We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kata Country House
Nearby Hotels
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$108
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$76
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$201
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$151
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boathouse Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$151
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Flora Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$256
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kata Rocks(Kata Beach)
$885
$626
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
117
141
66
17
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
141
66
17
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub medbeach towelsbusy roadbungalowkatarenovationfrogs
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 370 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I spent three glorious weeks at this resort in September and we can say without doubt that it is one of the nicest places that we have experienced in all our eleven trips to Thailand over the past years! We stayed in a ground floor room by the poolside and the pool and the surrounding authentic Thai gardens were so tranquil that we felt truly rested after our stay.The staff were so nice and helpful and the restaurant served excellent food from 12 noon onwards
The only slight critism would be directed at the choice of food for breakfast perhaps the addition of baked beans, croissants and cheese for the omlettes coul be offered as well?
Thank you to all the kind people of Thailand for making our holidays so wonderful over the years as this will probably be our last visit due to our age and the toll of longhaul flights from the UK. THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rom 422 - its poolside with a verandha and we think it was the best room in the hotel for ease of access to the pool to sunbathe or swim with the ambiance of a beautiful peaceful setting as well.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scotscatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel had amazing service, and helpful staff. They organised all my tours for discounted prices. Every morning my room was cleaned, fresh towels, 2 bottles of water and new toiletries were provided daily. The room had beautiful views, lots of trees, and a clean pool. It was calm and quiet, value for money, short walk from the beach, and a central location. There is also a lovely open air gourmet restaurant which had divine Thai food for reasonable prices. Complete getaway, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SOLTATIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The property and pools were amazing! LOVED the pools! It was nice to be close to the shops and restaurants of Kata, but still have peace and quiet. The staff's English was minimal, but they were friendly, courteous and smiling. The map can be deceiving, as it appears to be across the street from the beach, but the GIANT fenced off "Club Med" makes it a bit of a walk to the seaside as you have to go around this property. It is worth purchasing the breakfast when you book your room, as it is a lot cheaper than paying per person in the morning and has a good selection of food- fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs, noodles, soup, juices, coffee and tea. Overall, a beautiful hotel and hope to return someday.

Room Tip: For Baht 749, you could have the second cheapest room, and for baht 999 it includes breakfast. I recommend getting the breakfast, at least one or two days, it could get boring after a long stay. The next most expensive room was baht 1000, and the only difference was a pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ratingsandreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I love the garden settings, food selection in the restaurant were nice! Rate per night were affordable. Room is very basic.The hotel is very convenient as you walk you could reach 7/11 store easily and there was a row of good massage shop across the hotel. Didnt get much time to spend at the hotel because i was there for the island only. wish i had more time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dygmaisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

From the initial impression to the moment we prematurely left, there was something amiss. Dirty, badly maintained, over run by tour bus loads of unfriendly patrons and not a single staff member we encountered that bore an ounce of customer service or a smile. Check-in took a matter of 2 mins, no welcome, no explanation of the property, no nothing- it was all very abrupt and unfriendly. We ended up leaving after 1 night, and that's one sleepless night we'll never get back. We were so on edge- it was as if something horribly bad had gone down at the property and the horrible reminiscent vibe still lingered, can't quite put the feeling into words, not pleasant. At 6 am there were a bunch of Russians ( nationality of the bulk of the patrons) arguing at the top of their lungs walking through the property, staff mo-peds screaming down the driveway past the rooms and the clatter of cutlery being prepared for the morning's breakfast service.
The Room: we booked 2 wooden bungalows as we were two couples traveling together. They came with a terrible stench, holes in the floor, a dirty fridge from the 1970's and an air conditioner that rattled and spat ice out all over the floor and bed.
Breakfast: there were live bees in the honey- ironic really but most certainly not there intentionally. Fake bacon, and dry, unappealing wet dishes. I couldn't call the black syrupy liquid coffee, even at a stretch.
The staff: when we informed the staff we'd be leaving 2 days early they gave zero response. Nothing! Not a " may I ask why?" or " is there anything we can do to make your stay better or ask you why you're unhappy." we were shocked by the lack of response but didn't try to induce one. It wasn't worth it, we knew we'd get nowhere.
The hotel also didn't provide in- room safety deposit boxes. They were behind reception and you couldn't access your goods inside after 10 pm at night. Very inconvenient and one of the oddest systems I've come across. Staff were very put out by the use of the " security system" that didn't feel very secure, considering all staff had key access to the boxes and the clause we had to read before using the box stated the property wasn't responsible for any items deposited in the security boxes. Also, while wifi was free in the lobby, we were never given a password. We had to literally hand over our iPads/laptops to reception to enter the password. No trust, backwards systems and again that uneasy, cold vibe. Such a shame. After we left we returned back to Boomerang Village Resort and were instantly at ease and overwhelmed by the outstanding service and standard of the product the team at Boomerang deliver.

Room Tip: If you dare to stay, request a room away from the front of the hotel so you're not subject to the traffic passing down the main Rd.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews