We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conscientious owner makes this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Fried Rice
Ranked #2 of 60 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Conscientious owner makes this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed three nights at Southern Fried Rice above Kata Beach. Our amiable and assiduous host, Terje Hoff, provided extraordinary service and, for Phuket, pretty good value. His airport pickup went smoothly, and was a godsend in chaotic Phuket.

The half a dozen rooms above his restaurant were tidy and quiet. The hot water was hot and the air conditioning was cold. The WiFi was mediocre, same as everywhere.

The prices in the restaurant were the best in the neighborhood, and the Thai food was good. His is the only restaurant we have ever seen with both a pool table and a chess board. Terje is the chess master and and his seven year old son is the pool shark.

The location is convenient to the beach, which is a wide stretch of soft beige sand with a nice row of trees separating it from the low rise development behind. Unfortunately, the walk down runs for 150 meters along an open sewer.

Our only quibble was with the breakfast, included in the price. It was continental and though the bread was not white as it is so many places in Thailand, most hotels in this price range (almost $50 US) at least give you an egg. But this is Phuket, so maybe not.

The best thing about our stay was the conscientious way Terje dealt with problems. The first night, our A/C dripped like a waterfall. Terje had his handyman out in a couple of hours. The A/C leaked again, but that wasn't Terje's fault.

Terje also arranged transport for us to Kao Lak, our next destination, but it turned out to be a scam. The minibus that was to deliver us to our hotel 100 kilometers away instead took us to a local bus stop, put us on the public bus, and pocketed the difference.

Terje complained for us to both his tour agency and the minibus company, but they wouldn't admit their fraud, so he took money from his own pocket to make it up to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    60
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
97
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alta, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We, 2 adults and 3 children, stayed at this guesthouse for a week january 2014. Cheap and clean room, excellent food and Terje is very helpful and kind. He booked us a trip to Similan for a very good price. Can recommend this guesthouse. Not far away from the beach. There`s a market just 50 m away twice a week. We will come back. Really enjoyed our stay here!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in room 4 for 9 nights in January 2014. Our friends also stayed there in another room on the first floor. What can I say, Norwegian owner, Terje, is absolutely amazing! He was always friendly and eager to help. Clearly he enjoys chatting with his customers, yet he's never intrusive. He made sure that we get good deals on everything, which is important when you stay in guesthouses, coming from a guesthouse owner it's the right attitude! He helped us with car hiring on two separate occasions, arranged two boat trips and provided some valuable advise about places and shows to visit. The room was fine. No outside noise. Nice and clean. At one time our air-con started leaking, but Terje quickly send a guy to fix it. It's about 5 minutes from the beach, an easy walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clunes, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our family of five had a fantastic 4 night stay in Room 7 at Southern Fried Rice Guesthouse in December 2013.
Terje is a terrific host always making sure we were being looked after, great Thai meals cooked in the restaurant by Ya & company at a discounted price.
Easy walk to beach.
Terje booked a great day out to Raya & Coral Islands.
We enjoyed playing pool with Jacob. Terje’s son, that 6 year old can play!
Terje was kind enough to tour us to Patong Beach & back for a bit of shopping & a look around.
We didn’t know what to expect before we arrived in Kata beach Phuket , we wished we stayed longer , we hope to return.
Good WIFI
Thanks Terje, Jacob & Ya.
Great time had by all!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The first day of our stay was 25 Nov. Co-incidentally, it was the owner, Terje’s birthday. We have special discount for food, free dinner and yummy cake that night.
Terje is friendly and helpful. He helped to arrange trips and transport at a very good rate. Ratsami and Ya are hospitable and hardworking. They can cook all sorts of food, from Tom Yam Goong to Fillet Mignon deliciously.
This place has a pool table that you can play for free. We all enjoyed the games especially my son, Joshua. Joshua, had a great time playing with Jacob, Terje's son, who is of the same age. Jacob is very good in playing chess for his age.
We love this place and hope to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachwlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed there 2 days this august. Weather was bad so we didn't get out much. The hotel keepers are really nice and helpful which I'd say is the best about this hotel. The room was great as well, absolutely no noise, comfy for a cheap hotel too. There were only two bad points: some clothes had run onto the others, and we had troubles on the bus we booked from the hotel to get to Surat Thani, the ride was total hell and in addition we got robbed just like everyone… Minus that our overall stay was good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmogwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katikati
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

From the begin our experience was nice, enjoying lovely meals at the restorant ( the best Chicken cashews nut that i tried in my stay in Thailand ) , we stayed 6 nights at this hostel. Everything absolutely clean and really safe, such a big room and bathroom. Nice breakfast at the morning, good company and interesting talking with the owners, really cheap scooter rental. They are always helpfull, definetly a good place, can't wait to come back. Good location close to the beach and everything around. In resume : Lovely stay, totally reccommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmaEdelweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kata Bai D
Kata Bai D
#1 of 60 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Fried Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Fried Rice

Property: Southern Fried Rice
Address: 100 / 14 - 15 Kata Road | Kata Night Bazaar, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Southern Fried Rice 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Fried Rice is a recently established guesthouse situated at Kata Beach, the most beautiful beach on Thailand's idyllic Phuket Island. Moments from the beach, and featuring spacious, clean, comfortable rooms, modern en-suite bathrooms, outstanding Thai and international cuisine, free wi-fi high speed internet and many more attractions, Southern Fried Rice is the ideal hostel from which to explore Phuket. We have PC stations in our property and it is Free of Charge as well. There is a top quality pool table, 42' plasma TV screen with surround sound and a computerized sound system with all your favourite music. For intellectual stimulation we are hosting the Phuket Chess Club, with frequent blitz tournaments and we are planning regular Thai language lessons. There is access to Kata Day Spa, and a great variety of nightlife available within walking distance of the guesthouse. We also hire out motorcycles for the more adventurous to range out over Thailand's biggest island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Southern Fried Rice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Fried Rice Hotel Kata Beach
Southern Fried Rice Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing