We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Martin-Eglise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Clos Normand
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martin-Eglise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A wonderful place with a dining room with a lot of character.
The food : a total delight !
We enjoyed the whole dinner with the high point,the apotheosis: "le soufflé au Grand Marnier" as a dessert : huge and so tasty.
We are very much looking forward to come back to auberge du clos normans as soon as we can.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pierre55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Clos Normand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was a very disappointing experience. The grounds are really lovely and very peaceful and relaxing. The bedrooms on the other hand, although they looked great were very impractical. The double bed was extremely small, the lighting was terrible and the loo wouldn't flush properly.

We were very much looking forward to our dinner but it proved to be 'more style than substance'.
The menus sounded delicious but the actual food was heavy and unimaginative and the service was poor.


It was a very pretty village and there was a lovely little restaurant opposite where we had lunch which was excellent - a shame it was closed in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Close enough to Dieppe for first or last night before making the ferry closing. The Auberge is in a small village and appears to be a amalgamation of several houses, very tastefully up-dated and fitted out in a very appealing style. The restaurant is superb and must be booked in advance as it is very popular with non residents. This auberge was found in the Logis guide. Regret we could only stay one night .

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the garden, which leads down to the river terrace.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lgray366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you like to diversify your hotel stays with some country side hotels. This one is a catch. Fair price and a really nice rooms design. Nice continental breakfast. There is a very nice garden with a private stream in it. The whole atmosphere is relaxed and beautiful. Bottom line a catch!!!
It would be made perfect if they added an A/C systems to the rooms, so beware at summertime...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Ohad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Once again the Clos Normand has excelled itself. The restaurant has been well filled this evening, mainly by English people, which was pleasing.
Everything about tonight's dining experience was first class. My sincere congratulations to dominique and christiane on continuing to present such a first class restaurant and hotel.
This remains the premier establishment in the Dieppe area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although I had driven past this place many times over many years, I was rather sceptical that it would be any more than a rather pretentious, past its best, over-priced hotel restaurant like so many others I have been disappointed with.
Saturday lunchtime. We arrived earlier than the 1.30pm booked and were warmly welcomed. The room although rustic and beamy was light and comfortably furnished; pretty porcelain and real linen. The capacity is around 30 covers with space in the garden room for say another 25.The kitchen grill counter forms part of the room and the chef is visible.
The €33 menu started with an amuse-bouche canapé and after ordering, a delicious chilled verrine of a mousse on asparagus cream was presented.
The menu included dishes that are rarely seen on menus these days; the fish of the day for example was Turbot. Calves Sweetbreads with cepes on a pain perdu crouton was generous as a first course and delicious, as was the Cassoulette of fresh scallops with a flavoursome sauce of leeks and mussels. Pan fried Turbot was fresh, simple and perfect; so too was a mouth-watering steak, cooked saignant, served with a small gratin Daupinoise.
Mandarine sorbet with free-poured Napoleon Mandarine liqueur took the place of the more usual apple sorbet with Calvados in these parts and it was just spot-on.
We both ordered an unusual Croustillant of Neufchatel cheese with apple but the crowning glory was a Souffle au Grand Marnier, perfectly executed and feather light to the last spoonful.
Good coffee and petits fours and a wander around the millstream gardens brought to an end our memorable lunch experience.
To be repeated.

Room Tip: Rooms look over a garden bordering a millstream. They appear in need of a makeover from outside, but...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having traveled around France for nearly forty years I thought that the days of superb French cuisine at bargain prices were gone, I was wrong. We arrived in the snow, so the outside staircase to the rooms was not the best start, but the rooms were warm (like the welcome) and we enjoyed a warming cup of tea with fresh milk collected from reception. A few aperitifs at the local bar opposite the hotel set us up for a fantastic meal at just 30 euros. Couldn't fault any of it. This place has been in Michelin guides for many years and I am not surprised. The rooms are more than adequate, any better and I guess that the prices in the restaurant would shoot up. For me, it's great as it is.

Room Tip: The stairs are difficult, room 11 is directly off the garden and accessible
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martin-Eglise
2.0 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#2 of 15 in Dieppe
251 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
3.4 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Clos Robinson
Le Clos Robinson
#2 of 2 in Martin-Eglise
74 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kyriad Dieppe
Kyriad Dieppe
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
217 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Dieppe Val Druel
Ibis Dieppe Val Druel
#10 of 15 in Dieppe
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Clos Normand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Clos Normand

Address: 22 rue Henri IV, 76370 Martin-Eglise, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Martin-Eglise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martin-Eglise
Price Range: $55 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Clos Normand 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing