We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$163
$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
$183
$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The White Hart(St Austell)
$154
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$180
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
357
13
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
357
13
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjanie and mikehot tubattention to detailthe main housecakeprivate gardenother guestsroaring fireb brecord playerromantic getawaylost gardens of heliganmade us feelself containedfour poster bedhuge beddressing table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 376 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I found Lower Barn on the internet and decided to book a few days away to escape work pressures. I had a wonderful few days. Janie and Mike are very warm, friendly people who make you feel very at home. The location is lovely and quiet and not far from the sea. The breakfast was lovely each morning and Janie's cooking really delicious. My bedroom had a very comfortable bed, a separate conservatory and was very relaxing. The attention to detail in this wonderful place is amazing. I am definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We visited Lower Barn for a long weekend in April. We had a fantastic time there. The Barn has a lovely feel and all the rooms are beautifully decorated and everything is very clean. Janie and Mike were extremely hospitable and very helpful. They advised us on places to visit and eat in Cornwall, we were very impressed.

The outdoor hot tub is real treat. We ended using it while it was raining, which made us relax and instantly have no regrets about the bad weather. The barn is in a very good location in Cornwall for visiting the various coastal towns but a car is definitely required. It was the perfect peaceful getaway from everyday hectic life. We would definitely visit lower barn again and fully recommend it to friends and family.

We would like to say thanks to Mike and Janie for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 173MarkG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thanks guys has that baby come yet. Take care janie mike jake jazz x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed the peaceful location at Lower Barn. SatNav users beware, it really is in the middle of nowhere so check your route before hand. Also, if arriving at night, there are no street lights and the roads are extremely narrow so do take care!

Our room was separate from the main house which gave us a little privacy, although there were people walking past the window in the mornings so I didn't feel I could lounge around in my pyjamas or bath towel. The room is very spacious and the bathroom was homely with its bathrobes and half used bottles of bubble bath etc.

Do make sure you book in advance for any beauty treatments, although we were a little disappointed that they take place in one of the bedrooms and not a designated room.

Breakfast was fantastic on the first day, however on the second day the eggs were undercooked and one of them tasted off. It is served around a large round table with the other guests, I suppose to create a big family country table feel.

All in all a very nice stay, but just those couple of gripes had to knock a star off my rating.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank runny83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Once again Janie and Mike pulled out all the stops for us. Dinner in the Shack is an amazing experience and one that I couldn't recommend highly enough.
Rooms are immaculate and full of everything you could possibly need. The breakfast is fantastic and the ambience of the whole place is one of welcoming, friendly and warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The owners were very welcoming and kind. We stayed for our anniversary in the hideaway room. It was beautifully decorated and had a huge sunken bath and large comfy bed. There attention to detail was great and the room was decorated with a cutsie cath kidston style. The room had everything we could possibly need including brollies & bubble bath :-) We had our dinner in the shack which was beautiful with a roaring fire, hot water bottles, candles and fairy lights. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and delicious and served with a warm smile. Our only wish is we had booked for longer. We shall no doubt be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkKirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews