We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here & not the last!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Sugar Palm is a 2 minute walk (and I mean only 2 minutes) to the lovely Kata Beach. I have stayed at the Kata Beach Resort & Spa 3 times before which is right on the beach but it is a large resort whereas Sugar Palm is smaller, more a boutique hotel & very modern and just as easy to access Kata Beach so I have stayed here the last 2 times whilst in Phuket. The staff are very friendly and have an efficient check in/chech out. The rooms are well cleaned & are very modern, have all the amenities you need, particularly for the price. There is free internet, breakfast can be included in the price and is everything you would expect. The location of the hotel is brilliant with massage shops & markets & restaurants right outside. It is a short ride by taxi (15 mins) to Patong if you want to shop/go out for the night however there are some bars in Kata should you want to stay put. The beds are very comfortable and large. The aircon works well and is easily adjustable. I cannot fault it, I will be back.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are lovely- recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanuk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 824 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here for one night after 10 days in Patong - and we're so glad we only booked one nite!
The initial service at check-in was rude, obviously not a great start to our stay.
We went to our room, only to find it was completely infested by mosquitos. The rest of the room was not much better - the bed was rock hard, the bathroom was dirty and there were food stains on the bedside tables!
We went downstairs to the pool to escape, but were overcome by the strange smell of the water. The pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned, and to top it off, the pool shower was surrounded by wasps.
The only good thing about this hotel was the location - it is 5 minutes walk from the beautiful Kata beach, but I would rather walk further than ever stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Just been back from my trip in Phuket, had a great stay at the hotel. They know how to do it.
Nearby a lot of shopping and great restaurants. Best Italian.: Capanina, great food and price worth. Shopping at kata: bought some T shirts for my boyfriend and some tailored suits for my self. Been to many shops but ended at Amorn'sTailors. They were friendly and knew what to do.
Visit the big Buddha for a spectacular view of the island.. and end the evening with a sundowner at Bella Vista
Would recommend this hotel to you all!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here in May and it was our second time-we enjoyed the location and friendly staff not to mention the large,clean rooms so much that we did not want to bother staying anywhere else.
The location is fantastic just minutes to beautiful Kata Beach-all restaurants and shops are moments away.
The reception staff are always helpful and happy and nothing is too much of a bother.
Beach towels are provided daily. They have some nice touches like shampoo,conditioner and body wash provided along with bathrobes. There is a safe in all rooms and a balcony to sit outside.The pool though not large is always clean.
We could not find any negatives and reading through other reviews the negatives they have left we considered petty.Great value,great hotel and great staff-what more could you wish for?We didnt bother with breakfast in the hotel as there are some great eateries everywhere for breakfast or brunch.In our books this hotel ticks all the right boxes.Enjoy your stay just as we did.

Room Tip: We booked out accomodation through bookings.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watersfamily2261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

As my title suggests the location of this hotel is really the benefit of staying here, you're a minute from the beach and even closer to the main beach road and it's restaurants, and shops if knock off designer goods is your thing. When we were greeted on arrival the main porter was a really friendly guy, the reception staff less so but they understood English as well as any other hotel I've stayed in in Thailand.

The room was pretty standard layout for a Phuket hotel, slightly more modern design and they have reliable wi-fi interent although on reflection I think I preferred being out of contact with the rest of the world on holiday! The room could be cleaner, most worryingly the water in the bathroom usually started off fairly brown in colour. The bed was though extremely comfortable. The pool water was equally unsettling, did seem to have a film on top of it but we only used it on the morning of departure, when you're so close to the beach you don't need to.

There is a buffet breakfast included but of the 4 hotels I've now stayed in in Thailand it was the worst of the lot, we ended up not using it as most of it has the look and texture of having been out for about 3 days.

If you want somewhere standard where you will get a decent night's sleep then this is the place. If you fancy splurging out one night check out the boathouse restaurant, very expensive by Thai standards but very much worth it, the Two Chefs in Kata also does good food and Ricos is also really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

If you aren't after all the loud noise away from Patong then Kata beach is a great spot to do that. The Sugar Palm resort is located close to the beach, nestled away a small soi with plenty of restaurants, bars (and a cheap cocktail cart right out the front!), and shops nearby. The hotel itself is clean, mostly well appointed though there isn't much a fitness centre.

The bathroom is separated from the main room by some frosted glass which seemed top open up so may be great for couples though not really of much use to families/friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

booked one of the rooms next to the pool (we could literally hop into the pool from our room) but soon realized that we lose some privacy if we dont intend to draw some curtain.

lighting in the room wasnt fantastic thus we had to leave the curtain open.

the room is decent, generally clean and comfy, quite cozy too.

the receptionist is quite nice & friendly but not too sure about the staff serving breakfast.
breakfast variety is limited and not too clean (lots of housefliles)

the location of the hotel is good, quite near to the beach (walking distance). however, we didnt have an easy time trying to get some inexpensive food especially our favourite thai noodle.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daffodilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#26 of 55 in Kata Beach
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#43 of 55 in Kata Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $39 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing