We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect retreat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The perfect retreat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After reading many reviews prior to our visit I knew we were onto a winner however it exceeded all of our expectations and more! Janie went the extra mile to make my 40th bday even more special by baking a cake which she bought to the restaurant with sparklers in singing happy bday to me,bringing us breakfast in bed and also making us a beautiful picnic to take out with us.Food was stunning,rooms gorg yet so comfortable and hot tub beaut!!!Without a date get it booked now,u will not regret it x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailellson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
200
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Where to start... hmmm. The building(s) and setting is beautiful. Janie and Mike are wonderful hosts - we felt that we were staying with friends. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Janie's breakfasts were superb. There is not much more to say (and that has not already been said by other reviewers). If you are looking for a B&B in this area my best advice is you will not find better - book it, now!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lower Barn was the perfect setting for a lovely romantic break. It was a real treat and is definitely worth a visit! From the start, Janie was very friendly and welcoming. The beautiful surroundings, our room and the hot tub created a very relaxing atmosphere. As a couple, we felt very spoilt. I have recommended Lower Barn to friends and family. We will be plaining another visit soon, that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I haven't got room in this little box to tell you how good this place is, but I'll try. Firstly, yes you need a sat nav to find it, but oh my god it's worth it! The location is perfect for exploring Cornwall whilst still having so much peace and quiet at the B&B, and the grounds it's set in are gorgeous. Secondly, the rooms; stunning. The whole place is done beautifully, it's quirky perfection. The bed was zonk-out-straight-away comfortable, the conservatory was fab to chill out in after a full day of adventures, the bathroom had everything you could possibly need and the breakfast room is unique, inviting and gorgeous! The breakfasts were so tasty, from the fresh fruit and yogurt to the perfectly done full English and everything inbetween. We were there for 5 nights and my boyfriend consumed a full English every day, his jean buttons are now suffering but he doesn't even care! Thirdly, and yes it does deserve a point all by itself, The Shack. A tin roof shed in the garden that they have managed to transform into a a little box of loveliness. Candles, open fire, bunting, cushions, and a hot water bottle for everyone eating in there, its absolutely gorgeous. As was the 3 courses of Janie's cooking that we all stuffed our faces with! Fourthly, Janie and Mike. Friendly, welcoming, full of helpful tips and just generally really lovely, they make lower barn that extra bit special. Plus, their tips on the area and things to do turned out to be little gems so make sure you listen! I genuinely don't think you could wish for nicer hosts.
I'm filling up this little box without even mentioning the hot tub (I could have slept in it) the lovely little family pet, Jazz (the only diabetic dog I have ever met) and the owl (seriously, the place even has an owl!). We had an amazing stay, exceeded all our expectations and we fell a little bit in love with the place. Can't wait to go back, especially to see how the 2 new rooms that mikes been working away on turn out. Thankyou so much Janie and Mike, and hopefully see you soon!
Laura & Martyn

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lower Barns is a fantastic place!! From the moment you arrive you are made to feel extremely welcome by Janie and Mike, you can feel all your worldly worries drift away from you the moment you get out the car. This is not your average B&B and it has an atmosphere that makes you smile and feel happy, maybe this is due to the way it is decorated, or perhaps the setting. It is set in the pretty country side down a few narrow country roads, but we found it really easily. It is really close to the Lost gardens of Helligan which is a lovely day out. Also nearby and really easy to get to is the Eden Project and some lovely little harbours and bays, we particularly enjoyed Mevagissy.

We stayed in the Garden Suite which has an extremely comfy super king size bed, its own conservatory with 2 chairs and a big telly and a small shower room (if you're really fat you might struggle to get in the shower as the entrance to it is quite narrow). It is a lovely light and bright room, but was a little too light on a morning; it had a luxurious curtain which pulls across the conservatory, but the blinds on the window behind the bed didn't keep much light out, this bothered my husband a bit as he likes to sleep in the dark.

The breakfasts are fantastic, a real feast, they are to treated as a leisurely treat and are a quite social occasion with all guests sat round one big table.

Lower Barns also has a hot tub, which was lovely after a long day walking. They have a beautiful garden which we spent a good afternoon sun bathing in.

I can't wait for Nook and Cranny to be finished. These are two little self-contained cottages which are being built at the bottom of the garden and look like they are going to be the height of luxury. We shall be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the lakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at lower barn for three nights in the hide away. It was the best three nights sleep, best three breakfast and best bubble baths I've ever had! I found lower barn just by browsing the internet, my criteria was a B&B with a difference- any where in Cornwall. Lower Barn was exactly what I was picturing in my head and I'm so glad I found it. The hide away is one amazing room, romantic and fun with love hearts everywhere! I loved the chocolate treats on the pillow when we arrived. We ate in the shack on the first night and my god I'm glad we did! hot water bottles to keep us warm, dozens of twinkling candles and fairy lights and the best home cooked three course meal I have ever had :) I was still full the next morning at breakfast, which was also amazing by the way! I could go on all day about how AMAZING Lower Barn is! We will definitely be staying again and again and again :) thanks Mike & Janie!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are looking for an eclectic B&B away from the noise of a main road with welcoming hosts, a comfy bed and a good breakfast then the Lower Barn may be a great place for you. Getting to the B&B is a little challenging and requires driving down very narrow one-lane country roads. We stayed in "The Luxury Suite" - The room is brightly decorated and spacious (see photo). Although described as a suite it is only a bedroom and shower room (no bath). The dining area and hot tub described in the room details are part of the shared area and not integral to the room. The decoration in the room may not be to everyone's taste but the bed is wonderfully comfortable - we had the most restful night's sleep here because it's very quiet and very comfortable. The shower room is a "wet room" - which means there is no shower cubicle in the shower room, just an electric shower head over the floor. This means that when you shower everything in the room is likely to get wet. The water pressure for the hot water in the sink is very poor. The glass door to the bathroom is not fitted in a door-frame so there is a half-inch gap all around the door - this means there is no privacy in the bathroom; you hear everything. The bathroom amenities are what you might expect when staying at a friend's house (large bottle of shampoo and conditioner - see photo). The view from this room is described as a "garden view" which is a bit of a stretch since the view is the car park and the bushes behind which obscure the garden (photo). The breakfast was very good - fresh strawberries, a full English with wonderful eggs, sausage and mushroom, coupled with fresh juice and expresso coffee. Mike & Janey were wonderful hosts and very helpful. I dropped one star for the lack of privacy in the bathroom and another for the poor description of the actual room amenities (we had other issues with our stay but these could not have been foreseen by the owners and we were not charged due to the discomfort caused, so no lost stars here - Janey demonstrated exemplary customer service in handling the situation).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ewe
2.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
9.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
14.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Barns Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Property: Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Address: | Bosue, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barns Boutique B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barns is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barns promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinners by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For an elopement wedding, hen party with exclusive use, honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barns, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Lower Barns Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barns Boutique B&B Saint Ewe, Cornwall - Mevagissey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing