We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days stay at this resort in the Buri wing. Both my daughter and myself were extremely unwell with Noro Virus. My daughter loosing 3-1/2 kilo in 4 days she also required a visit yo the resort doctor who administered a double dose of anti metics to stop the violent vomiting and diarrhoea and advised to go to Phuket hospital if it did not stop in one hour, the Thai health authorities had been called into the hotel due to the large numbers of unwell patrons staying at this hotel. We ate only at the resort & swam only in their pools. We found the hotel a bit tired even though we'd had one of the newly refurbished rooms. Also we are both of the opinion that it was too remote being a cab fare to any where else except the resort. I personally would not recommend this hotel for Phuket. The breakfast was always difficult to find a table and

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Glenda R,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. First of all, I am sorry to hear that you and your daughter fell ill during your stay. I hope you have both made a full recovery by now.
Please rest assured that we have very high hygiene standards regarding our kitchen and food preparation that is strictly controlled. Our hotel is certified and checked by HACCP.
May I also inform you that we conduct a regular detailed check of the kitchen, of our water and restaurants on a monthly basis. We also send our water to a lab to be tested monthly. According to hospital records, we are aware that in Phuket at the moment there are cases of gastro sicknesses caused by an unfortunate outbreak of the norovirus in the area. We have also checked with other hotels in our area that reported such cases as well. Therefore, we have implemented additional safety measures in the hotel to ensure and control our standards.
However, we are disappointed to know that our room and the breakfast service didn’t meet your expectations.
I am sorry to hear that the location of our resort didn’t meet your expectation.
Kata Noi Beach is one of the most silent and secluded beaches in comparison to other beaches in Phuket, which most of our guests like because of this reason.

Sincerely yours,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,163
    1,179
    352
    137
    95
See reviews for
1,253
1,813
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here with my family for my sisters wedding. My partner and I had our belongings including our money in the Room Safe. The last night of our stay I was packing to go home and I discovered that out of the $800 AUD emergency money which I had put in the safe $600 had been taken. I called the hotel management and they came to my room with 4 staff members and filled in a report. The hotel management did nothing, I believe that one of the staff members must have taken the money from our room because there were always people entering our room even though they had already made up the room and were not requested to the room.

Please be aware that hotel staff have a way of getting into the hotel room safe, do not trust them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattyTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear MattyTravelz,
We are sorry that you had a bad judgment about our hotel’s standard for room safety box. The hotel management did their best to investigate this matter by rechecking the CCTV in front your room, and investigating all the concerned staff who can enter your room. Our Safe Record also revealed that only the hotel guest’s password was entered into this safe during the period of your visit.
If you need the results from our Safe Record, please feel free to contact our resort any time, and we would be more than happy to provide it for you.

Best Regards,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This really made our trip wonderful. The beach is gorgeous -I don't know how you could find a better place. The hotel was really nice. We were on the first floor by the ocean and really liked it. The breakfast buffet was also really nice in the mornings-we felt like we had a great start to the day.

Room Tip: Know that the hotel is out of the way from many tourist destinations and the traffic through Phuket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank medcruiser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Back from our two weeks vacations in the Katathani Hotel and I must say that it is always a pleasure to write and mention something about this Hotel in Phuket.
After all this years, we found hard to see a better place in Kata area.
The Hotel is always under improvements and doesn't stay stagnant. This prove anyway that everything is made to keep up with the high standard the Katathani is offering.
We love Thailand and Thai people and we find the Katathani hotel respects all those things and matches perfectly with the best one can have in Thailand.
Best regards to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeF-1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have just had 8 days staying in the burri wing for our sons wedding. Unfortunately over 40 of the 60 wedding guests went down with noro virus that hit hard and fast. There was a doctor on hand to give injections, however, the hotel was rather slow in reacting to the outbreak which did not affect just our group. Obviously the hotel is not to blame for the virus but we feel not enough was done quickly enough to help with hygiene.
The wedding was carried out to perfection, full marks to the hotel organisers for this.
Our rooms were disappointing, some smelling of mould and some needing upgrading. Staff were excellent and friendly. The pool area was lacking in staff to serve food and drink.

Room Tip: We would not use the burri wing again, better to choose a room in the main part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very relaxing holiday , great location , food and resort facilities.
Definitely returning next year maybe twice.
Pools at both sections were clean and great for morning and evening swim.
Breakfast and all meals outstanding at all venues.
Parking and security of bikes or cars are well look after.
Beach clean and safe for all ages to swim.
Easy location to either walk to or motor bike to Kata and other locations.

Room Tip: Level Three over looking pool in Bhuri wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porty2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our initial thoughts on checking into the Katathani was disappointment. The resort is quite old (and in some areas, dated) and their room rates are pretty expensive. Whilst our room at modern furniture and an updated bathroom, it still had an 'old' feel to it. That aside, the resort is beautiful. The lawns and pools are immaculately kept and the resort is right on the beach. It felt like you were in a different world and everything was at your fingertips- massage, food, drinks, beach, pool etc. The service was great and all the staff are very friendly. I would recommend this resort if you are wanting a 'resort' holiday as to spend the amount they charge per room you would want to make the most of their facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing