the overall experience was very welcoming and personal!great for couples!

Helpful?
Thank Idj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The perfect weekend getaway; great value for money and really relaxing atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was treated to a spa day by my boyfriend for my birthday and had a lovely time. Aldecarr has everything you need for the perfect day trip: swimming pool, lovely staff, well trained beauticians and good facilities. I would definately recommend it to a friend.

Helpful?
Thank PrincessKatieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spa at Aldercarr Hall also viewed

 
Hethersett, Norwich
 

Been to The Spa at Aldercarr Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing