We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Minta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kata Minta
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The only good thing was the location. Got a room in the basement, no wiew, moldy smelling, very moist room. Rock hard bed and staff that don't speak much english, to expensive for what you get! Wouldn't come here again, ever!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank svenskEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Modest hotel close to beach.

Reasonably priced, clean rooms.

The best thing about this hotel is the attitude of the staff, which can sometimes be hit and miss in Thailand. Friendly, courteous and attentive.

I have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I really liked this hotel. The staff are super polite and helpful, which was a rare occurrence on my three-week trip in Phuket. The hotel is basic on all fronts, but it serves well as a place to sleep and it's a short walk to the beach. The bed was comfortable, air con was fully functional and the room is spacious. The shower is good and has hot water, somewhat of a rarity in Thai hotels. The room was cleaned on a daily basis, but it could have done with a good scrub. The breakfast was just ok. Free beach towels are available from the front desk (they must be returned at the end of the day). I couldn't connect to the wi-fi for some reason. Overall, good value and great location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garysco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

we seen such good reviews on this place we went for it even though it doesn't look great. we couldn't get over how nice the people are who work there. Location is excellent literally 5 minutes walk to the beach, nice restaurants nearby... I really dont have a complaint, if i was to be really really fussy, in between the tiles needed a good bleach, there was a slight build up of milldew, and the water was rarely warm never mind hot in the afternoon.
I remember leaving the room with all my personal belongings everywhere, i forgot to put out the sign to not clean the room, when i came back everything had been tidied very very well and my expensive belongings had been set on the bedside including my passport and cash, i was so impressed with the housekeeping that we left a very substantial tip, the only tip we left a housekeeper on our trip in over ten hotels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeilskyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkel en Rodenrijs, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Such a nice and hidden place in crowded Kata Beach, Phuket. Only a few minutes walk to the beach. We stayed here for one night during our holiday in Thailand. Rooms are clean and furnished in Thai style. Also the staff was very friendly and coorperative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MvHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just perfect location and awesome staff. Location suberb, just 5-7 min. walk to the beach, only 1 cross the street. Breakfast is not so wide, but enough to fill your stomach to go on :)
Only one thing that bothered was AC -roof, which had a bit mold. My sister sneezed but I didn´t had any problems. Rooms are very big, well cleaned and every day different towel art on bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiiNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Kata Minta is a lovely traditional style small hotel. The hotel is situated on a busy road and opposite a bar and restaurant, and whilst we had concerns about the noise it was not an issue at night. Our room 302 was a at the front of the hotel, centre point under the Kata Minta sign with a nice big balcony to watch the world go by.

Good location, 5mins walk to Kata beach, 15mins to Kata Central [the really busy bit], 20mins to Karon, 10min walk to Kata Noi. 5mins walk to the main hub of Kata bars and restaurants.

The rooms are a decent size, large bed, clean and tidy. The only issue we had was that we felt the bathrooms were very old and dated [needing a refresh], and the design of the sink / basin meant that if Mr Mitch was shaving I could not get in – although if he moved and I walked in there was plenty of room – just a small gripe for us.

Breakfast is nice, but if you are into the large American fare then this is not for you. It does the job and is served with a smile.

The staff are very happy and friendly!

Well priced and welcoming!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel over look the main road, so have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#31 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kata Resort
The Kata Resort
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#34 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Minta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Minta

Property: Kata Minta
Address: 156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Minta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kata Minta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minta Hotel Kata
Kata Minta Hotel
Kata Minta Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing