We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Aldercarr Hall

Aldercarr Hall
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldercarr Hall
Ranked #2 of 5 Attleborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for one night on the2nd november and although the owners were away, the spa/salon staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and had all we needed and the bed comfotable. We chose to pay for the full english breakfast which was excellent and again the service was very good. we enjoyed our stay and would definately use this b&b again. Many thanks

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    21
    5
    7
    11
See reviews for
31
57
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Traveled up from Wales to visit family chose to spend few days at the hall. Room was clean and comfortable, situated in anexe at back of house it was very peaceful, great after a long journey . Daniel and his wife were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was optional with a choice of english or continental, whatever we wanted served in the big house. Well worth the price and look forward to staying there again when we visit Norfolk (next time with a car so we can see more of wonderful countryside). Thanks Daniel for making or stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOURNEMOUTH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lovely B&B in Norfolk. After a very emotional and long day putting a elderly Aunt into a nursing home this was a perfect find. Greeted by the owner and shown to a lovely big room with a good size bath and power shower. It was clean,tidy and the pillows were the most comfortable I have ever know in a B&B. Breakfast plentiful and cooked to perfection. Nothing was to much trouble and will certainly use this facility again.Danny and Denise were perfect hosts and made our evening a lot less stressful than the day. Debbie and Ken.

Room Tip: Back rooms are garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BournemouthSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good day to all reading this, firstly TV's 'Hotel Inspector' should go to this house (it is not a hall !!) and look for the dust, cobwebs, lots of live flies, dead flies on window sills and on the table where afternoon tea was served. The afternoon tea was a very cheap supermarket sponge on a plate with no cutlery, no serviettes, and tea was offered (serve yourself) from a tray in the corner of the room!! Toilet paper was used to cover the cake due to the amount of flies around. Mmmmm lunch was equally delicious. This consisted of supermarket sandwiches and crisps served in a plastic Tupperware bowl, two Lidls yoghurts, again with no cutlery or serviettes. Now we come to the 'Ultimate' package that we all paid for.... no foot massage, no consultation, the masseuse yawned all the way through my massage. We paid £100 each for the package for the day, by breaking down all the treatments we had and the food and compared this to the individual prices it worked out that we paid over £60 for the exquisite yummy lunch and the appetising afternoon tea. Certain members of staff rolled their eyes and huffed when we asked any questions regarding this package. The view while in the spa were the dead flies, a brick wall and an old bed propped up by the wall. The sauna door didn't shut or stay closed so couldn't use that. £100 to us is a lot of money to pay for a pampering day, we had saved for a good while and now feel like we have thrown the money away rather coming away with a positive and a good well being factor. The whole experience summed up for this day was that this (Hall!) is trying to be something it is not. Due to this poor service and waste of money the management will have lost 10 members of my bridal party having a spa day there. What a shame another venue which has come highly recommended will be tried and tested and I feel these will get our custom. Shame on you 'Big House' (Not a Hall)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A lovely B&B. Set amidst beautiful Norfolk countryside; we stayed for 2 nights in the quiet annexe, which was fabulous. The room was very peaceful, very clean with excellent facilities; everything you could need. The staff were very friendly and approachable at all times. The pool was closed when we arrived at 6pm, but they opened it specially for us so that we could have a swim. We found the continental breakfast was very good. This would be an ideal B&B for a short break in Norfolk. If you need to unwind, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I strongly contest the 4* rating.
1. All was fine at arrival. Lady owner was friendly and offered advice about local tourism.
2. Room seemed slightly on the shabby side. Some marks and dust on the sink and trays. No welcome pack in the room.
3. Man owner was not at all helpful when we sought directions to local attractions.
4. Returned at night and enquired about breakfast only to be told by half naked man owner that "you didnt book it. There is no one to make it."
To say I am shocked is an understatement. I can ignore the lack of info pack that I am used to in other b&bs, but at no time was I informed that breakfast needed to be booked. It is not mentioned on their website, which is where I made the booking - all that is said is there is english and continental (charges may apply).
Seriously, the pool requires payment, the jacuzzi is available when beauty rooms are open (no further info provided re room opening) - this whole b&b is just a pet project for these amateurs.

1 star for the warm welcome. 1 star for the clean looking towels. Otherwise complaints re lack of info for chargeable services, general state of the room, no toiletries, service.

Room Tip: You will probably be placed in the patio rooms. Enjoy the sound of running water all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alexcraig2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed in Aldercarr Hall whilst visiting Norfolk for the BTCC. Instantly made to feel very welcome by the hosts, it was like being invited to stay as a friend, rather than paying guests.

The hosts could not have have been any nicer, very friendly and attentive, made a delicious breakfast and catered to the culinary requests of 4 year old brilliantly.

Location was idyllic in the countryside, very peaceful and relaxing with the hot tub and swimming pool facilities.

Room was a good size, clean with fresh linen very in keeping with the decor of the house, very suitable for two adults and a small child.

Only stayed for one night but would quite happily stay for longer if required.

No hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Attleborough
4.9 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
284 reviews
12.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,102 reviews
20.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wymondham
57 reviews
10.8 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
10.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldercarr Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldercarr Hall

Property: Aldercarr Hall
Address: Aldercarr House Attleborough Road | Great Ellingham, Attleborough NR17 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Attleborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Attleborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldercarr Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldercarr Hall is situated in 5 acres of picturesque Norfolk countryside in the historic market town of Attleborough only 15 miles from Norwich & just 3 miles from Snetterton, famous for its race course. Build in 1966, Aldercarr Hall is a modern country house which saw extensive development in early 2000. Since the Arpels family acquired Aldercarr Hall the site now incorporates a fully active day and weekend spa with health, beauty and hair salons, bed and breakfast accommodation, private indoor heated swimming pool and recently a function suite, ideal as a wedding and conference venue. Aldercarr Hall is accessible from the B1077 just of the A11 and with large car parking facilities, why not pop in and say hello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aldercarr Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldercarr Hall Attleborough, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing