We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist Room Design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Minimalist Room Design”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights, Kata beach is a good location for those who prefer less hectic place. Close to Patong Beach around 20 mins driving. The hotel itself is hard to locate, you have to look for it very carefully as there are a lot of signage along the road. Look for Mali restaurant, it is just around the corner. I can say I really love the room, modern and stylish design. The staffs are very helpful and don't forget to tipped them

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasyraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    343
    127
    43
    36
See reviews for
124
312
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Booked for a night through Agoda. We were traveling from Patong and our taxi driver did not know the location of this hotel. Had to stop and ask the locals. Check in was efficient and a staff accompanied us to the room and showed us how to use the safebox. We messed it up and called the receptionist to get someone to fix it but they never came. Room was very spacious, had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The bathroom was complete with bathtub and shower. There was a sliding window next to the bathtub so you can watch tv while taking a bath. The hotel is within walking distance to Kata beach. There were massage parlour, tattoo parlour, cafe, travel agency, convenience store around the hotel. There was a pancake stall which makes the best thai pancakes just infront of the luxury hotel across the street. The only downside, by night the area would be dead. There wasn't much entertainment and you had to walk to Karon area for a little entertainment. However Kata Beach is mostly recommended for families and those seeking peace and relaxation so if you want rowdy nightlife, you should stay in Patong.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amaldalilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Location : not the most happening spot @ kata beach, but good enough.

The good :
- Friendly staff
- a mac mini and dvd player in the room,
- wifi

The not-so-good :
- wifi - Dont dream of streaming movies!
- washroom - not dirty, but could be cleaner
- washroom - where's my shaver?
- airport transfer - 1000baht, thats the 'standard' rate. (so get a cab yourself and bargain it down)
- pool access room (or generally all room) : some room is right in front of the lobby area.

complaint :
if you book this hotel online (3rd party website), probably you might want to double confirm with the hotel itself before you arrive. (we had some hiccups)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Small hotel centrally located just across the road from Kata Beach, on the southern end. Spacious rooms - enough for a king sized bed and more room for an extra bed or two. Bathroom could do with hooks and more space, though. Walking distance to lots of eateries, shopping, massage, tattoo and Kata Beach. Room was clean and pool was compact.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms opposite eateries as music could be distracting at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiPetalingJaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Given that there were three of us, friends from college, we didn't mind staying at any place so long as it offered us convenience and was not expensive. Sugar Palm serves that purpose being only a small walk away from the Kata Beach. However, and I cannot stress this enough, please do not even once think that this hotel will provide you with the heavenly comforts that one associates with a liesure holiday. It lacks at several basic amenities. The washroom isnt that clean - and there is a definite lack of style.
Anyhow, served our purpose.

Room Tip: Take a room next to the swimming pool of you can - it has a brilliant balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Great location,across the street from Kata beach. Nice swimming pool but not as nice as advertised. We didnt book the room through the hotel directly which might be a reason we were not treated well.Got a room above from their restaurant,didnt know it exist from their info or pictures but if you book superior room,cheapest, i guess this is what everyone gets. We were looking for a romantic gateway but got noisy cant get away room,noise from restaurant, tuk tuk cocktail,gist shops and massage places from dowstair! Room is run down and a bit dirty that you can see spider web and dust pretty obvious. In conclusion, everything is below the value of your money and way out of their advertised pictures!

Room Tip: you get what you pay for,hopefully,for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tewee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were met by reasonably friendly staff, only later I realised that the hotel employees just DREAD anyone who even remotely looks to them like a Russian. And you can see why: the numerous Russian guests of the place are noisy round the pool, sometimes until 3 am (and the whole hotel can't sleep, because it is like a box round the pool), rude and obnoxious. Hence the sometimes questionable attitude of the staff.

The pool view room is spacious, looks very nice and has a big balcony. The bathroom though apparently needs a major clean once in a while. Walls round the sink were in some brown muck, which I had to clean with my wet wipes not to feel sick, the glass screen between the room and the bathroom was filthy in greasy hand prints, shower head had loads of limescale.

Breakfast was ok, but not really diverse, but I wouldn't use the horrible epithets that other people used. Fresh fruit, fresh eggs, fresh pastry - it was acceptable.

The big downside of our stay is that we both got really horribly sick, and I ended up in the hospital, and the doctors said that very probably we got a nasty infection from the poorly maintained dirty central air conditioning system. I think it is very likely too. Hence the mixed feelings after our stay in Sugar Palm.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bi-hottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#43 of 56 in Kata Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing