We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Fried Rice
Nearby Hotels
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$222
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$108
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$76
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Boathouse Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$146
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$255
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kata Rocks(Kata Beach)
$819
$637
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$786
$353
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$68
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
174
63
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
63
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight bazaaramerican breakfastshared bathroomchess clubwifi worked wellgreen curryfast wifithai foodfree breakfastbeach matsfried ricehot showerclean roomsfew minutes walkbeautiful kata beachsfrguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 253 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in romm 4. I really liked the place. Clean nice room, clean bathroom, great shower, a balcony.. to hot for me ;) Comfy beds and that is rare in Thailand ;)
The owner was very helpfull and friendly and the staff was kind, helping me when a needed. It was a lot of stairs, but for me, no problems. Free wifi (no working webcam at the time)
They had a Great breakfast. Close to the beach with a short walk.
I would go here again if I went to Kata Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonziSwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

SFR is located a short walk from the beach and from the main restaurants of Kata Beach. Terje, the owner, is the most chilled and relaxed hotel owner I have met. The price of the rooms covers continental breakfast and free wifi, which makes the airconditioned rooms good value.

Room Tip: Room 5 is nice and spacious
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londongirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We found this hotel through Trip Advisor and i would like to thank all visitors who wrote the reviews. The hotel is really nice. Close to everything: just 300 m to the beach and next to the local market, so, you can easily buy fruits or fried fish there. The rooms are exactly the same as on the photos: big, clean and cosy. And what was very important for us - this is the quiet part of the street. At the same time all nice bars and restaurants with loud music are around the corner. The owner helped us to get the tickets for the direct boat from Phuket to Koh Lanta with a very good price. We definitely advise this hotel to those who would like to stay at Kata beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana180272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This clean and friendly guesthouse, with big and airy rooms offers the services of a hotel; daily room cleaning, laundry service and very good breakfast and dinner menus. Must try the Norwegian meatballs if you want to get away from Thai food! Terje is a wonderful host who will help you book taxi rides and boat trips at very competitive rates. Had a very relaxed time there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed there on 25/27 January 2012. Went with wife n 66 year old mother & stayed in suite#7 on the second floor.

The only 3 negatives of the place (which don't matter for 99% people):
- The best landmark is to ask for the walkway to Kata beach. This is in the lane almost opposite it, else the taxi may get confused!
- It doesn't have lifts but its only two floors
- Its not the place if you want a beach view. You get a nice view of the trees lining the beach, but not the beach itself

Now with that out of the way, let me tell you why its a good deal (esp in season - we visited during Chinese New Year!):
- The place and the rooms are very nice. Absolutely spic and span, modern
- The owner Tereje is a fantastic man to interact with - speaks perfect English, gives good guidance, offers the best taxi deals (taxis on the road are WAY costlier), arranges tours/ferry transfers as you need. He's almost 70 but is fitter than most 50 year olds. He's flexible - asked his staff to make us grilled sandwiches in lieu of breakfast as we were traveling out early! His kid Jacob plays a mean snooker game - he'll be a star when he grows up!
- The staff is nice and has attention to detail (sufficient shampoos for 3, 3 water bottles). The room was very clean and prepared well. The TV had enough channels from a global pick includin India.
- Suite 7 was roomy and very large (almost 40sqm). large kingsized bed and a sofa and a nice recliner + work table. It had a very generous assortment of plug points to charge as well. The cupboard was quite large . The room was quiet and had a nice little balcony too.
- There's stuff for everyone. Right below us was a 800bht room as well.
- The wifi is blazing fast and free
- The food is reasonable and quite good.
- The location is mostly family friendly - except one loud nightclub nearby on the main road, it does not have any sleazy joints.
- There's no mosquitoes or any other flying insects. We did find them critters in Phi Phi island but not at SFR

So, in short, its a must-stay place!

Room Tip: Room /Suite 7 has a nice soothing view. Worth it if you like space (2000Bht) or are a group of 3 people.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddash-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews