We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Katathani Phuket Beach Resort "Absolutely superb"
Date: June 6, 2006
Reviewer: Vadim & Anja : Antwerp - Belgium

We spent our honeymoon at Katathani. We could not have wished for something more romantic! It was absolutely lovely. The people were really friendly. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The restaurants were outstanding. We tried all restaurants at the hotel. We especially recommend "La Scala" and the Thai restaurant.
We really loved our stay and we are going back to Katathani in March 2008!!!

  • Liked — food & room
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadimAnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    1,212
    369
    141
    98
See reviews for
1,299
1,858
67
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Katathani Resort in a Ocean View Junior Suite for our 2nd Honeymoon in June 2007.

I would highly recommend this resort to travellers if you are looking to be away from all the hussell and bussell of Patong.

This resort is everything you look for in a 4 star hotel and only 5 minutes Tuk Tuk ride into the town of Kata, which provides you with a huge assortment of restaurant, bars and shopping.

As the title emplies, this resort has a group of women who work by the pools and offer Massage treatments daily. Do yourself a favour and treat yourself daily - they are awesome, and make you feet feel like heaven - a great way to melt away any built up stress and tension.

The hotel restaurants are ok, but you would be best take yourself over the the beautiful seafood restaurant directly opposite the resort as you get much nicer, more traditional thai food for a quarter of the cost and with a lovely atmostphere. We ate there 3 nights out of our 7 nights in Phuket.

We very much enjoyed our 7nights stay at the Katathani and would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Liked — The Location due to it having it's own private beach - excellent pools with ocean views.
  • Disliked — Hotel Restaurant food was a bit pland, not very Thai and very over priced...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dream Time Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We spent 7 days at the Katathani commencing 29 June 2007. My husband and I travelled with our children aged 20 and 18. We wanted a peaceful holiday in the heat away from the dismal NZ winter.
We booked 2 junior suites and they were lovely. They had beautiful views of the sea through the palms and were very quiet.
We found the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were exceptional. We noticed many families with young children at breakfast. The children were very well behaved.
The grounds are large with many pools. We don't know where the children went but it was very peaceful lying by the pool.We had no problem getting a lounger and the staff said that they move towels left on loungers after two hours if not used.
We went on a Sea Canoe trip to Phang Nga and an elephant ride which were both excellent.
We ate mainly at the hotel as it was convenient and quiet, with most guests going outside the hotel to dine.
It was easy to get a tuk tuk to Kata, Karon or Patong. Taxis were everywhere and cheap. There is a Mini Mart over the road for groceries etc. There is a surgery with a nurse on duty in the event of illness or injury. We needed sunburn cream!!
We visited in the wet season and had no rain, not even a drop. The weather was perfect, but best of all it was quiet down at our end of the island.
We would go back to the Katathani. It is on the beach and there are not many hotels in Phuket in such a good , quiet spot.

  • Liked — It was on the beach , quiet with great views from rooms
  • Disliked — Building lacked architectural flare. Gardens were good but could have been great
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank coatesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We stayed at the katathani from 16th June for 17 nights. We stayed in a Grand Suite. When we arrived after a 25 hour journey, we were really impressed by the size and cleaniness of our room. The resort was very clean and all staff were very pleasant.

We also liked the choice's for breakfast. Dinner at the Katathani was expensive however the meals were nice enough. I was dissapointed with the choice for lunch and the cost of lunch.

The two restaurants outside the hotel were terrible. Foods was cheap but the quality was awful. Best choice of restaurants was in Patong. However, the Kata Central also had a few nice restaurants that were also cheap and cheerful.

Previously we have stayed at Le meridien just outside Patong. I would say that Le merdien was a slightly better hotel however, I really loved our stay at Katathani and I would love to go back again in the future.

I travelled with my husband and 2 half year old daughter and both of them also had an excellent holiday.

  • Liked — Grand Suite
  • Disliked — lunch and cost of food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We recently stayed at the Katahani for 3 nights - we were meeting friends who were staying there. I booked the accommodation trhough their website which was fantatsic - we had no issues and got a great deal. We stayed in a grand suite (spa package) and the room was fantatsic - we loved it. We overlooked the beach in the Thani wing and the room had a huge bath and shower (outdoor style). We had our 2 year old with us and there was heaps of room for all of us (even her cot). There was a couch and a king size bed.

The pool surrounds were amazing, my husband couldn't believe how beautiful the gardens and pool surrounds were and although it was too rough for us to swim in the beach, it did look fabulous. As others have explained, there are 2 resort areas which make up the Katathani. The Thani wings are older style and right on the beach - it has the main grounds, pools, spa, restaurants etc. The Bhuri wing is about a 5 min walk away down the road (beach is over the road - 2 min walk). Our friends stayed here. It is a much newer complex surounding a restaurant and really great pool / kids pool. Actaully the kids pool there was brilliant (has little fountains and great shade), our kids loved it. Our friends room was much smaller than ours - quite compact with a 2 year old as well, but still nice & modern. All rooms seem to overlook the pool area.

We thought the hotel was great overall and would stay here again. It is very relaxed and peaceful. The staff probably aren't as attentive as some of the big 5 star resorts, but this didn't worry us. Kata Noi is the last beach on the coast from Pating and we thought it was great. The road between the 2 buildings has 2 mini-marts where you can get supplies (including milk, juice, creackers, toiletries for the little ones), laundry facilities, 2 really good local restuarants and some little shops selling t-shirts, pool toys, hats etc. It is the perfect location for relaxing and being away from the craziness of Patong. A tuk tuk is easy to get and costs about 350THB (about A$12 each way into Patong). We actually hired a car for the day (900THB or approx A$30 + petrol) and drove around the island. You can also hire scooters etc (as our friends did).

We would definately recommend the Katathani in a Grand suite (spa pacakge was good too - the day spa is wonderful and reasonable as well).

  • Liked — relaxed atmosphere, room, surrounds, beach
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DKBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We stayed in the Bhuri wing of the complex. On arrival I was a little dissapointed at the size of the room, I thought it would be a bit bigger, nothing grand just a bit bigger (i.e same size as the Thani wings), I thought the room was a bit tired but understand they are currently renovating this wing.

The pool and gardens were great (clean + tidy), it was quiet during the day and plenty of sunloungers for all.

Had a few massages by the ladies in the gardens, I thought they were ok, but the other half wasn't impressed at all.It was 300bht for 50/55 min massage and the same for foot massage/scrap/pedicure/manicure. I had a pedicure at one of the two salons down the road, 200bht but I wouldn't go back or recommend it. There are two restaurants at Kata Noi, both okay and both similar.

There isn't much in Kata Noi and a tuktuk/taxi was 100 to Kata (over the hill) 150 to Kata Central and 350 to Patong. There is no room for bargaining..I tried more than once! Some drivers will try and charge you more if there is a group of you which is ridiculous - they don't charge less if there is one person.

Breakfast was good - a huge variety and you can eat at either restaurant. We went to Cinnamon restaurant for dinner one evg but was overpriced and average. The drinks are also over priced so the evenings were very quiet, sometimes there was no one at the Beach club bar which looks great and a fab location.

Overall it was an ok place but wouldn't rush back to both Phuket and Katathani.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Rooms a bit tired and small
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank runningrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

This is a very nice hotel but there are much better for this kind of money in Thailand. This hotel is too big for my taste it has no sole and is very impersonal. This Resort could be a hotel in USA or Spain it has no thai or Asia –feel to it. The staff’s so nice but the hotel is to big so no one recognise you.
The breakfast restaurant has, like another reviewer said, a hangar feel to it. No Linen cloth or napkins, just a printed-paper like McDonalds. The restaurant is huge and has no charm at all, You just don’t feel it is a five star hotel in Thailand.

We (two adults and two small children) stayed in a junior Suite on the second floor and the room was really great. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom was great and no smell at all. We could se the sunset from the balcony between the palm trees.

I think the best ocean view must be from the first floor (not the ground floor but one stair up.) But the second floor was great to. I agree with other reviewers that the ground floor is not so nice because everyone can look right in you room and on the balcony from the pool and garden area, you get no privacy there.

All the pool areas are really nice with nice views over the ocean. I Love the ocean and don’t like to swim in the too warm and kind of dirty (many kids pee in the pools, it´s just a fact…) so it´s nice that the beach is just right by the pool so the children can swim in the pool witch they prefer and I can take a dip in the ocean, but if you like to swim around with small children and build sandcastles on the beach, this is not the beach for you – The waves is huge and current very strong and it´s to dangerous for small children to swim in it. - Teenage kids would probably love too surf on these waves.
Kata Noi is a great beach, not too many people and it’s just a 3 min tuk tuk ride away from shopping and restaurants in Kata. If you want a nice spot in a sun bed by the pool or in the garden be up early and place your towel there because after breakfast every good place is taken!

I think this hotel is more for elderly people; it has handicap ramps all over the place so it is probably good if you are disabled too. Its comfortable, but lacks charm and intimacy. I would never go here on a honeymoon. Will I go back? Probably not!

  • Liked — Comfort, the bed, Location, clean room
  • Disliked — No charm, nothing special (design or atmosphere)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank H68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing