We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in the town of Dieppe.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Clos Normand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Martin-Eglise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Clos Normand
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martin-Eglise
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the town of Dieppe.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

There are many bigger. But this hotel is set in the most idillic of locations. Full of rural charm and an unspoilt structure.
Service is exceptional with every request being dealt with in an friendly and efficient manner. I've stayed at all the rest, but for the past 18 months, I've opted for the best.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    51
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
91
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is the 3rd year we have stayed at this auberge and we have seen the owners making changes. During our previous stays the food was very good although in a rustic manner. This time it had changed to fine dining and we could only describe it as excellent. The accommodation was more than adequate and we will shall certainly be returning again. The gardens are well tended and attractive with the river running along.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here to break the journey between the Channel Tunnel and the Normandy peninsula. Our room was in the annexe, large and well appointed with bathroom (no separate shower), separate WC and French Freeview telly. All very clean and modern, everything worked with plenty of hot water.
Restaurant is made up of 2 rooms. A light and airy formal room with an open kitchen at one end and a less formal, more eclectic conservatory overlooking the gardens complete with water feature and resident, noisy, parrot. The food is good, bordering on the very good (I've been eating in France for 40 years) and the 22 Euro menu is excellent value. Beware though, portions are generous and you need to be hungry. Wine list is OK too, not overpriced and the service is traditional and professional.
Only minor niggles are that the owners appear to be doing the place up bit by bit and parts are a bit ramshackle, the room was a bit dark (a lot of French hotel rooms are) and the sink plug leaked.
Overall, a super place and certainly one to which we will return.

Room Tip: Chambres 1 - 4 are in the annexe and are roomy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuclear_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mampodrehiker
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

We have visith " le closnormand " and take a dinner in their restaurant , its was greattttttttt - top service - very good local gastronomy and fresh products and with the open kitchen you can see you host making a wonderful dinner for you.
Very friendly and the welcome you as friends.
When we are in the area we are going back and don't forget visithing the nice garden.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mampodrehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

The setting was picturesque and the bedroom and ensuite were tasteful and at 65 euros good value (even with a weak £) and coffee, tea,biscuits and chocolate were thoughtfully provided. My one complaint was that from a security perspective, it would not have been advisable to leave the bedroom windows open, since it would have been easy to gain access. The wines were not particularly cheap (starting at 18 euros) but the 22-euro menu was exceptional and excellent value. Although Madame was a little haughty initially, the staff were all friendly, but we do speak good French , so perhaps that made the difference!. Sue and Nigel, Stoke

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueBrStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Cork, Ireland.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

On first glance, this is an impressive hotel - hence our stay here. Set in lawned & landscaped grounds, with a delightful stream at the bottom of the garden, the location is hard to fault; nicely set back off the road in a small village.

However, that's where the good stuff ends. We both found the hosts increasingly rude and sarcastic, seemingly making fun of our intermediate French (he spoke no English - his wife only a little), yet the room's safety instructions included English...

Our room, on the 1st floor, was noticeably & unpleasantly sloping. A large double bed, uncomfortably sagging in the middle was foam-based (not springs) yet still annoyingly squeaky.

All afternoon & evening, stale restaurant/bin odours wafted by both the front and rear windows, resulting in a stuffy room (windows shut) with no option of air conditioning.

Their guard-dog is all very well, but did he really have to bark intermittently all night long, disturbing the guests?

Finally, for some reason, the hotel feels obliged to run security lighting permanently outside all of the bedrooms. Even with the curtains supplied, this shone into our room making sleep difficult, not to mention all the flies & moths it attracted. We found no way to turn these off.

We hope that others may benefit from our experience. We would not recommend staying here at all for the reasons stated above.

  • Liked — The landscaped grounds.
  • Disliked — The rude, sarcastic attitude of the hosts.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martin-Eglise
9.8 mi away
Clos Masure Hotel de Campagne
1.7 mi away
Le Clos Robinson
Le Clos Robinson
#2 of 2 in Martin-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#2 of 15 in Dieppe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
2.8 mi away
Hotel balladins Dieppe
Hotel balladins Dieppe
#2 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Clos Normand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Clos Normand

Property: Auberge du Clos Normand
Address: 22 rue Henri IV, 76370 Martin-Eglise, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Martin-Eglise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martin-Eglise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Clos Normand 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing