We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good guesthouse on Kata Beach, good value and good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Fried Rice
Ranked #2 of 64 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We can recommend this guesthouse to everyone! Nice, big and clean rooms. The restaurant have tasty food to en reasonable price. The owner and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsloNils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Southern Fried Rice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 242 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2009

Really nice, clean hotel, run by very friendly staff. Airport pickup was well worth the money and it was very easy to book over the internet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silospen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Ended our 2 week vacation with 3 days at the Southern Fried Rice. Friend recommended this place to us and we will recommend it others. Rooms, food, atmosphere, everything is great. Had our last dinner at a "fancy" italian place and paid twice the price for about the same meal. Location is central but we were not bothered with noise from traffic or bars at all. Short distance to the beach and every other facility.

Terje has a lot of local interesting knowledge that he is happy to share with you. Helped us understand the Thai people a bit better. Not every place where the owner of the place sits down for a chat. He also took us to the airport on departure day.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haahof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Wife and I stayed for 7 nights. Cheap and extremely good.

Had a nice room that was cleaned everyday without fail. Located about 400m to northern entrance of kata beach. Built very well such that the windows keep out the music from nearby bars. No doubt we slept very very soundly.

What impressed us most was Terje the owner (Or Terry as we called him) & his crew's hospitality. They were so warm, kind and caring we felt so much at home there. Terry even sent us to our other resort when we changed location (it was a prior arrangement that we couldn't cancel. we would have just stayed at SFR if we had our way).

We had many great conversations with Terry & his crew, the other guests there too. Everyone was so warm and caring and we really do miss SFR. It really made our stay in Phuket very enjoyable. Terry plays some mean chess and pool so watch out! :)

A big bonus is the restaurant below that serves super food all day long. We never had anything we were disappointed with. everything was yummy. steak, tom yum, fried rice, sam rod fish....everything!!!

I've run out of superlatives to describe this place. All I'm left to say is that we really miss it already. (writing this while I'm in a posh resort) I'd pick SFR anyday. super value for money. super great staff. Makes me want to come to Phuket every weekend I can. :)

Terry...if youre reading this...A big THANK YOU from Yvonne and I. We really hope to see you guys at SFR soon. I'll brush up on my chess and pool. haha.

Peace,
Shahrom from the Lion City

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonzz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Nice staff/owner, clean&comfortable rooms as well as a very fair price -> Nothin to complain about !

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brud923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

I stayed at Southern Fried Rice (SFR) in room 7 for five nights in november 2009, travelling with my 16 years old son on our first trip to Asia.

Terje, the hotel manager, picked us up at Phuket Airport. No charge when you stay minimun five nights. Great pick up service!

On the way to the hotel, an approximately 40 minutes drive, Terje told us lots about Thailand and Phuket.
(It was raining like he##, but Terje told us not to worry - the sun would probably be back tomorrow - he was right).

The hotel is only seven rooms - it is not a luxury-hotel, but it's clean, comfortable and has a very friendly atmosphere. Terje and his staff will help you with anything - just ask!

This we were particulary satisfied with at Southern Fried Rice:

- The location, only 5 minutes walk to the FANTASTIC Kata Beach - remember to borrow towels from SRF, free of charge
- The food is great! I asked the chef to marry me and come to Norway, but somehow she was happy with her current husband :-) Staying av SFR gives you a 15 % discount on the already cheap prices
- Pool table, chess board, games in the restaurant, free of charge - Terje will always play a game of pool if you lack an opponent
- Clean rooms
- The service-level of the hotel staff, just ask about anything and it will be fixed
- Free hi-speed WIFI

After five nights at SFR we stayed at Coral Island for two nights, and then four nights at Avista, a brand new four star hotel a ten minutes walk from SFR. We went back to SFR for food and pool, the atmosphere at SFR was much more to our liking than on the four star resort hotel. (Even though we liked the little feeling of luxury...)

A little warning at the end: if you are a traveller who wants room-service, bell boys, marble pillars in the reception, uniformed personell, lots of people around you - SFR might not be the right place for you.
SFT is a small hotel with a big atmosphere!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We really enjoyed the hospitality Terry and his staff gave us. We stayed 3 and a half weeks with them and the girls taught us some Thai language, cooked up our prawns for us and generally made us feel like extended family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingkiwis_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#25 of 56 in Kata Beach
658 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kata Bai D
Kata Bai D
#1 of 64 in Kata Beach
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Fried Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Fried Rice

Address: 100 / 14 - 15 Kata Road | Kata Night Bazaar, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range: $11 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Fried Rice 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Fried Rice is a recently established guesthouse situated at Kata Beach, the most beautiful beach on Thailand's idyllic Phuket Island. Moments from the beach, and featuring spacious, clean, comfortable rooms, modern en-suite bathrooms, outstanding Thai and international cuisine, free wi-fi high speed internet and many more attractions, Southern Fried Rice is the ideal hostel from which to explore Phuket. We have PC stations in our property and it is Free of Charge as well. There is a top quality pool table, 42' plasma TV screen with surround sound and a computerized sound system with all your favourite music. For intellectual stimulation we are hosting the Phuket Chess Club, with frequent blitz tournaments and we are planning regular Thai language lessons. There is access to Kata Day Spa, and a great variety of nightlife available within walking distance of the guesthouse. We also hire out motorcycles for the more adventurous to range out over Thailand's biggest island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Southern Fried Rice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Fried Rice Hotel Kata Beach
Southern Fried Rice Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing