We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Katathani - on the Shores of Serenity - beautiful !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2009

The Big Buddha is on the hill behind the Katathani, and what a beautiful resort. From the moment you arrive at reception to the time you say goodbye to the men in blue on the street you wil love every moment at this resort.

We stayed in the Bhuri wing in a fantastic room overlooking the Bhuri Pool and the ocean. Spacious, clean and ambient.

Kata Noi beach is THE best and cleanest sandy beach on the island of Phuket. We travelled Phuket from Surin in the north to Ao Sane in the south, and nothing competes with this beach.

ALL of the staff are so friendly - reception, room attendants, gardeners, security, waiters, chefs - all are so warm and friendly.

The location is perfect. A choice of 4 restaurants at the resort or Mon Tri and the award winning Boathouse within walking distance. Or if you prefer local Thai seafood and curry it's just down the road or over the hill at Kata.

Being away from Patong is great. It's only 12 kilometres if you want to go there, but the shopping/dining/nitelife in Kata and Karon is just as good.

There are plenty of taxis and Tuk Tuks, or if you prefer a moped is an easy way to get around.

This is one resort we were very sad to leave and will definitely be back. Thank you Katathani for a fantastic Phuket experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aus_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,621 - 2,627 of 4,243 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2009

Stayed in the ocean facing junior suite on the 3rd floor with a beutifal view across the ocean.Found the hotel to be very clean at all times and the staff couldn't do enough for you, our next door neighbours had been coming back to this resort for twenty years which i think says it all.
The resort itself is self contained with a few local resteraunts just over the road and bars and more resteraunts a small walk (about 10 minutes,but up a quite steep hill)or short taxi or tuk tuk ride. We ate at the various hotel resteraunts and would strongly reccomend as the food and sevice was top class.
It has been the only holiday to date were my wife and i were more than happy to stay around the complex all day just relaxing and enjoying the experiance,ie lazing by the various pools ,having a massage or eating our lunch looking out over the sea and you dont even have to move as the staff are allways there with a smiling face to cater to your needs.
We are allready in the process of booking next years visit ,once again would highly recommend +++++

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank russty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is what you are looking for! A beautiful hotel with a secluded beach and an exclusive feel - book a beach front room (Thani Wing) as these are undoubtedly the best. What I really liked about this resort was the private feel of the loacation - it's on Kata Noi beach which is virtually exclusive to the Katathani hotel and therefore very tranquil. The other nearby resorts of Kata Beach and Patong are easily accessible but as expected they are overdeveloped and where the party scene is at (think night clubs, ladyboys etc). If you're looking for that 'paradise' feel, book into this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ricardo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in an Ocean front junior suite. The room was very clean, with a small living room complete with dining table, two chairs and a day bed. Rather small for a "junior suite" but spacious. Loved the way they fold towels to resemble elephants etc. There were also a pair of chairs on the balcony overlooking the beach. The furniture looked very cheap but was functional. At least there was an LCD TV. The minibar was a bargain, not the best selection of drinks but a respectable markup means that a can of coke is only US$1.20. There was no evian you do get comp bottles of strange tasting mineral water.

Beds were comfy and they have a bedding menu that allows you to change your mattress/pillows. The room also came with a decent sized safe, slippers and rubber thongs that were way too small. Glass windows for the bathroom mean you can soak in your tub with views of the ocean. Oddly, the blinds for the bathroom are controlled from the outside. There are several pools, a small gym and a games room with a 3/4 snooker, table tennis and foos ball table. There's also a couple of Playstations for the kids. The hotel fronts a nice albeit public beach, hence you have to rent the beach chairs.

The Spa was great, expensive by local standards but very reasonable as hotel spas go and wonderful treatments and massages. The breakfast was decent, large variety but nothing special. Being charged for a cappuccino at brekkie is ridiculous. Fisherman's Wharf has stunning views and a great guitar duet in the evenings, but the food wasnt as good as their Thai restaurant, which was rather small but the food was fantastic. Reasonably priced too, by tourist standards. The wine list however is where they make their money, US$280 for a bottle of Moet NV is rather amusing.

There were a few small issues; the air con dripped water and wasnt very cold, there were cobwebs in the bathroom, the water pressure was extremely poor and the toiletries came in tiny bottles and there was no shower gel.

Despite being beachfront, the location is far from ideal, it is a fair distance from the city centre (30 mins to town and the marina) and the other beaches/attractions. There's a convenience store across the road and an internet cafe as well (rather than fork out 500 baht per day). Every second shop does laundry by the kilo. Although there are shops/restaurants around the area these are somewhat limited. Getting over the infamous hill is a 10 min climb or a 150 baht taxi/tuktuk ride, which is absolutely ridiculous for half a mile. There are actually stairs at the right side of the beach/resort which saves you from hiking up the hill. The resort should provide a shuttle but I suspect that would upset the tuk tuk mafia. Given the cost of everything else and especially taxis in Bangkok it is ridiculously priced. Taxis, although cheap by western standards, can look dodgy and are a horrendous rip off, partly due to fleecing and partly due to the location. The resort does offer a user pays shuttle service to the city centre but the timetable is absurd.

The service was good, staff were extremely friendly apart from one bad apple and they all wish for you to return to the resort. It was good value as resorts go, there are cheaper places to stay but this is beachfront. It isnt the most luxurious or newest resort around, but you're not paying for the oppulence either.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FatcatJunketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Great place to stay. Highly recommend it. Service great, breakfast great, Pools were great.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GonulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Best thing about Kata Thani was its beautiful tropical grounds and stunning pools (all 4 of them!). There are local restaurants across the road which were affordable (cheap) and lovely, friendly, service. Kata Thani is walking distance to Kata Beach but it's up a big hill, which is fine, except for the heat. We prefer to dine out rather than being stuck in a resort so spent 1/2 time at Kata and 1/2 across the road from Kata Thani. Staff were lovely. Our rooms (junior suites, overlooking one of the 4 pools) were spacious but tired - but clean. Plently to do in Phuket - we'd been in 1993 and alot has changed since then! Phuket is very affordable once you're there, which is great for a family holiday - you can afford to eat!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PATMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We chose Katathani for our honeymoon destination after being recommended by our friends who had stayed there earlier. After looking at many travel brochures, websites and this site too, we decided that this was for us. Well, from the moment we were taken up to our Ocean View Junior Suite (room 5207) all the stresses of our busy lives, the wedding and the flight over just disappeared. It was truly a WOW factor. On our huge king sized bed were two beautiful swans made from the towels and scattered over the bed were fresh rose petals in the shape of two inter-twinning hearts. Beautiful. And the cake just topped it off. After standing on the balcony with our jaws dropped, we changed and headed for the Coconut Bar for a well earned drink. The pool staff are wonderful, friendly and attentive. Nothing is a problem. So onto the rest of our two week stay. Our room was fantastic, the bathroom opens out into the room so you can sit there and take in the ocean view. The breakfasts were terrific, an abundance of choice, great coffee and again friendly staff. Then off to the pool with our books in arm. We had massages every day under the shade of the palms. They are DEFINATELY worth every Baht (300 to be exact for a full body massage). My wife also had several manicures/pediures (I had one but don't tell anyone). The restaurants are great. La Scala was just gorgeous and worth every cent (about A$120 including bottle of red, 3 courses, chefs surprise starter, choc's etc and a rose at the end of the evening. The Pianist was just BRILLIANT).We also ate at their Thai restaurant and the Fishermans Wharf, again Brilliant. A must to try these three. Also take a walk into kata, its easy, yes there is the hill but I have seen a lot worse. There are beach front restaurants that are cheap. Even directly over the road from the resort you can have a meal that will set you back MAX say 1,000Bht including 2 long neck Chang's and this is with a half kilo of fresh prawns BBQ'd..Mmmmm and 3 other dishes. Look, I could keep going, the friendly ladies selling their wares (of which we bought heaps), the weather, the views, the beach, the sunsets. But truly, we honestly felt we could have been there for a month. We have never both felt so relaxed in our lives. Your mind, body and sole just switch into cruise control and away you go. Recommend, ABSOLUTELY, you will not be disappointed. We met some lovely people too whom we will stay in touch with, and I know they too had an absolute ball. Go on, just do it. Don't believe the negative comments. There is just no pleasing some people. How we miss the Shores of Serenity, but will will DEFINATELY return. It's the only place on earth where you can recharge your batteries, and we have both travelled the world to know. Brad & Helen.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Honeymoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,134 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,258 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
6,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $139 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing