We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Sea Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kata Sea Breeze Resort
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a great staying at the Kata Sea Breeze. At check in, they had noticed that some other guests with the same surname as me was checking in the same date (my family), so we got rooms next to each other. Really good first impression! There were also a small car that drove us and our luggage directly yo our room. We also got rooms in the new part of the hotel, and it was fine. Just a few steps to the pool, perfect! The staff at the hotel was really nice, and we became friends with ceveral of them. Most of the guests at the hotel were russian or chinese, so we never interacted with any of them. Most of the nights we where the ONLY guests in the restaurant, so that`s perhaps why we connected so well with the staff. We also used the taylor at the hotel, and we are SO satisfied!!! Kim (the taylor) did a really good job, and much cheaper then the other taylors nearby.
The hotel is placed in a calm area, but still close to the beach and close to a lot of restaurants. Just outside the hotel is a booth where you can always get a taxi, really practical. We also checked, and in ceveral cases the taxis at the hotel was cheaper than the tuk-tuks.
The only negative thing about the hotel was the matresses. It was like sleeping on the ground. Even the sunbeds were more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    187
    67
    39
    17
See reviews for
181
174
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Horsens
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I highly recommend Kata Sea Breeze Resort as a good and quiet base in the area of Kata Beach, Phuket. It takes a 10 min. stroll through Kata Beach "business street" to get you to the wonderful beach. The sorroundings are full of excellent restaurants - both with cheap and more expensive prices. Visit for exsample the many small family restaurants, where you might find mother and her sister or mother in the kitchen while the father or brother is waiting the tables of hungry guest. For guests are what you are in Thailand. :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusVedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

No warm welcome on check in. Not a singe staff member bothered to give a smile. Room was run down and featured a late 80s style interior. Elevator smelled of oil and grease. There was a serious ant infestation in our room. Woke up with bite marks on arms and feet. Decided to check out one day early due to the poor impression of this hotel. Breakfast buffet a big joke, with 100s of guests and a few staff members not up to their job, it was chaotic. Stay away from this hotel please.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnBono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a few nights in January and I have to say it has got to be the worst place I've ever stayed at. The biggest fault was how rude the staff are. One example was when we arrived there was no direction to your room it was just a matter of get on with it.

The rooms were out of date and needed a big refurbishment and the food was awful. The organisation of breakfast was just shocking.....was too many people in a small area at one time and not enough tables and simple things like milk and butter weren't replenished. When you found someone to ask for some more they didn't understand you and walked off!!

Upon checkout I have never been treated so badly and was accused of taking stuff from the mini bar which we hadn't. When we disputed this and said we wouldn't pay for the items we didn't have they wouldn't back down and we ended up arguing with them for over half an hour. Not a relaxing end to your stay!!!! The silly thing was when we settled the bill because our taxi was waiting; had we not a boat to catch we would have only paid for what we had. When we said we wouldn't pay for it they called security on us! So after all the agro we gave in and paid because we had to leave they gave us a 2 year out of date can of beer!!! So they are just out to get extra money out of guests which is totally unacceptable.

So if you want a relaxing welcoming stay and don't want hassle when you leave avoid this hotel at all costs. The diamond cottage resort and spa down the road is much better.


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Samantha_asapiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeaza, Manager at Kata Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your valued comment, we are pleased to listen for all advices. However, from your comment, as we just expanded our hotel to 330 rooms and some staff are new for our hotel, they are now adjusting themselves to service better. Again, we are sorry for the situation which you met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We found the service only good if tips were involved, disorganized and hidden costs. Two rooms of our group were accused of stealing or breaking cups- and were going to be charged for them- but when escorted staff back to back to room they were clearly and obviously exactly where they should have been. Very odd. Not very friendly either which we found particularly unusual for this part of the world.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewZealandishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeaza, Manager at Kata Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your valued comment. We are sorry for your unpleasant situation. As we just expanded the hotel and many staff are new to hotel, we are now training them to service better. Again, we are so apologize for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My daughter and I were supposed to stay at the rico's bungalows, we were double booked in that hotel.
so by chance we ended up here in the sea breeze, which worked out quite well,
they have nice rooms big pool area, swim up bar, and a 10 min walk to the beach. the rooms are nice and clean, and we did have a problem with the air con, it started out at 26 degrees at night and worked it's way down to 22 through the night, I think that was more me than anything not knowing how to set it, I am used to putting it on 22 and leaving it.I have stayed at the kata beach resort ,too expensive but great hotel,, sugar palm, great location but noisy rooms, rico's bungalows,don't waste your money, and the country house, was ok,
I think I will try this place again next time.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the pool, but next time I will be getting a pool access room, they looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiescorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeaza, Manager at Kata Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We are welcome you and your family back again for your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just regular 3* hotel in Phuket, but:
1) Very old furniture, looks really bad.
2) Free wi-fi only at lobby. So if you wanna check mail or do skype call, then you should go to lobby. This is not so cool if you live on 4 floor.
3) Free safe in room, great. But they are not responsible for it. And there is no safe on reception.
4) Don't even think to take HB!!! Why? Because you'll pay 350 bht for dinner for each person and get no choice at dinner. I mean that you will eat what they will bring to you. There is no menu. There is no choice. If you take BB and go to restaurant for dinner, then you'll got menu and choice. But if you get HB, you will not get it. This is so strange. I tell to them about it and maybe they will change their politics. So take just BB. You can get dinner in every restaurant around for less money with large menu.
5) You should know that Kata District is good for families and old people. There is no nightlife at all. So if you want to party, then choose patong. Taxi from Kata to Patong 400bht (backway for 400-500bht)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#11 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#24 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#10 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Flora Resort
Chanalai Flora Resort
#17 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Sea Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Sea Breeze Resort

Property: Kata Sea Breeze Resort
Address: 72 Kata Rd. | Karon District, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kata Sea Breeze Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Sea Breeze Resort is perfectly nestled between the golden sands of Kata beach and the green inland hills. Offering excellent value for money, Kata Sea Breeze Resort is a cozy place to stay with 330 guest rooms and suites, 4 swimming pools (one with a swim up pool bar), pool bar and restaurant dining, signature 'Z' bar and a relaxing indoor and outdoor spa. A few moment s walk will bring you to centre of Kata and the beach just beyond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kata Sea Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Sea Breeze Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Sea Breeze Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing