We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Kata Minta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kata Minta
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2008

When inadvertantly delayed in Southern Thailand, we decided to detour to Phuket and booked this hotel on the strength of previous good reviews - and we not disappointed at all. We found the hotel easily as it is only around the corner from where the local bus from Phuket town stops, and were delighted to be welcomed into reception with a cool drink. Our room was beautifully furnished with a HUGE double bed, authentic Thai furnishings and bathroom. Our room had a balcony that overlooked another hotel but this was not a major problem in itself.

Reception staff couldn't have been more accommodating, and although we ate only breakfast at the hotel, this was lovely. Our room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels and additional towels available at reception to take to the beach. On our last day, we were able to store our luggage until our planned late departure, and were offered the use of the shower by the indoor pool to freshen up after our day at the beach.

Overall a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eddiebearontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
32
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The room was large and very nicely furnished. The staff were excellent and made a lot of effort to make sure we had everything we needed. There is a little pool and sauna which are free to use. The location is good as well, it is only 5 minutes to the beach. Oveall, this place is excellent value for money and I would recommend.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank seoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We have just returned from Phuket. For 10 nights we stayed at Kata Minta and what a great stay it was.

Although this is only a small hotel I cannot recommend it enough. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is terrific. There is a small indoor pool but when you are so close to the beach - 3 minute walk- who wants to lay by the pool.

Rooms are a great size and have everything you need. We were a large group of 12 so took up half the hotel but nothing was a problem for them. Rooms are made up every day. Beach towels are available at reception.

There are no safes in the room but there is one at reception if required. I have to say though that we had no problems leaving valuables in our rooms.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are after a nice place to stay but do not want/need the facilities of a big hotel.

  • Liked — Service and small size
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jen_abroad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We had never been to Phuket before and were not sure what to expect.... We opted for Kata beach as it seemed to advertise itself as a quieter resort but with good beaches and suitable for families...... as opposed to hedonistic Patong.
We did not visit in peak season but it was still pretty busy with, mostly European, holiday makers. The beach and water were clean and you can hire a bed for the day, with umbrella for that midday sun. There were lots of places to hire surf and boogie boards, although the swell was not so bad as to prevent swimming and there were certainly lots of kids surfing the waves.
After looking on tripadvisor we decided to opt for this guest house based on the reviews and the fact that we are on a budget. (many of the hotels seemed expensive to us)
There is no pool or other services which bigger resorts have to offer but the rooms are really decent, big, air cond., clean and stylishly decked out.
It is in a great location, three minutes walk from the beach, with lots of restaurants and the usual tourist orientated shops nearby. The staff are very friendly and we will be going to stay again on our next trip to Phuket!

  • Liked — The stylishly decorated big rooms.
  • Disliked — There was not a view from the balcony- looked onto wall of other hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jersey-Bean-CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

Kata minta is fantastic.

Location could not be better 5 mins walk away from the beach, amazingly friendly staff and fabulous rooms.

The rooms were the nicest in all my stay in Thailand, nice size, beautiful tiled bathroom with a large bath with a great powerful shower(see pics!). Breakfast was included and although not much choice it was more than adequate.

The double bed was very comfortable, the air conditioning was superb and very, very quiet when running(so no problem sleeping with it on) and there was a decent select of channels on the tv.

Kata itself is a fabulous place to base yourself, plenty of bars and restaurants yet much more low key and quieter than patong. The beach here is gorgeous, very good swimming with nice smallish waves, and there is also very good snorkling at the southern end of the beach.

I couldn’t recommend this hotel enough.

Also i would highly advise a trip to the khai islands, 20 mins by speedboat from phuket, the islands are beautiful with really rich coral + marine life.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Redstar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2007

We were really pleased we chose to stay in Kata Beach rather than the busier beaches further north. The beach is smaller and quieter than Karon or Patong and it's only a short tuk tuk ride to Kata Noi, an even smaller and quieter beach a little further south - great beach to chill out for an afternoon.

Kata Minta was exactly what we were looking for - a small, stylish, reasonably priced hotel with Thai furnishings, great service and a lovely courtyard area out the front for dining and bar. Nice big beds and bathrooms with a bath. We had a balcony but never went out there because it looked over another hotel's corridors. They do have rooms with balconies facing the front though.

Most of the beachfront at Kata Beach is taken up by a Club Med resort so if you stay somewhere in the middle of Kata, you'll have to walk the length of the resort to get to the beach. Kata Minta is perfectly located at the southern end of the beach, just 2 mins walk down to the beach.

Most tuk tuk / songtao drivers won't know where Kata Minta is so take a map and their phone number with you.

If you get the chance and have some money to burn, dine at The Boathouse. It's superb food and service, right on the beach and just around the corner from Kata Minta.

  • Liked — Attention to detail and location
  • Disliked — The balcony overlooking the next hotels
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pogoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2007

This hotel is a real find - a cute little boutique hotel that stands out from all the large, faceless hotels and resorts around the main Phuket beaches. Very friendly and helpful staff, a good sized, clean room decorated in traditional Thai style and a nice little restaurant. Also close to the beach. Only two downsides - some of the balconies look out onto a brick wall (although they've done their best to make them attractive all the same!) and not all taxi drivers know where it is, so make sure you take a map and phone number!

  • Liked — lovely room and friendly staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kata Resort
The Kata Resort
#7 of 8 in Karon Beach
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#25 of 56 in Kata Beach
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa e Mare
Casa e Mare
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#42 of 56 in Kata Beach
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Minta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Minta

Property: Kata Minta
Address: 156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Minta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kata Minta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minta Hotel Kata
Kata Minta Hotel
Kata Minta Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing