We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok hotel near to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ok hotel near to beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reception staff and porter on arrival very good
Room clean- sheets clean- old pillows not nice- room looked very nice but once you started looking !!!
Small Ants and small spiders in bathroom and around the tea tray shelf ( Good job tthe friendly gecko was on hand to help with the clean up)
Bathroom - as clean as could be bearing in mind it was very tired as was the bedroom nice size room with a sofa bed free mini bar with a coke beer and carrot juice and two waters every day only they kept forgeting to put one or the other in and maybe it came later....
Breakfast was an event with mostly unhappy people working, every thing was an effort and we were in the way!! best bit was the sparrows helpining themselves to the pastries, ( as it is all open air) how off puting was that.
Security at the Sugar Palm is a most respectfull gent who salutes you and has a BIG smile all the time He was great

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gapyeartravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    340
    126
    41
    34
See reviews for
118
308
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having read some of the earlier reviews of this hotel I wonder if we are talking about the same place. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful at all times and our whole stay was very enjoyable. This hotel is well positioned being an easy stroll to Kata Beach and nearby to some great bars and restaurants and of course the ever present shops and massage parlours. They provide an excellent and varied buffet breakfast which is exclusive to hotel guests and appeals to many nationalities. The rooms are spacious and well-equipped and the bathroom is perfectly adequate. This is not pretending to be a 5 star luxury resort and does not advertise itself as such. We had a ground floor room which opened onto the pool so you could jump off your balcony into the pool and I would highly recommend this position as something unique & very enjoyable. Room service is available from a nearby restaurant which is also owned by the hotel and provides excellent food very promptly. We have stayed many times in Phuket and found the hotel to be as good as any in this price range.

Room Tip: Choose poolside balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Where do I even begin? Check in was atrocious, the woman had very poor English and seemed irritated that we had interrupted her day right from the get go. I had a printed sheet of paper with the hotels.com booking info all there, but she for some reason insisted I had to forward the actual email to her... I tried 10 times from my iPad using their crap wifi but it kept dropping out so I had to go to the hotel's dingy old computer area. After about 25 uncomfortable minutes we were finally checked in and escorted to our room.

Wow. The room was pretty large and it was quite stylish and modern but these superficial features didn't end up contributing much to our horrible experience. The bed is literally hard as rocks. My poor boy couldn't even sleep on it, it bruised his hips! He slept on the daybed/couch thing which was marginally more comfortable but tiny.

Next was room "service". We tried calling 3 times and each time the line rang out. Frustrated and hungry, we went down to the restaurant and tried ordering food from there. After being palmed off by 2 different staff members who could not speak English, we finally ordered from who I assume is the restaurant manager. When the food arrived it was pretty ordinary but it was also very cheap so whatever. This whole process repeated itself the next day only this time they also forgot half our order! This is probably our fault for attempting to access a nonexistent service a second time though. Oh and our plates sat in the hallway for over 24 hours too.

Then - the pool. Ew. It is old, tiles are coming off everywhere, and all kinds of debris and floaters inhabit the surface. We had a pool access room but I only got as far as putting my feet in - and even they came out covered in dirty specks of something gross :/

The bathroom was yuck too. The shower amounted to a drizzle of lukewarm water and nothing more.

I have never been so monumentally disappointed in a hotel before! Check my other reviews, we really aren't picky at all and rarely complain. This one was the most expensive we stayed in on our one month trip and it really was a gruelling experience. I was so excited prior to arriving too :( Complete and utter rip off I say. In fact, my whole perspective of Phuket itself has now changed and I doubt I'll ever be back to the area. Nice work, Sugar Palm.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brigitta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a spacious bedroom with a comfortable bed and fully operational a/c. Cleanliness is not the strongest point in the hotel, but it was still acceptable - even when freshly cleaned the linoleum floor looks pretty awful. The toiletries provided were nice but the towels rather grotty. The best points: good location at the southern end of Kata Beach and easy beach access, a rather charming pool area, excellent wifi and bits of pieces free in the mini bar. We also found the staff at reception helpful and friendly. With a bit of effort and investment could be better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saint_lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The pictures on their website do not resemble the actual room. The bathroom was filthy. Mold and lime scale could be seen in the tiles, faucets, shower curtain and wood trimmings. It was hard to feel clean even after taking a shower. The bedroom itself was very large and spacious. The beds were firmer than we liked but it was comfortable. As others have said the furniture needs a lot of updating. Maybe a good cleaning or refinishing would do the trick. The A/C worked fine during our stay which provided a welcome relief from the heat. The free WiFi was not fast but enough to do some light browsing.

The location was good. There are many restaurants, mini-marts (7-11), and reliable money changers within a short walk. And of course, the beach was just right down the street. We received a good deal on the room which included breakfast so we were not expecting stellar service or luxury. If I could do it all over again, I would look elsewhere and pay a little more to get a nicer room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

It is a very basic hotel. The rooms are big but not new. The bed is big, not soft, but clean. The washroom is old, towels grey instead of white. Location is perfect, two minutes far from Kata Beach, with a lot of shops nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I like the location as it's very convenient to most attraction at Kata, just a short walk to the beach, to seven eleven, restaurants etc. The room is very big. However, the hotel fittings are quite old and design are not as modern as most new hotels. The tiles and toilet bowl and shower and room decor looks old and not modern. Air condition need a longer time to cool the room as the room is big, about 10 mins. Staff are friendly but strict with hotel policies as they charge us extra for my son who is 13 for staying in the room. Some hotels would close an eye as he is only slightly above twelve but not for this hotel. The restaurant staff also constantly check to see if we have breakfast coupons. I feel that the staff are too worried and uptight, makes me feel a little uncomfortable. I did not enjoy the stay in Kata as I find the beach too crowded and the price of shopping and massage and food is higher then Patong. I enjoy Patong a lot better with more variety of shopping, massage and cheap and alot more delicious food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#40 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing