We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pity it wasn't open all day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gamekeeper - CLOSED

The Gamekeeper
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Gamekeeper, a family run business with over 50 years catering experience between us. We offer truly delicious food, real ales & fine wines served in the relaxing bar, in the warm intimate dining room & in the pretty fenced garden - weather permitting. There is also a large brick & timbered hall which is ideal for private functions, meetings & very special occasions.Located on East Anglia's largest village green, our 17th Century Grade II listed pub overlooks the pastures & ponds of Old Buckenham. We are situated 14 miles from Norwich and 9 miles from Diss.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pity it wasn't open all day!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We went here on Bank holiday Monday after visiting an attraction up the road found it via trip advisor It was a lovely day and so opted to sit in the garden what we hadn't realised was they shut at three o'clock and as we had arrived around quarter past two we weren't expecting that much when it came to our meals, but how wrong were we. They were of generous portions and freshly made and all of us were very happy. The only disappointment we had was having to leave at just gone three as we would have loved to have stayed longer. If you are around this area it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Car212167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    14
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
weybread
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I met some friends here for supper and were not disappointed. The atmosphere of the place is great, warm and friendly. The food was amazing I had the lamb shank and it was perfect, and the service was great. We all had 3 courses and coffee and the value for money was good, it is not a cheap place to eat but well worth the money. We had been before and will be going again, it is a really good place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyWeybread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As good as ever. Our third visit, will not be our last.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We met friends here for Sunday lunch and could not fault the experience. Warm welcome in a convivial bar, well kept local and guest ales ( Timothy Taylor Landlord mmm...). Carefully prepared and flavoursome starters, roast pork and beef both delicious and very tasty puffs. Very flavoursome Malbec. Great value all round and all the diners seemed to be enjoying themselves immensely. We shall return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah55663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Was invited here for a family meal. Food was excellent service spot on and the place was lovely inside great country pub worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly village pub”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like a previous review was the first time we had visited under new ownership. Was greeted by very friendly staff and the place was packed, a good sign in anyones books.
We had booked a table which i would advise especially on a sunday. We both had a main and dessert which were both of a high standard in taste and presentation.
Overall, a great place to eat with friendly service and a nice atmosphere where people of all ages welcome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gamekeeper also viewed

 
Attleborough, Norfolk
Attleborough, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing