We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero atmosphere and shabby.”
Review of The Griffin Hotel

The Griffin Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Restaurants in Attleborough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Zero atmosphere and shabby.”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The landlord needs lessons in customer service and general manners. The decor is old and in need of refurbishment. There are far better places to either eat or stay in the area.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    12
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Satisfactory”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

well what can we say !!!! my partner and i booked the Griffin for a family gathering over the bank holiday weekend, we were a bit apprehensive to say the least due to prior review.
We were made to feel very welcome from the off , service from a young barmaid named Danni (lovely lass) was great, and when we finally checked in after tasting a few of their gorgeous pints of guinness the manager (Richard) cldnt of been more helpful...

The room was freshly decorated and consisted of a 4 poster bed, flat screen tv and tea/coffee making facilities, the en suite was spotless, Danni also made sure there was an iron plus board in room as we had requested

As we visit family and friends regularly in this part of the country we will defo stay again

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mistergee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyldesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“worst night sleep ever ,do not stay here”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Have just returned from a family gathering in Attleborough , booked in for 2 nights at The Griffin . The pub is scruffy and needs refurbishing . The landlord needs to improve his customer service skills - very poor . Our room - room 6 was small , and at the end of a dark , unlit corridor ! On the way to our room we passed 4 other rooms that seemed like they were a bit smarter and when my sister looked in , she said they had 4 poster beds and were smarter than ours . The furniture was old , cheap looking and dirty, bathrooom needed upgrading , there was no shampoo or shower gel . Bed linen was clean but the worst thing was the bed . The reason why we didn`t sleep was that there were springs sticking out of the mattress . It was laughable , if it hadn`t cost £80 a night !
We were woken the next morning by a barman throwing all the empty bottles into a big skip underneath our window , disturbing the few minutes sleep we eventually did get !The breakfast was very poor , either grapefruit OR juice OR cereal . Then bacon, egg and tomato OR poach or scrmbled eggs . My sisters poached eggs came on half a piece of toast .....as I said ....for £80 a night , it was disgusting . So much so , we checked out after 1 night and slept on my parents conservatory floor . I think the only reason the landlord gets away with such robbery is that there are so few alternatives in the area ......but do yourselves a favour ... do not stay here .

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the rest”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were staying nearby and were recommended to eat here. The food was pretty good,
lovely starters, on hot plates with nice fresh bread. Perfectly cooked steaks. The duck however tasted as though it was from the freezer ( old and tough and defrosted to quickly). There was also too much sauce. If it had been served seperatley it would have been ok. But it was covered in it!!

We had to wait ages for our wine order. And there was only another table of 3 in the restaurant side.

The rest of the pub was old and in serious need of decorating. Worn our carpets, faded curtains, holes in the wall, which had been patched up with cardboard.

The lady in the bar was pleasant and helpful. But she was so busy trying to serve in the bar, take drinks orders in the restaurant. Then serve food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MFJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent value, huge portions!”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed here because we were watching our cousin race at Snetterton and we had a table for 12 which the Griffin reserved for us, although only one other table for four was in use in the restaurant. The bar food looked really good though (e.g. steak baguettes, good sandwiches and chips) so that may be the reason the restaurant was not full (also England were playing Ireland in the Six Nations).

Starters were huge portions and reasonable at under £5 each. Our party had garlic bread, whitebait and stuffed mushrooms, all very good.

The steaks were excellent value and cooked on a chargrill, the fillet was just under £14 and came with the usual chips and onion rings, also a peppercorn sauce was offered. I had duck on a blackcurrant sauce. The duck was beautifully cooked but there was way too much sauce. Mine was served with new potatoes and vegetables, very nice. The vegetarian of the group had Sheperdless pie, which she said was very nice but just too big a portion.

There was a limited choice of puddings but again, they were very good and my cheese and biscuits, served with celery and apple, was delicious.

Would definitely go there again!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin Hotel also viewed

 
Attleborough, Norfolk
Attleborough, Norfolk
 
Attleborough, Norfolk
 

Been to The Griffin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing