We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Minta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kata Minta
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just perfect location and awesome staff. Location suberb, just 5-7 min. walk to the beach, only 1 cross the street. Breakfast is not so wide, but enough to fill your stomach to go on :)
Only one thing that bothered was AC -roof, which had a bit mold. My sister sneezed but I didn´t had any problems. Rooms are very big, well cleaned and every day different towel art on bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiiNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Kata Minta is a lovely traditional style small hotel. The hotel is situated on a busy road and opposite a bar and restaurant, and whilst we had concerns about the noise it was not an issue at night. Our room 302 was a at the front of the hotel, centre point under the Kata Minta sign with a nice big balcony to watch the world go by.

Good location, 5mins walk to Kata beach, 15mins to Kata Central [the really busy bit], 20mins to Karon, 10min walk to Kata Noi. 5mins walk to the main hub of Kata bars and restaurants.

The rooms are a decent size, large bed, clean and tidy. The only issue we had was that we felt the bathrooms were very old and dated [needing a refresh], and the design of the sink / basin meant that if Mr Mitch was shaving I could not get in – although if he moved and I walked in there was plenty of room – just a small gripe for us.

Breakfast is nice, but if you are into the large American fare then this is not for you. It does the job and is served with a smile.

The staff are very happy and friendly!

Well priced and welcoming!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel over look the main road, so have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Kata Minta is truly a hidden treasure, near to the beaches of Kata and especially Kata Noi, but away from the typical tourist rumble. The traditional boutique style (which is actually northern Thai or 'Lanna') and friendly staff will make you feel almost like a family member.
The excellent manager, Wee, deserves a special compliment, for outstanding service and making every guest feel at home.
A few meters up hill there is a traditional English Pub, The Griffin, where this small intimate style tourist strip comes to its completion, in contrast to the much larger resorts and somewhat banal bars elsewhere in Kata. Kata Minta and The Griffin are for those who are looking for authenticity and excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the backside for optimal quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raimond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent one night in the Kata Minta while at Kata beach in Phuket. Our experience was a wonderful one.

After looking at many reviews online trying to find a hotel that was a good value we decided on this one. Although this hotel does not have direct beach access it is only a 2 minute walk to the beach. That was the only (small) drawback to this hotel for us.

The room was very clean and a great size. We had a balcony where we could dry our bathing suits and sit out on to people watch and breakfast was included in the room-rate. But by far the best thing about this hotel was the staff especially the receptionist Nok. I had been in contact with her by e-mail before arriving and she went out of her way to ensure all of our travel arrangements to the hotel were taken care of. When we arrived she made us feel very welcome and tended to all of our questions. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful as well.

Overall our experience at the Minta was superb. I would recommend this place to anyone I knew going to Kata beach.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel are bright and have a balcony overlooking the front courtyard of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We always stay here if there is a room available. All went smoothly, most of the staff are still there. Close to beach,shops,restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckyJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

2 days before the new year Eve we found Kata Minta without pre-booking which they gave us an amazing room with very good price! The staff very friendly especially one woman(dont remember name) which help us so much!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasileios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We are teachers who have been living and working in Bangkok for the past two and a half years. Due to the recent flooding throughout the country, most international schools in Bangkok have closed indefinitely. We were lucky enough to be able to leave the city and spend some time at the beach.

When we first arrived in Kata, we stayed at another hotel that we had pre-booked. Because we were coming into high season, we were told that the rates were going to triple within a few days. Our friends were lucky enough to stumble across the Kata Minta, and the lovely ladies behind the desk offered us an excellent rate when they heard our story. The rooms were great, the best value for money I have encountered in any beach town: big, bright, and very, very clean. Another plus - great water pressure in the shower (hard to find at the beach in Thailand!). The only downside to the rooms is that the double beds consist of two singles pushed together.

At first we told them we only planned to stay a few days...and then we extended for another few...and then a few more. Although we were a big group (occupying 4-5 rooms at any given time), and some of us came and went throughout the two weeks we stayed there, they never raised our rate.

I should also mention the excellent coffee directly across the street at the Italian Job!

The staff were truly awesome..by the end of our stay they knew our names as well as some of the funny anecdotes from our trip. Saying goodbye to them was sad for us all, and we are already looking forward to our return!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#42 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rico's Bungalows
Rico's Bungalows
#43 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#31 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kata Resort
The Kata Resort
#51 of 57 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#47 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#32 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Minta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Minta

Property: Kata Minta
Address: 156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Minta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kata Minta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minta Hotel Kata
Kata Minta Hotel
Kata Minta Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing