We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back up to the usual standard.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gamekeeper - CLOSED

The Gamekeeper
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Gamekeeper, a family run business with over 50 years catering experience between us. We offer truly delicious food, real ales & fine wines served in the relaxing bar, in the warm intimate dining room & in the pretty fenced garden - weather permitting. There is also a large brick & timbered hall which is ideal for private functions, meetings & very special occasions.Located on East Anglia's largest village green, our 17th Century Grade II listed pub overlooks the pastures & ponds of Old Buckenham. We are situated 14 miles from Norwich and 9 miles from Diss.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Back up to the usual standard.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

With the Landlady in control pleased to report service and food back up to the old standard. Happy to return again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    14
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went to the Gamekeeper for Sunday lunch with family. We were quickly seated and shown the menu (about 5-6 choices for each course). Our table was quite cramped between the doorway and another table, I had to ask the neighbouring table to adjust their chairs so I didn't break a rib!
The food was lovely, just wished that the gravy with my roast had been served in a jug rather than poured all over the plate!
Nice family atmosphere, good food (not rushed) and a small but extensive bar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doolaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A - MA - ZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Completely and utterly amazing food and service. Menu was varied and homely with some excellent specials on the day. We had a starter, main and dessert and I could have eaten it all again - it was that good. Regular updates on their website gives you a good indication of the menu you will be getting on the night and booking is essential to avoid disappointment. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Went here for the first time on Sunday for lunch. We live in Ipswich so this was a very long way for us to go but was worth it.
There was 22 of us including 5 rowdy young children for a birthday meal. Considering that we didn't have to pre order our food (which I thought we would have done for so many of us), the service was excellent, food was very tasty and really nice and hot when it arrived.

We sat in the large room to the side which was a little cold when we first went in but when it started to fill up it got warmer!

Overall a very good meal and I would recommend anyone to go there

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Littletk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Exceptional Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Since moving to the area my wife and I have eaten here several times, it's a fantastically welcoming place and the food is top notch across the week. Where it really shines though is Sunday lunch, both in quality and quantity you cannot fault the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gamekeeper also viewed

 
Attleborough, Norfolk
Attleborough, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing