We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon worthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malisa Villa Suites
Ranked #37 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

the meet and greet, when we arrived for our honeymoon, was great they were very freindly. the room was set in a romantic mood with two swan shaped towel that make a heart and rose pedals and orchids. the room is clean the setting of the room overlooking the pool and a jaccuzzi overlooking a small garden it was very relaxing. Luckily for us the restuarant was under renovation so we were obliged to have the in house breakfast which was amazing, everyday a chef and an assistant would come and prepare the breakfast infront of you while you sit and relax on the table for two next to the pool. the fruites were so fresh and the villa was kept clean. the only thing to worry about was the mosquitos outside at night otherwise it was an amazing stay. i would highly reccomend it to newly weds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 327 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

The pool villa itself was fabulous, but with few improvements staying as a guest there it could be even better experience.

First of all the cleaning of the room was poor. After suffering from diarrhea you should think that the toilet seat would be cleaned the next day but it didn't happen. Bed sheets were changed only after one week when we noticed we were still sleeping on the same sheets. But when we requested them to be replaced they didn't change the pillowcases(!) - it had to be requested separately which we found strange. Floors weren't clean either and refilling shampoos and shower gel had to be requested also.

Breakfast was to be preordered. You could think that after checking from the list all you desired for breakfast you should get what you subscribed for. To our big surprise it was totally random what we got for breakfast. Our guess was, that there lies a language barrier to be crossed.
We left missing buffet style breakfast where you can choose what to eat and how much you need to eat in the mornings. Even though having breakfast at your private villa was very nice.

Sounds maybe like small things but shouldn't be overwhelming for professional service provider who advertise to be "a luxurious unique resort and a glamorous heaven".

Here are a lot of complaints about poor service at the hotel. We were pleased to service there. Especially one man at the reception had a remarkable attitude and skills on confronting guests and making them feel welcomed. Few others seemed to got confused when talking english to them, and left us wondering again if they should improve their knowledge of languages.

Alltogether we were pleased and would consider going there again and we are recommending the place to other visitors.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SannaSalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from four nights at Malisa Villa Suites. We were hesitant on booking this place based on the mixed reviews we found online but decided to give it a chance. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with a drink and flowers which was very nice. When shown to our room, our bed was adorned beautifully with flowers and swans were created from towels which made our arrival very special. We were not sure if that was normal given we had emailed the hotel beforehand and asked if they could put some flowers on the bed as it was our anniversary but we didn't get a reply. Nonetheless, the presentation on the bed was very much appreciated. Breakfast here is a little different where you have the choice of eating it on your private patio or in the restaurant. The breakfast is all made to order. You are given a one page menu and each night you can choose what you want the next day and leave it at reception. We chose to have our breakfast in our villa and each morning like clockwork, the 'chefs' would ring our bell five minutes to the given time and start preparing our breakfast just for us. Breakfast was decent, there are eggs, bacon, sausages, danishes, cereal, etc, though I think I would still prefer a buffet breakfast for more variety. There are free wifi in the room and around the resort which was very good. There is however one major downfall in choosing this place and that is the lack of a main pool. I know each villa has it's own private pool (and jacuzzi) BUT our pool was dirty and the water was very cold. We did on the first day asked reception to arrange for our pool to be cleaned as we were going to the beach and would be nice to come back and take a swim in the pool when we got back. When we got back, it didn't look like our pool had been cleaned and during our entire stay, it stayed that way and so we just didn't bother with it. The location of the place is excellent, with it being at the end of a busy side street with lots of fabulous restaurants right outside and the beach a mere five mins walk away. If you do book this place, make sure to use their complimentry welcome arrival food and beverage voucher. It is a free voucher for 2 persons for one drink each and one food item each. Food items were little sandwiches, slice of cake, ice cream, etc. We had the slice of cake and it was a brownie and it was exceptional, so was the coffee served. Too bad we used it while waiting for our taxi to bring us to the airport, if we had known the food was this good, we might have eaten at the resort! One bonus point is that there is another jacuzzi in the villa, the one in the bathroom is large enough for two people and my bf and I enjoyed soaking in it one afternoon. On our last day, given our flight was at 10pm, we had requested for a late check-out but was informed immediately that check out was 12noon and that there were people checking into our room at 1pm. Seeing the place was barely full, I complained and I believe the management looked into it and gave us a late check out till 4pm. For that, we were very grateful. Overall, I would say this resort has the potential to be five star with small renovations and better service from it's staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eunicekow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone. There were roaches in our room!! The lights were not working. The service was bad. You cant get taxis in hotel - you HAVE to take the hotel limo. Taxis are only available if you walk out to main road - this is a problem if you dont wish to take hotel limo or if they are not available. The pool was filthy...i found a lot of hair floating around. All in all, worst hotel experience ever. For the price, you can get something much much better. Dont bother even considering this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sha312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Where do i start... i can't even begin to explain the terrible service we had over the 3D2N we were there...

When we first checked in, we were shown to the room by this rude front office lady, who when trying to show the villa to us, kept looking in the mirror and admiring herself. She beckon us to follow her like animals "come here, come here". i was just bewildered... has service in Thailand dropped so much?

Secondly, the villa was old and outdated, and not properly maintained. It was filled with mozzies and even dengue mosquitoes (white stripe on legs). The shower room was clogged and was flooded. Light fittings almost fell on our heads, when we complained to the staff, all we got was a sorry. They did not send anyone to fix nor rectify the situation.

Thirdly, the same front office lady tried to rip us off when i wanted to call for a taxi. she had originally quoted me 900bht for the 1-way journey, i said ok and she proceed to call for a private taxi. As they didnt know i understood Thai, i realised she was calling her taxi operator friends and tried to earn commission off the 900bht she wanted to charge us. Unfortunately, or fortunately, her taxi friends were all occupied, so she subsequently told me the hotel limousine was available... and at a much cheaper rate of 700bht. Seriously? why wasnt this option presented to us in the first place?

Fourth, on our day of departure, i tried to call for a cab thru my own personal driver which we had known. he informed me that outside taxis weren't allowed to pick up any guest from the hotel as the hotel was mafia related, and only few taxis were allowed to ply that route, and he did not want the additional trouble. He did keep apologising for this inconvenience.

Fifth, at checkout, i asked the very same lady if she could arrange transport to the airport for me.. she said "Sorry, the limo was not available". I then asked if she could call a cab, she said "No, we cannot, you have to walk outside and hail a taxi yourself". WHAT??

Sixth, at the spa, we paid for a 1.5 hr massage, but it ended only after 1 hr. After we tried to clarified, the SPA staff said we arrived 5 mins ahead of our appt time and so they ended early. it still did not sum up and so we complained. nothing was done to rectify the situation too.

Lastly, when we checked in, the same lady told us the mini-bar was FOC. me and my fiancee both heard it. Now at checkout, she wanted to charge me for the items consumed at the minibar. WTH! I reasoned with her that she said it was FOC. She insisted we heard wrongly, both of us then told her off, she then said she was mistaken initially, and said sorry, that was it... nothing was done...

for the amount we paid @ U$600/nite, we expected alot more than this. We could have stayed at the top 5 resorts. I guess we made a terrible choice which caused us to have a bad ending to our initial wonderful holiday.

Avoid this hotel at all cost...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bong360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was the last stop of our Honeymoon in Thailand, and after amazing hotels in Bangkok, Phi Phi and Krabi we weren't sure anything else could blow us away. The Pool Villa did! It is very nice and comfortable, well prepared to have a wonderful and relaxing time, specially is you go for a romantic gateway. I was only surprised that among the toilletres offered they had no conditioner nor body lotion, which is a must in every 5 Star hotel. Kata Beach is crowded but still worth a visit. You can still sunbathe and enjoy the beach, or if you prefer more privacy just hang at your own pool which is amazing. Breakfast in-villa was Great as well as the room service we ordered. I truly discourage going with kids because they get too loud in the Pool, our neighbours were a family and we really heard when they were at the Pool as villas are very close to each other.

There is plenty to look around in Kata, but if you like nightlife you can always get a tuk tuk to Patong for 400 baht and enjoy the bars, restaurants and shopping.
We checked out of the Hotel at 4am and they had a breakfast box for us, which was really nice and handful.

Overall we had an amazing time and wrap up of our Thai Honeymoon!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marujis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Wow! Where do I start...

All other reviewers have said it all already, the staff are all amazing and go out of their way to help right from arrival when they shower you with gifts and give you a full tour of your villa. The villa was so much better than I expected, the photos don't do it justice. Complimentary everything and the free breakfast we had was tasty and the portions were great! (My partner and I have huge appetites). There is no way the Malisa Villa Suites are 4 star, they are a 5 star hotel and the best accom we've had, the only improvement that would make Malisa better would be to have the premises located on the beach. Simply fabulous! Can't WAIT to return! You will not regret your stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodSnob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
0.3 mi away
The Baray Villa
The Baray Villa
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rico's Bungalows
Rico's Bungalows
#43 of 56 in Kata Beach
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malisa Villa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malisa Villa Suites

Address: 40 / 36 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $173 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malisa Villa Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malisa Villa Suites serves private pool villas as the perfect hideaway for couples at Kata Beach on Phuket Island with 41 well-designed individual villas, each with its own private pool that leaves you totally undistracted and showcases the comfort of your stay.Offering a host of the finest attentive services, from in-villa service breakfast by the personal chefs, Malisa Signature Welcome, complimentary minibar with daily replenishment to relaxing spas and endless romantic dinner or BBQ dinner in your private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malisa Villa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malisa Villa Hotel Kata Beach
Malisa Hotel Kata
Malisa Villa Suites Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing