We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel above Kata beach”
Review of The Aspasia Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Aspasia Phuket
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“superb hotel above Kata beach”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights in a wonderful grand ocean suite overlooking the sea. The suite is huge at 145 sq.Mrs.
Mike Inman the manager has a great team who all try their best to make your stay as memorable as possible. Nothing is too much trouble. The pool guy is simply the best; you go in one of the two pools and he is there straightening out your towel before you get back with a big smile on his face.
The breakfast will suit all types of choice, with a very wide range available to choose from. Room
service food is excellent.
It would be our choice of hotel to stay again if we return to Phuket.

Room Tip: The hotel is at the top of a steep hill. Get a tuktuk to run you back to the hotel;50-100 baht depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    122
    35
    13
    16
See reviews for
47
155
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Aspasia in a Two Bedroom Grand Garden Suite. The rooms were oversized and clean. There was a beautiful view of the pool area, roof top garden, and of course, the ocean. It was wonderful waking up to the view every morning and watching the sunset in the evening. The breakfast was awesome with a nice selection of fresh, delicious fruits and a kitchen that would make items fresh to order. The pool side drink and dinner service was enjoyable and relaxing if you don't want to venture out into town. Bursiri at the front desk was very helpful in fixing several billing items and in helping us to arrange local tours and transportation.

We had pre-ordered to have a cot/rollaway bed in the room, which I was told they could do for a reasonable fee (which included breakfast). We arrived very late at night to find a baby crib in the room. We had some difficulty explaining that we needed an adult sized bed. When one finally came, it was a single sized mattress on the floor. As we later found at other hotels in Thailand, apparently this is the standard custom when ordering a cot. We managed.

Yes, there is a steep hill up to the hotel, which we did not mind climbing. It allowed us some exercize each day. It was especially worth the climb in order to have the great views from our room. It is a short walk to Kata Beach, either by way of the hotel path ( a bit wet and not recommended to us by the hotel staff for night use) or by way down the hill through town.

As to those complaining about the TV service, who goes to Phuket to watch TV anyway. We did not use the TV as we were too busy enjoying the beach, sightseeing in the surrounding area, and the pool. Also, I see some complaints here about the firm mattresses. Yes, they are firmer than what we were used to, but were more comfortable and larger than several other mattresses in other hotels we stayed at in Thailand.

Be sure to review room charges and get any questionable items clarified or corrected prior to checking out. Overall, we had a great visit and would return to the Aspasia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Aspasia in Kata Beach and we cannot fault the hotel. We ended up spending a lot of time at the pool with the occasional trip to the beach - using the hotel's access.
Our friends got a room at the new wing which looks stunning!

...and all rooms we saw are gigantic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ageitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel has large nicely appointed rooms and an always helpful staff. We have stayed there three times now and keep coming back. Food is excellent in the restaraunt and it is a close walk to Kata and Karon beaches. Also walking distance to other bars and eating places in Kata / Karon area (or a short Tuk Tuk ride). Aspasia sits on a hillside giving stunning views to the sea. Hotel will gladly arrange any adventures you want in the Phuket area.

Room Tip: Have stayed in three different rooms and all have been excellent and have had sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived early, so expected to wait for our room and were told 30 minutes, and given a welcome drink. The lobby overlooks the sea and is nice but does not have air-con and we waited almost one and a half hours with no update at all and no offers of refreshment. When we got to the room there were several technical faults, such as paint peeling off the walls and loose electrical sockets. The promised fresh fruit bowl wasn't there and took 40 minutes to organise - then came without any utensils for peeling or cutting the fruit - so was mostly left uneaten. The noise coming from the adjoining room through the huge connecting doors was unbearable - we could hear every word spoken - and the TV sound also. After asking for another room we were told we would have to pay more (as it would be a better room) and no other rooms were available - then later were told a room was available but still had connecting doors (but no kids next door). We moved to this room and found no wi-fi, only cable internet (no cable in the room). The huge shower was decorated with stone pebbles but had worked loose with the water and I cut my foot on the loose cement where there were missing pebbles. The operating handle for the shower was broken and had been 'repaired' using a household screw. Housekeeping made up the bed but did not replenish the toiletries or the tea/coffee and even left the dirty tea cups where they were. bottled beer is in the minibar - but there was no bottle opener !
Good Points: Nice location, huge rooms, great breakfast, nice pools,
Bad points: Very steep hill to reach hotel, Reception staff not customer focused, room maintenance poor, housekeeping poor, huge connecting double doors to next room allow all noise to travel through. TV in room is dated Huge CRT TV. No wi-fi in room

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room without connecting doors - although reception told me every room has them, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10thDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived at this hotel expecting something mediokre as there were some average reviews. We were on a budget. After arriving from a late flight we were suprised to be arriving at such a lovely resort. The staff were very welcoming and escorted us to our spacious room. Air conditioning, large bed, clean shower and dimmable lights provided a romantic setting. While the flat screen tv allowed me to charge my iPhone without an adaptor. (Winning)

Tip: Arrange an airport transfer as drivers can be dodgy from the airport. (This hotel arranged one for us.)

Waking up to an ocean view on the balcony, devouring a buffet breakfast, and sipping poolside cocktails in the pool definitley helped us sleep well - but who needs sleep when there is the beautiful Kata Beach, great shops and local bars just around the corner.

Tip: Put your valuables in the safe before heading out to the bars as the girls can get a bit grabby. 2000 Baht will surely get you drunk.

We stayed 2 nights and had a great time. There is a steep 5 minute walk to get to the local village with shops, bars and beaches. The beach path from the resort was messy and un-maintained, but we ventured through it anyway, which was fun. We love that this resort is by the beach, and surrounded by a volumptuous jungle. The staff are local, friendly and don't speak english very well. It really added to the culture/experience of Phuket.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms set the mood in the morning, if you know what I mean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The apartment we were given was very nice and large with good modern decor. We also had a fabulous view down to the sea. There was a very strong smell throughout the apartment though. I'm not sure what this was but it might have been something to keep the insects out. It was quite overpowering and I woke up several times in the night and noticed it. The pool area was lovely and the staff were pleasant. Our room was not cleaned on the first day but it was done after that. Breakfast was excellent. The only real sour note was when we checked out and were charged £11 for a broken wine glass. Stiff by british standards and ridiculous in Thailand. We were also surprised by our £60 mini bar bill. We had only had soft drinks and snacks so this seemed pretty steep for 4 nights but it was not itemised. I would advise that you keep your own ditty and then take it when you check out. Kata beach was lovely and very close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrauH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
Peach Blossom Resort
Peach Blossom Resort
#67 of 134 in Karon
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malisa Villa Suites
Malisa Villa Suites
#37 of 56 in Kata Beach
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aspasia Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aspasia Phuket

Property: The Aspasia Phuket
Address: 1/3 Laem Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aspasia Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently created in the south of the island of Phuket, The Aspasia is a stylish boutique resort reflecting an unusual retro-deco design with hints of Mayan style architecture. The muted yellow and green hues of the buildings blend exotically with the colours of the lush forest that sweeps down to Kata Beach. Each secluded apartment has stunning sea views, and guests only have a two minute walk to the white, sandy beach below.With the accent firmly lying on tranquility, comfort and contemporary style, The Aspasia Phuket offers a choice of superior accommodation and facilities that includes restaurant, a wine and cigar shop, two swimming pools, a gymnasium, business centre, meeting room, high-speed wireless Internet access and spa. Original paintings and antiques are displayed in the spa, restaurant and lobby, complementing the style of decor. There is easy access between the twelve buildings and facilities forming the resort. The property is set amongst beautifully landscaped gardens, filled with colourful tropical planting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aspasia Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aspasia Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Aspasia Phuket Kata
Aspasia Phuket Hotel Kata
The Aspasia Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing