We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, pleasant staff and good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Minta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kata Minta
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location, pleasant staff and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed at the Kata Minta for a week. It is 5 minutes walk to the beach and close to all the amenities you might need - coffee shops, restaurants, corner shops.
The room was large and clean, though worn I suppose. The bathroom was servicable, if not luxurious in any way. We had airconditioning (this actually broke down one afternoon and they gave us a floorstanding fan and fixed the aircon first thing the next morning which is great service!)
The staff were always friendly and helpful - they made all the tour/trip arrangements for us and were happy to add it to our bill for payment on checkout.
All in all, the kata minta is a pleasant place to stay and excellent value for money. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need all the frills.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orpheus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Closer to 3.5/5

- 2 minute walk to the beach
- Sauna and jacuzzi
- Nice food
- The staff are very friendly but it would help to know the area a little more. No map of Kata or Phuket provided.
- Showerhead and taps were covered in some mould. I did ask for this to be cleaned but nothing was done.

Travellers who go to Thailand for a more cultural experience may find Kata, and Phuket, a little bit to western or "touristy".

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

Kata Minta was a fantastic value. To get clean and nice rooms that are only a few minutes walk from the beach was great! The staff was friendly enough and it was quiet.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — good quality for value
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

We stayed at Kata Minta for 4 nights and overall the stay was very pleasant. It was kind of home away from home. Greatest part was close proximity to beach. Not more than 3-4 minute walk.

The staffs were excellent. The lady at the reception was attentive. Another one who cleaned the room was thorough in her job. After usual cleaning, she used to keep hand towels in different styles (at times she will make Swan of that).

Also, one first day when I complained to hotel staff about the untidy toilet seat (some spots), they changed it the very next day.

We had good American breakfast at hotel restaurant.

Few negatives (these can be overlooked though):-

1. There is hardly any parking space. However, there is a decent public parking near by (around 3-4 minute walk).

2. The balcony of the room faces the wall of another building. And one can hear the conversations of other building if balcony is left open. So, better to keep it closed.

All in all, I will stay there again and would recommend it to people who are not looking forward for luxuries of the big hotel. If you are looking for neat/beautiful room at a convenient location and this is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mini15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parainen, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed in Kata Minta only for one day/night, while waiting for our Liveaboard crew to pick us up.
The hotel was recommended by the Dive corp. and for a good reason! Stylish Thai decor, warm and hospitable personnel and neat location. Very well worth the money!

  • Liked — The Thai decor
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FinnishCoupleOulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

This hotel is well-located if you want to spend your days on the somewhat quiet Kata Beach. Kata Beach is only a 3 minute walk from this hotel. The hotel rooms are nice, breakfast is okay, but our room smelled so badly of pesticides (for killing bugs) and toxic cleaning fluids that we could not even sleep! They had no other rooms to switch us to the first night, so we stayed in the toxic room and regretted it- pretty sure it took years off our lives! Most of their rooms smelled really bad, for me that's a total buzz killer!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayab14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

When inadvertantly delayed in Southern Thailand, we decided to detour to Phuket and booked this hotel on the strength of previous good reviews - and we not disappointed at all. We found the hotel easily as it is only around the corner from where the local bus from Phuket town stops, and were delighted to be welcomed into reception with a cool drink. Our room was beautifully furnished with a HUGE double bed, authentic Thai furnishings and bathroom. Our room had a balcony that overlooked another hotel but this was not a major problem in itself.

Reception staff couldn't have been more accommodating, and although we ate only breakfast at the hotel, this was lovely. Our room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels and additional towels available at reception to take to the beach. On our last day, we were able to store our luggage until our planned late departure, and were offered the use of the shower by the indoor pool to freshen up after our day at the beach.

Overall a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eddiebearontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kata Resort
The Kata Resort
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#35 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Minta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Minta

Property: Kata Minta
Address: 156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Minta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kata Minta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minta Hotel Kata
Kata Minta Hotel
Kata Minta Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing