We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of Kata Minta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kata Minta
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

2 days before the new year Eve we found Kata Minta without pre-booking which they gave us an amazing room with very good price! The staff very friendly especially one woman(dont remember name) which help us so much!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasileios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
32
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We are teachers who have been living and working in Bangkok for the past two and a half years. Due to the recent flooding throughout the country, most international schools in Bangkok have closed indefinitely. We were lucky enough to be able to leave the city and spend some time at the beach.

When we first arrived in Kata, we stayed at another hotel that we had pre-booked. Because we were coming into high season, we were told that the rates were going to triple within a few days. Our friends were lucky enough to stumble across the Kata Minta, and the lovely ladies behind the desk offered us an excellent rate when they heard our story. The rooms were great, the best value for money I have encountered in any beach town: big, bright, and very, very clean. Another plus - great water pressure in the shower (hard to find at the beach in Thailand!). The only downside to the rooms is that the double beds consist of two singles pushed together.

At first we told them we only planned to stay a few days...and then we extended for another few...and then a few more. Although we were a big group (occupying 4-5 rooms at any given time), and some of us came and went throughout the two weeks we stayed there, they never raised our rate.

I should also mention the excellent coffee directly across the street at the Italian Job!

The staff were truly awesome..by the end of our stay they knew our names as well as some of the funny anecdotes from our trip. Saying goodbye to them was sad for us all, and we are already looking forward to our return!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We loved our stay here. The hotel is compact but has everything we needed, including a small indoor pool and sauna downstairs. We couldn't do lengths but we had fun splashing around - especially when it was so humid outside. The bar next door is great for drinks and a game of pool and the many restaurants and bars down the road are great. We had dinner here one night and it was yummy! We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Most taxi drivers have never heard of this place so we got lost getting there. Upon arrival, we found that we have a room on the 2nd floor with no elevator. For most people, this may not be an issue, but my wife had recently had knee surgery. The beach is a 5-10 minute walk down a pretty steep hill with lots of traffic.

The room itself is very spacious but dated. The bathroom shower was pretty dirty and moldy and leaked all over the floor.

The A/C only works when you are in the room with the key in the box. The room was usually very hot and didn't cool down till late in the morning.

Breakfast served in the morning (included with room) was not bad.

Overall, we weren't impressed with the Kata Minta or Kata Beach for that matter.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triviageek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

This was our third trip to Kata Minta, and the things we likes on our previous two trips are still there. we arrived on New Year's Day for 1 week.

The chef was the same one as on our first trip and the food was first class, we ended up eating here most nights with the exception of 1 where we tried Two Chefs - not to our taste and wont return.

The hotel is small and very popular, however, Nok is a delight to deal with and very prompt in responding to requests. The house cleaner is meticulous and coming in from a day at the beach is delightful when you see the animals and flowers she has created from the towels.

The hotel is a few minutes stroll to the main beach, however, we dound this to be more crowded than normal so after two days we decided to walk the 10 or so minutes to the smaller, quieter and nicer Kata Noi beach, if you have any sort of walking difficulties or just dont like it i would recommend using a taxi/tuk tuk as there is a very steep hill to tackle, also when you reach the closest part of the beach there are 80+ steps to descend, further round the access is flat.

Kata Minta is a wee gem and i would highly recommend it, just dont go 1st week in Jan so that i can

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We arrived at the Kata Minta on the 27th December & left the 7th January 2010.
As with each other stay at the Kata Minta check in was easy. Staff still friendly & helpful.
Our favourite chef has returned to work at the Kata Minta so we consumed a lot of Thai dishes on our stay.

The housekeeper keeps all rooms spotless & the towel display left on the bed each day put a smile on our face. Very cute.

We will always stay at the Kata Minta if rooms are available. Booking is easy just a short email to the receptionist Nok giving details of dates required.

If you want to play a game of pool the Coffee Hut Bar next door always makes you feel welcome.
Laundry can be left at reception or try the laundry next to the Coffee Hut.
The Kata Minta is in a perfect position close to Kata Beach & shops. Bike parking is limited.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckyJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

ROOMS

Our room was OK. On the plus-side it was clean and well made-up, on the downside, the bed was not a double, but two singles pushed together, and it faced onto a noisy street. The road noise was tolerable, the incessant whistling of the parking attendant who worked across the street was less so.

LOCATION

It took, at a purposeful march, just over 2 minutes to walk from the beach to the hotel, and it's a similar distance into the town centre. Kata Beach is nice, and enjoys particularly good sunsets, largely as a product of the picturesque island of Ko Pu that lies just off it. Contrary to the claims of our guide-book, it isn't within swimming distance. Much better is the smaller Kata Noi beach to the south. It takes ten minutes to walk to, but is most definitely worth it if you're not questing after hawkers and water sports.

FOOD

We only stayed in the hotel for breakfast; you could choose between an American breakfast and a Continental breakfast. It was acceptable, although not great. Fruit juices are particularly sweet, and it wasn't quite substantial enough. The restaurant was usually bustling in the evening, but we didn't visit then.

SERVICE

The staff weren't particularly good English speakers, but then, I wasn't a particularly good Thai speaker. They were keen to help with what they could, and usually proffered a smile as we came to-and-fro.

VALUE FOR MONEY

It's difficult to evaluate. We paid just over £40 per night, which, were this hotel in England, would be good. However, given that the hotel is in Thailand, and hotels in Asia are normally significantly cheaper than there Western counterparts, the hotel didn't represent particularly good value for money in that respect.

OVERALL

The hotel was an average to good place to stay that isn't too expensive and is relatively hassle free.

KATA BEACH

A note to those considering visiting the Kata Beach area: it's very, very touristy, and very, very commercialised; doe-eyed 10-year old locals will try to sell you roses at every opportunity, men will try to entice you into their 'real Gucci and Armani' shops, old ladies will try to sell you arts/crafts/lanterns, and eating in the centre of town will normally see you bothered 8-12 times per meal. Obviously many people don't mind this, and even enjoy it, but from our perspective, Kata Beach was simply too commercialised and touristy to merit another visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adamp_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kata Resort
The Kata Resort
#7 of 8 in Karon Beach
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#25 of 56 in Kata Beach
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa e Mare
Casa e Mare
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#42 of 56 in Kata Beach
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Minta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Minta

Property: Kata Minta
Address: 156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Minta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kata Minta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minta Hotel Kata
Kata Minta Hotel
Kata Minta Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing