We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of Phuket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boomerang Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boomerang Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gem of Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The only problem with our stay was, that it was too short! Stayed 4 nights in a garden suite room, beautiful view from the balcony! The setting is perfect, the garden and pool area are captivating! You just don't feel like leaving the hotel. The staff is friendly and the food in the restaurant is great! Rooms are made up daily and we really like the measurments the hotel does to be eco-friendly. It is not on the beach but the hotel does offer shuttle. Walked down to Kata and Karon and it is not that far at all. Yes, there is a steep hill that leads to the hotel entrance, which our son managed easily running up. It is not so hard to climb especially there are steps with ponds on the side of the road. Personally, we prefer stay in a more quiet environment, away from the beach but within a decent walking distance and this hotel is perfect for that. What else can I say? Just like a boomerang, we will be back!

Room Tip: If you'd like a beach view, choose room 121. It is a garden suite with plenty of extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazsolaestade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we are extremely delighted to know that we met your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about the resort, room and facilities will motivate us in delivering services to our best.

We thank you for sharing your feedback with all and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort!

Warm regards from the entire BVR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    218
    51
    18
    6
See reviews for
147
530
37
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What you need to understand about this resort is that if you look on a map, it's probably farther from the beach and restaurants than any other resort in the kata beach area. If you're travelling with children, note that you will have to cross a busy road with no crosswalks to get to town. They have a shuttle back and forth from the beach but not to town to eat dinner so unless you plan on eating at the resort restaurant your entire stay, you will want to take yourself into town at some point. It can be somewhat stressful for parents.

This hill is steep but it's not that bad. It's probably 40 meters long but only 5 meters of really steep climbing. I wonder if people who complain about it are mostly overweight or old. I just can't see how a reasonably fit person would have a problem with the hill.

The food in the restaurant was good but it was a ghost town when we visited. We would frequently be the only people in the restaurant when we would eat a meal there. It would take quite a long time for our food to be prepared considering we were the only customers that required service.

We were happy with the room but found the decor rather gaudy. Also, the electricity went out for an extended period of time while we were there. The hotel manager claimed it was area-wide but this was clearly not the case since we could easily see lights on at the houses next door.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dr0pkick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor.
Location – Our resort located on the hill , peace and quiet which 950 meter from kata Beach as mention in the website so we provide free shuttle to the beach for our customer and pick up at appointment time for your convenience .

Your recommended will be forward to our team to improve for better service.
Warm regards from the entire BVR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed at Boomerang for several nights back in April. The resort is very beautiful with gorgeous flowers and cute villas. The breakfast option was great and the food was delicious. We stayed in a Garden Suite room, which I believe is suppose to have a less traditional style. However, we found the room decor to be a bit uninviting but it was clean and well-kept. The hotel staff were all very friendly, however we did find it hard to communicate with a couple of the front desk girls. The airport transportation for 700B that the resort offers is an easy option as the cabs at the airport were charging 900B and were very unpleasant to deal with when trying to negotiate a cheaper rate.

The one big downside for us, was that the hill leading up to the resort is quite steep. The shuttle we took from the airport refused to drive up to the resort. We are in our early 30's and in relatively good shape (we just completed a 10k run a few weeks ago) and we did not enjoy having to walk up the steep hill every night when returning to the resort. It is also a good 10 - 15 minute walk to the heart of Kata beach where all the restaurants are. When walking back at night, the area is also a bit dark and sketchy.

Overall, it is a very pretty resort with excellent rates. Perfect for those looking for a small and quiet resort..... and who do not mind the distance from the main Kata strip and the steep hill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor.

We are sorry for your inconvenience about our receptionist we will improve it.
For the taxi price is fixed, Because it’s outside taxi so they refuse to drop you at the hotel if taxi in our hotel
there will be no problem about that, About the steep hill and nowhere to beach , our resort is on the hill we also have free transfer to the beach and return to the resort in our service time.

Warm regards from the entire BVR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The Boomerang Village was perfect! We stayed two weeks and the staff, food and accommodation couldn't have been nicer. It's located just up the hill from the beach, which makes Boomerang a great peaceful retreat. I hired a scooter for the two weeks direct from Boomerang £5 per day and £1.30 to fill the tank. It gave me and my Girlfriend the ability to explore Phuket's coastline (paradise). We're going back as soon as possible!!

THANKS BOOMERANG

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday and thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay here, and would like to sincerely thank you for all the compliments towards our resort facilities and staff.

We do hope you will return, and we look forward to being the opportunity to welcome you again to our resort.

Warm regards from the entire BVR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
496 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our only regret was that we could only stay one night (Jet Star Asia had messed up our travel arrangements BIG time). The Resort is absolutely stunning. Set well back from the main road and up a short but very steep hill the view, grounds, pool and accommodation was superb. The accommodation is bungalow/chalet style set amongst trees, flora and fauna, running water and at night suble lighting. Orchid blooms were placed on the bed, towels and in the bathroom.

The Italian Manager has been there for 14 years and made us most welcome (as we had to check out before breakfast he prepared a fruit platter, breads, cake etc to go - which was much appreciated). Lunch in the restaurant was very good and we also found time for a massage which we had in our room.

The beach is a good 20 minute walk away and Patong 20 minutes by tuk tuk or taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we are extremely delighted to know that we met your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about the hotel facilities will motivate us in delivering services to our best.

We are delighted you had a happy stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future to our resort.

Warm regards from the entire BVR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Would have gladly walked up a hill twice as steep to get to this hotel. Once here, I felt figuratively miles away from the frontline (as another reviewer so aptly put it) of Kata Beach. The lush vegetation and abundant sounds of running water and chirping insects certainly contributed to this effect. My superior room bungalow was nestled amongst tropical gardens on all sides; the plants almost like cladding to the buiilding. Large, sliding tinted glass windows and doors assured privacy and the full benefit of the garden view. All the staff I encountered without exception were unfailingly polite - never short of a gracious thankyou madame or in a couple of cases which tickled my humour, thankyou your sir! I ate from the room service menu every night without being tempted further afield. Yum to the specially prepared fried tofu and cashews.The restaurant is quite romantic and I only gave it a wide berth becuase I was travelling without my husband. Theres even a full wine list, though pricey as you'd expect. Highly recommend the massage service -therapists travel to the hotel on request where you can have a treatment in the privacy of your room. Tip: ask for 'Tuk' (as in Tuk Tuk the vehicle) - she is a great therapist. Other pluses: free internet kiosk; decent buffet breakfast included in my $55 night (AUD) price tag and spotless pool. Gripes? absolutely none. Anything that could improve slightly? Earlier pool opening time (it opens at 9) and the addition of a lobby area or larger lounge with a few more ambient touches and perhaps more seating scattered around the grounds. I can certainly see how this hotel attracts a loyal following. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaHWithoutAnAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay here, and would like to sincerely thank you for all the compliments towards our resort facilities and staff. For your suggest we hope that we will have a change to welcome you back.

We do hope you will return, and we look forward to being the opportunity to welcome you again to our resort. Thank you!

Warm regards from the entire BVR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Like most have wrote it's a steep road to the resort. If you're walking it everyday it will be a bit much but given it's location it's unlikely you'll be walking it daily. It's a bit far (but doable) to walk to the beach and local bars and restaurants. While we didn't use it I think the resort offers free daily shuttles to the beach, from there you can use the bus system or tuk tuks.

We rented a bike which I don't recommend without experience. The resort has someone who handles bike rentals and our bike was delivered and picked up for us. Given the steep hills around Phuket we went with a bigger bike but a regular 135cc scooter should be fine. With the freedom of a bike the resort location is great. Kata and Karon beaches are minutes away and Patong and the southern beaches are 20 minutes away.

Our room was clean, the staff was very well trained, helpful and polite. We often didn't leave our room until late afternoon and it was always clean when we returned. The grounds were especially impressive, a lot of effort is put into keeping the resort aesthetically pleasing. The room had nice touches such as two umbrellas, mosquito coil, candles and matches. Pretty minor stuff but I think it says a lot when they do stuff like that.

The breakfast buffet is good and an excellent bargain. For longer stays it's a bit much to expect that you'll want to eat there every day or in my case be up by 11am.

In terms of value you simple can't beat this resort.

Once small note. A bit more attention should be paid to room interiors. I do not expect a resort at this price point to cosmetically perfect, but I did think there were some things that should be addressed like stained light/socket covers and tile edgings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!
Greetings from Boomerang Village Resort

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we are extremely delighted to know that we met your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about the hotel facilities will motivate us in delivering services to our best.

We are delighted you had a happy stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future to our resort.

Warm regards from the entire BVR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nook Dee Kata Beach Resort
Nook Dee Kata Beach Resort
#6 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#9 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
4.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.7 mi away
Metadee Resort and Villas
Metadee Resort and Villas
#11 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boomerang Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Village Resort

Property: Boomerang Village Resort
Address: Patak Soi 10 | Mueang Phuket District, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boomerang Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket. Surrounded by greenery and colorful environment characteristic of the island of Phuket, an oasis proper. Virtually dipped in the nature of a tropical garden. The property boasts panoramic views of Kata and is located approximately 80 metres above sea level, is situated about 950 meters from the lovely Kata Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Boomerang Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomerang Village Hotel Kata Beach
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing