We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th and final stay!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malisa Villa Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malisa Villa Suites
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“4th and final stay!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Booked a specific Grand Pool Villa that we've stayed in for the previous 3 stays and this was confirmed. From arrival villa not available and given excuses about it being rain damaged and later let it slip that there was guests in it. Took 1.5 hours to check-in. Given smaller & substandard Grand Pool Villa- huge gaps & warping in the wooden doors and windows allowing mossies inside. Air-con was inadequate for the size of the villa and the many gaps around windows & doors- overnight temp in villa was 26 degrees. Outdoor area was stuffy & hot with little air movement due to the location of this villa and 1 fan not working and the other 2 being slow. Many fittings broken.
Next day eventually moved to the booked villa. Most things were working but this villa is looking much more than tired now and in need of a good renovation, repair and replacement of some fixtures.
Breakfast was of excellent standard as usual.
Some familiar staff- mainly in food service.
F & B, housekeeping, pool maintenance were pleasant and efficient. Ground staff were pleasant also. Reception staff left a lot to be desired re; service and attitude.
Air-con broke down. 1. Fixed in 1/2 hour. 2. Broke down in the afternoon- on our return at night it was repaired but the villa was left unlocked and unattended. 3. Not able to be quickly fixed, told 3-4 hours- 8 hours later at 10pm told unrepairable that night and move to another villa! Again directed to substandard villas.
Received turndown service 2 nights out of 10.
From check-in when I asked to speak with the GM (who handled our booking) I was given excuses that she was in a meeting, out, and finally overseas. Emails to GM went unanswered and a "P/A" responded. We've never heard so many sorries, so sorry: etc from an accommodation provider. Many excuses including new reception staff. Small compensation of a cheap bottle of wine given and later room service charges removed at my insistence.
We stayed 10 nights but should have left on day 1 when we 1st thought about it.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mynatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    101
    24
    16
    12
See reviews for
24
191
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

After reading a number of recent reviews on this hotel we were quite concerned after booking it. Upon arrival we noted the hotel is now undergoing quite a sizeable renovation and can see that it will definately be back to a high standard within the near future. Our room was about what we expected, you could definately see signs of wear and age and it obviously could do with the renovation and further maintenance. That being said, we found it to be a reasonable experience overall and will probably return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was a little apprehensive prior to arriving when I tried to email the hotel regarding excursions and an airport shuttle service, they never responded.

Upon arriving we were escorted to our villa, the physical villa was great; design, amenities, cleanliness, etc. Then came the letdowns, aside from one staff member none spoke English or could address queries. The villas are right next to each other, as the majority of the space is open air. This would be great if you didn't hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the villa next to you. The couple next to us liked to argue between 2 and 4am. Making it impossible to sleep, and as the staff could understand my complaints, several, nothing was done about it. The breakfast that was delivered was never what we ordered. Lastly, and this is nitpicky but our safe and pool waterfall didn't work.

On the positive side, it was located on a pretty busy side street providing dining and nightlife options. It was also about a five inute walk to Kata Yai beach.

I would recommend that you save your money and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted very kindly and staff were very welcoming. We loved the room although found it odd they have green tiles in the pool which made it look dirty althought it's not :) the room was great, cooling was excellent and breakfast was setup every morning and on time.

On the downfall our aircon was turned off at times by house keeping staff which was very much annoying. This were purposely left on so we can come back to a cool room and relax after our shopping or tours.

The bathroom had mosquitoes and is not cool like the other part of the room, but was always clean and tidy.

The food was a bit more dearer than the restaraunts outside however, it was convenient.

Overall, it is a hidden resort and away from all the chaos everywhere else. Peacefull, relaxing, and very much enjoyable. Not to mention you do get free wifi and have computer facilities in room which is great.

Definately would stay here again. Great Stay and very happy. You won't be disapointed.

Room Tip: Great place guys. We were very very happy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been coming here for last 6 years. In in our initial trips Malisa was great, however on this latest trip it turned out to be average at best.

Our pickup from the airport was late, by 30 minutes. We had to call the hotel to see where the guy was. When we got picked up, the car was dirty, there was no cold towels or water. The guys spoke hardly any English and offered no explanation for being late. Upon checkout, we ended up with the 'small' Grand Pool Villa - not the nice ones with the big pool. Given that we where staying for 21 days, we asked to move, but got a nice run around and some vague excuse why we couldn't move for a few more days.

The house keeping is severely down hill - hang a sign for 'house keeping' and you may as well wave your arms at the sky. One day the room got done at 7PM, other days 2 or 3 PM. I think they are saving money on staff - but the result is that you end up with a dirty room for a good part of your day.

The turn down service is rather a joke - not sure what they do - but closing the blind for the night, towels by the bed is NOT in the program (it used to be). It seems the staff are poorly trained and not consistent.

I asked to talk to the GM, and the staff nicely lied that the manger was traveling (while I was asking to see the GM, the GM was available). So, the fact that the GM is not interested in listing to a repeat, long term stay customer is a poor reflection on the place.

Another note, there is a Russian hotel next to the property. On Saturday and Sunday you may as well bring earplugs - they play the music loud and late into the night. If you are unfortunate to have a villa next to the property line, the thump, thump through out the weekend is not a lot of fun.

Beds are rock hard and darn right miserable unless you have back problems and need to lie on a plywood plank. Malisa has nice mosquito system, but it sits idel (green things throughout the property). I'm guessing they are saving on gas - and instead offer you bug repellant. Not so fun.

What is good: breakfast in the villa is great - and food is nice. Location is great and having the pool of course is great.

However, given how little the management cares about the customers, and how low this property had slid, this will likely be my last stay here. 2Villas, which I checkout on this stay, is almost the same price but way way better shape. Will stay there next time and check it out.

Room Tip: Any rooms next to the property line, will be subject to loud music on weekend. They have different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Malisa in July this year and we had a terrible experience. Too many issues to cover. Headlines are as follows:

:: The villas are very dated and are full of Mosquitos which meant we had to sleep with bug spray on. Not very comfortable. When I left the hotel I counted around 40 bites over my body including two on my face! The hotel staff didn't do anything about this and we ended up buying a large amount of mosquito coils, incense sticks and sprays to alleviate the situation. This didn't really help much and just made us more uncomfortable with a villa constantly full of smoke and spray. We also had to place towels under each door to prevent more Mosquitos from getting in.

:: The service is pathethic with staff who can not speak a word of English - words like 'towel' and 'water' were not understood by any of the staff which meant comms were very long and very frustrating. Total lack of staff training.

:: Rooms were dated and dirty. The shower and toilet are surronded by pebbles (aka attempt at designer look while forgettting about hygiene of guests) which smelt like old urine and no doubt were harbouring diseases. The rooms were never consistently cleaned and on two occasions our room wasn't cleaned until we requested this at 6pm that night.

:: The mini bar is not complimentary despite what it says on the hotel website.

:: The pools were never cleaned and I believe gave me bacteria posioning which has similar efffects as very bad food posioning. A lovely two days of hell. I never swam in the pool again.

:: The air conditioning unit failed consistently and on one night we had to switch the unit on from outside the villa four times throughout the night which meant on top of the mosquitos our sleep quality was non existent.

Staff weren't prepared to compensate us for the hopeless experience but we demanded 50% off our room service bill and complimentary transport to our next hotel which they unwillingly and finally agreed to do. More so to get us out of the lobby and away from other guests!

We will never be back to Malisa and our advice is to NEVER stay here until managment starts to exist. Whoever runs this hotel should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NadiaH351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

went for honeymoon on 2010..have a good time staying in their private pool villa...intimate, luxurious and exquisite..enjoy in-room spa service! at half price! they got mini mac in room! make me feels like home! just walking distance to the kata town...cheap mini bar refreshment! just hoping it beside the the beach! short stay will be exquisite...but a bit boring for more than 4 days stay =)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yayahimzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
0.5 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Baray Villa
The Baray Villa
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.6 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malisa Villa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malisa Villa Suites

Property: Malisa Villa Suites
Address: 40 / 36 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Malisa Villa Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malisa Villa Suites serves private pool villas as the perfect hideaway for couples at Kata Beach on Phuket Island with 41 well-designed individual villas, each with its own private pool that leaves you totally undistracted and showcases the comfort of your stay.Offering a host of the finest attentive services, from in-villa service breakfast by the personal chefs, Malisa Signature Welcome, complimentary minibar with daily replenishment to relaxing spas and endless romantic dinner or BBQ dinner in your private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Malisa Villa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malisa Villa Hotel Kata Beach
Malisa Hotel Kata
Malisa Villa Suites Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing