We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely dreadful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malisa Villa Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2008

I always use trip advisor for recommendations and believed Malisa villas would be an ideal place for two burnt out work junkies. Dissapointed to say the least. I arrived a day earlier than my husband which is just as well as I think he would have blown a fuse. The bedroom was full of Mosquitos (no plug ins) when I complained they sent a member of staff to spray the room who just thought it was hilarious. The bed was extremely hard and the bedding had seen better days. After an uncomfortable night with more biting visitors the staff came to 'cook' breakfast. I had ordered poached eggs and sausages. The eggs were boiled , never mind, until I cracked the shell and found they were both uncooked. The villa I had been put in did not get much sun, which was the whole point of booking theMalisa villas , for privacy and peace and quiet and not having to hike to the beach. The loungers were the teak steamers, great if it had a cushion on like 5*hotels have (which Malisa Villas claims to be) The beach towels weren't much bigger than a tea towel and well worn. The kitchenette area was very smelly and grubby, and the furniture in the villa was covered in ring marks. The whole villa seemed tired and certainly not even a 3* standard. When I told them I was checking out I was bombarded with staff knocking on the door. The receptionist then told me they were not prepared to give a full refund and wanted 3 days payment. I asked if they could order a taxi for me to take me to The Royal Yacht club where we have stayed in the past (A very high standard as usual) But the staff from Malisa villas drove me there at an extortionate rate, at this stage I would have paid anything to get out of there. The staff at Malisa villas seem young and inexperienced at giving good customer service. The resort is very badly run. I must appear to be whinging on but we travel all over the world and I have to say this has been the worst place i have been unfortunate to stay in, even one night was too long.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank takenocrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 345 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2008

We initially planned to stay for 2 nights in a Grand pool Villa butended up staying another 2.

From the moment you walk into these suites your taken aback by how great this place is. Truly a Honeymooners Haven.

The rooms are immaculate and the outdoor seating area is large and spacious. The minibar was complimentary and a chef came every morning to cook us breakfast. The bathroom is funky giving the impression it is outdoors.

Theres a large selection of DVD to choose from in the library as well as an ipod if you wanted to listen in the room. They also have complimentary laptops with wireless internet if you feel like surfing the web or sending emails (In your room for the duration of your stay)

Our only gripe was the food from the restaurant. It was pretty terrible and we preferred to eat down the road in the little restaurants. Twice we ordered room service and both times they messed up the order.

The location is great, being a 5 minute walk to Kata beach which is much nicer than patong. (or you could get a complimentary golf cart to drive you to the beach)

In all, we are definately coming back later this year for our Honeymoon. It was a 5 class experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jozo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon and were impressed from the start. We booked through Asiarooms.com and stayed here for a bargain, considering what the rooms offered. We arranged with the hotel for the limo transfer from the airport, this is worth it as it saves the hassel of haggling with taxi drivers straight off a 9 hour flight, especially as it was already close to midnight. Everyone was so friendly at the hotel. Plus we had breakfast cooked in our room most mornings.
The villa has our very own plunge pool, big enough for 2 people to have a paddle around in and private enough that no bathers required. Complete with a swimming jet and a waterfall. The pool was in the living area of the villa, which also consisted of a kitchen, dining table and lounge chair. Sort of semi indoors/outdoors room. The bedroom was air conditioned with DVD player and LCD TV. The bed was quite hard, so it took us a while to get used to. The whole place was completely private even with the blinds open. We barely left the villa during our time here.
The bathroom was great with the rainshower, however the wooden bath tub was a bit slimey as it never fully drained. The lighting in the bathroom could be improved as it was quite dim.
Overall we would stay here again with no hesitation... maybe for our first wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CharmySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

We stayed here recently for 4 nights in a grand pool villa. We had originally planned to only stay here for 2 days but ended up cutting our stay at our other hotel short by 2 days – well worth the AU $300 cancellation fee. When we first arrived to be shown the villa, I could not wipe the smile off my face.

Prior to booking, I was a little concerned as the photos from one other trip advisor member made the resort look quite ordinary (sorry to this member – I too took photos of the bathroom and could not get a decent shot). That said, the room surpassed all of my expectations.

We would have stayed longer, however, we were advised that the resort was fully booked from the day we checked out. We were searching online for somewhere to stay when housekeeping were attending to the room and when they had left the room, we found that they had subtly left us a book entitled “Paradises of Thailand” to assist us. These little details just add to the enjoyment of your stay.

RESORT IN GENERAL
At night, the resort turns on some sort of mist machines around the restaurant and the entrance to the resort which adds to the exotic feel.

Whilst not directly on the beach, the resort provides an hourly shuttle service to the beach with private beach chairs.

Location is excellent – you can easily walk to the beach and Kata shopping within a couple of minutes.

THE VILLA

The outdoor living area is as depicted on the website of the hotel – gorgeous. Outdoor kitchen, and large living area. All our time was basically spent soaking up the gorgeous warm weather outside – it got to the point where I did not want to walk inside as the air con was too cold. Above all, the high walls made the villa very private.

The bedroom was very large and the bathroom featured a rainhead shower and large Jacuzzi spa bath. The bedroom opens up to the pool via bi-fold doors. Bathroom amenities were lovely – shampoo, conditioner, soap and bath foam all gorgeous.

The pool is generous in size and the wall behind the pool is also a water feature. Housekeeping attended to the maintenance of the pool on a daily basis.

Mozzies were kept at bay with the resort-supplied mozz-off spray.

STAFF
The English speaking Thai staff were amazing – we could not fault the service here.

Housekeeping was absolutely exceptional. The room was VERY clean and the room made up to perfection each day.

FOOD
Breakfast was served in our room for 2 of the 4 mornings we were there. If you ordered a hot breakfast, they would actually cook it in the fully featured outdoor kitchen area.

On the third morning, they opened the buffet for breakfast – we opted to sleep in as we are not really breakfast people so cannot comment, however expect that it would have been great, judging from the quality of the breakfast food served in the room.

Unfortunately we did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner but we did eat in from the room service menu several times – absolutely fantastic.

COUPLE OF MINOR COMPLAINTS
A few things which made our stay a little less than perfect:

The resort is located next to a more down-market hotel property and at 2am one morning, we were kept awake by a group of guys having a raucous time – we did not notice any noise from this resort at any other time.

On the other side of the resort is another hotel which is undergoing renovation and it is quite noisy throughout the day – we just turned on the pool water feature and put Café del Mar on the stereo and didn’t notice it after that.

The hot water to the bathroom was quite limited. We could only fill the spa half way before the water went cool.

The “do not disturb” button did not appear to work and we often received calls from housekeeping and room service in relation to servicing the room and breakfast service respectively.

Bed was very firm. I like a firm bed, but this bed was really hard. However, when I asked housekeeping if they had anything to make the bed softer, I was immediately accommodated with a cushioned top placed on the mattress.

Overall, these were the best 4 days of our holiday. I would absolutely recommend this hotel, particularly for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Niiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Malisa Villas Suites in a Pool Villa. It was without a doubt the most magnificant accomodation we have ever experienced.

To have a private pool to splash around in was surreal, intimate and very romantic. The entire villa was very well thought out and it had everything you needed including fast wireless internet.

A perfect distance from town, it felt as though you were returning to somewhere special walking through the front gates past the security guards.

Breakfast was an expeience too. For those not accustomed to such pampering, it was a lovely touch to have the whole meal set up for you in your villa with no fuss and then be left in peace to enjoy it with your loved one.

If we return to Phuket we will certainly be spending another couple of nights there.

Six stars!

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Roonabidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

My husband and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary at this Kata resort recently.

1. Rooms: They offer 3 kinds of rooms: pool suites, pool villas and 2 bedroom pool villas. The pool villa is basically bigger than the pool suite and the 2 bedroom pool villa is the biggest. We stayed in a pool suite which was wonderful. The minute you walk in there is a plunge pool which is big enough for a quick dip (but you would not be able to do laps in this plunge pool). They have an open air (but covered) kitchen, dining area and living room right next to the plunge pool, complete with deck chairs for sunbathing. If you're worried about the hot weather they have 2 ceiling fans to keep you cool. The bedroom and vanity area are air-conditioned and very spacious, complete with a plasma TV and DVD player. They cooked breakfast in our kitchen for us every morning and we felt really pampered! The bathroom was open air but covered. This means there is no air-conditioning in the bathroom and once you entered the bathroom room you felt like you were walking outside to a shed. They constructed a mosquito screen that acted like a wall, so you didn’t have to worry about bugs. The thing I liked about the bathroom was the pebbled floor with concrete slabs. I also liked wooden bathtub and wooden sink, I felt like I was living in a rustic farm somewhere. The thing I didn’t like about the bathroom was sometimes it got really warm in there because it was air conditioned. They gave us pool towels, regular bath towels, robes and slippers but unlike the Banyan Tree or some of the other international chains they did not have flip flops and beach bags for the beach. They also didn’t have mosquito coils in the room. We didn’t think these things mattered but if you like these extra amenities then be prepared, Malisa only gives you the bare necessities.

2. Resort facilities: There is a restaurant (open air but covered), library (air conditioned) where you can borrow DVDs, gym and SPA! I got a 30% discount at the spa and had no problems booking an appointment. The best part about the spa was you could book an appointment at any time of the day... it was never packed but they charged you for less than some of the other day spas in Kata! There is no common or inifinity pool but who needs one when you have one in your villa? The resort also offers a buggy service to areas with a 5 - 10 minute walk to the hotel. It was great especially since the weather was so hot! Breakfast was included in our package and you can either have it in your villa or in the resort's restaurant. If you prefer to have breakfast in your villa/pool suite they'll come and cook it right in your kitchen!

3. Kata area: If you're not a big fan of Patong then you'll enjoy the area. We were there in the "rainy season" but it only rained for 5 minutes the whole entire time we were there (4 days)! There are some really fancy restaurants (we went to Joe's South, Mon Tri's Kitchen, etc) in the area but if you like casual places there are tons in the area. The resort is a 5 minute walk to Kata beach but if you don't want to walk you can ask the resort to take you there by buggy. We spent a lot of time relaxing at the beach and most days the beach was empty... there was hardly anyone there.

If you prefer to hang out in Patong then you can always take a Tuk Tuk or taxi to Patong (15 minutes away). DO bargain with the drivers!

4. Overall: We really liked the resort and thought it was perfect for a 4 day anniversary celebration getaway. It was our 4th time in Phuket and we've done a lot of island hopping tours + scuba diving in the area so we were really pleased to have had some quiet time away from other tourists. In fact, we didn't see other guests at the hotel until our last day at breakfast! Amazing...


  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Woodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
0.3 mi away
The Baray Villa
The Baray Villa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.6 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malisa Villa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malisa Villa Suites

Address: 40 / 36 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $184 - $867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Malisa Villa Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malisa Villa Suites serves private pool villas as the perfect hideaway for couples at Kata Beach on Phuket Island with 41 well-designed individual villas, each with its own private pool that leaves you totally undistracted and showcases the comfort of your stay.Offering a host of the finest attentive services, from in-villa service breakfast by the personal chefs, Malisa Signature Welcome, complimentary minibar with daily replenishment to relaxing spas and endless romantic dinner or BBQ dinner in your private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malisa Villa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malisa Villa Hotel Kata Beach
Malisa Hotel Kata
Malisa Villa Suites Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing