We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Gurgaon, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing Value for Money”
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I stayed at the Sugar Palm Resort & Spa with 3 of my friends in June 2009. The room tariffs on offer were very reasonable - THB 1,200 per night inclusive of breakfast for a room (standard room on the 2nd Floor) with two beds. We could further negotiate a better price on the room.
The hotel is in close proximity to the Kata beach and offers excellent value for money. All rooms face the swimming pool and the rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the pool.
The location of the hotel is quite good and has several restaurants nearby. The only drawback is no direct access to the beach, but at such a great price, we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Spa inside the hotel is relatively pricey and there is no view of the beach from the rooms.
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anurag_Gaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    345
    128
    43
    37
See reviews for
125
314
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Excellent value room, just 800bt but room very clean, king size bed, large room with good size balcony in the center of town, only negative is the cost of transfer to the airport 850bt, apart from this i full recommend this hotel.
Note: There are no metered taxis in Kata, to get to Patong you will need to pay between 250-350bt each way to the exhorbitantly priced tuk tuk's or unmetered taxis, otherwise you can catch the local bus to Phuket town, then to Patong... long way to go to save a few baht though so minimize the number of times you have to go to Patong if staying in Kata!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in May for less than 1000 baht per night. Clean, large size rooms. Free internet, free parking, free breakfast. So for what I paid, very good value. The room I had was not quiet. I could hear furniture being moved in the room above mine and very strange (albiet loud) insects at various times. This wasn't that big of a deal for me, but I wouldn't have liked it if I was planning on spending a lot of time in the room. Breakfast included an egg station which was very good. I was out with friends who lived in Phuket so came and went at random hours and there is some negative element that is right outside the hotel. But I only encountered it once, and it was at 3 or 4 in the morning.

With the exception of checking in (which was efficient) to checking out (they ask you to wait while they check to make sure the mini bar is stocked), I didn't deal with anyone in the hotel so can't really comment on how good the staff is/was. The parking attendant was very friendly and helpful though.

If your travels lead you to want to stay in Kata, and are a budget conscious traveler, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I booked to stay in the Sugar Palm for 2 weeks as it offered a fantastic rate. We wanted to use it as a base so we could travel to Phi Phi etc without taking all of our luggage. This was possible because at £16 per night for a double room you will struggle to find better. It was approx 1 minute from the beach and with plenty of bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel it was perfect. We are regular travellers to Phuket and usually stay at the 5 star resorts in Bang Tao so we was a little scepticle about staying in a budget hotel such as this. However I need not have worried, although not the same standard it was clean and spacious with good service and in a great location. Most of all a BARGAIN.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

A little gem or not so little with rooms at 40sqm! As backpackers we were looking for somewhere cheap in Kata Beach and this was surprisingly the cheapest we could find at the time! With a deal of 3 nights for the price of 2, we were living in luxury for just 800bht a night (£16). This also seemed to include a full buffet breakfast which was rather tasty and was enough to fill our bellies till teatime!

The rooms were stunning...very modern light and airy. Each with a balcony overlooking the large swimming pool area.

Cable tv with plenty of channels to keep us happy when it was too hot outside!

Mini bar, wi-fi, a large bathroom with separate shower and a bath with sliding doors opening onto the bedroom, meaning you could enjoy bath-time and watch the telly at the same time! Brilliant!!!

You also get your own DVD player in the room and the hotel has a free DVD library for you to choose from. Not forgetting the free internet and wi-fi iff you bring your own laptop.

We ended up staying here for 2 weeks and would definitely return.

Great location, just 2 minute walk from the beach and right in the centre of town.

Perfect for couples, families....anyone really!!! Can't recommend it enough!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havemonkeywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Upon arrival we was instantly welcomed by a bell boy relieving us of our burdening luggages. From outside the hotel you already sense a contemporary and luxurious vibe and after entering you are greeted with the spa and swimming faulty, which was very inviting. To our luck, we got upgraded to the Deluxe pool view room and this room was huge, clean and modern. The room provided pretty much all the amenities you can possibly need from hair dryers to bathrobes. Internet access is available at the lobby and a decent & tasty variety of breakfast choice options is provided every morning.

The location of this hotel is directly opposite the beach...roughly a mins walk. It is also surround by varies bars and restaurants but karon seems slightly more livelier when we passed it on the bus. Speaking of which, you can travel to and from Phuket town via the local bus. Take the bus from an open market (cant remember the name but can be easily found on the internet) to hotel, it take about 30mins and costing at 30BHT per head, just let the driver know where you are getting off and they will drop you off outside. Remember the last bus from Phuket town ends daily @18.00 because some taxi will try and con you by saying its already ended when its only...17.00.

All in all, i felt for the price i paid and the quality i recieved, this hotel was outstanding and sincerely recommend it to anyone especially to couples!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walnut_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

I just returned from Phuket 24-28, will like to share my experience.

The negative point when I checked in the hotel said i need to pay for 1 pax bfast as I only pay for 2 twin sharing room ( i booked 2 twin room for 3 pax each from Agoda but only 5 of us travel). I dont know whose fault is this as the hotel keep us waiting for 15min but nevertheless they let us check in and upgrade our room to deluxe)

The taxi fare to Town or Patong is 400B one way. The food was rather expensive as it averages ard 150-200B per meal. I would suggest we go to 7-11 for cheaper meals.

Plus point
The hotel is clean, & the staff was ok. But the bad thing is that the swim pool is fully cover from sun. The swim pool comes with a jacuzzi & very clean. The hotel breakfast was good as it serves: - omelette, sausages, ham, spaghettis, fruit juices, bread and alot of other stuff.
The beach here is not too crowded as at in Patong and the water is clean as I could see my own feet when i m in 5 feet deep.

Overall, i will comeback for this hotel again as the price is really affordable and the benefits do overcome the negatives..

From Kay & Gerrard, Klang Malaysia

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#21 of 56 in Kata Beach
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
741 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing