We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation with Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Relaxation with Pleasure”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed alone for 2 nights and then was joined by 9 friends for the remaining 9 days we stayed.
Although the resort was under some stage of renovation it was done in a way that made no impact on our stay.
We stayed in Grand suite (Thani wing) which was very spacious, clean with good amenities
The bed was great because it was flexible to be changed to the firmer support level I required.
Apart from the materialistic value of the resort , the highlight was the personal service and the beautiful nature of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,263
    1,245
    379
    142
    101
See reviews for
1,340
1,893
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I would like to say thank you to the Katathani for providing a great location and wonderful staff
however the Hotel is so so tired- rooms, food all need upgrading. I see from my experiences in hotels as a 3 star and no more as a rating.
This hotel needs totally revamping which is what they are beginning to do however they need to update their main breakfast and restaurant areas which seem stuck in the 50s
the buffet breakfast for us was the most disappointing WE HAVE EVER HAD IN AN ASIAN COUNTRY. Poached eggs that are pre-cooked and then reheated in hot steaming water and they were still cold inside. Cereal bar with limited cereal and no bircher museli which is a must on a buffet breakfast
The chef and food staff need to go on a site visit to see what the Moevenpick hotel does in Kata beach- they provide a 5 star breakfast lunch and dinner which is contemporary fresh and beautifully presented.
yes maybe they have a larger budget but the Katathani could learn much from this property.
I must say the best asset of the Katathani is the wonderful thai massages, pedicures etc that are offered around the pool, they are not only sensational value but the girls provide the most wonderful service to the guests that from our experience is not offered at other hotels
certainly this hotel did not live up to its internet hype the photos are very generous and really dont capture the reality of this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hercules800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear hercules800,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you overall enjoyed the stay in our perfectly located resort and also that our staff took well care of you.

Your remarks about the rooms and breakfast have been well noted. In fact we are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms in the Thani Wing and received already a great feedback after having released some of them only a couple of days ago. Also we have hired a new Chef who will support our kitchen in improving the food & beverage section.

We are looking forward to see you again next year.

Kind regards, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely place complete service couldn't fault the staff!
Only hesitation would be being about 25 min from patong which we went to frequently!
But relaxation and tranquil is amazing the resort is break taking and the range of pools to choose from!
The infinity pool that over looks the ocean and beach was my favourite spot to be !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewokj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 6 nights in early June and had a lovely time. The resort is absolutely gorgeous, and the service was pretty good for the most part. The resort is pretty secluded, and it's at least an hour from the airport and a half hour from most of the tour/excursion locations, so be prepared for a bit of a drive if you intend to do anything off property. Most days we were there, we sat at the pools near the beach and we did spend one day on the beach (you can rent chairs and an umbrella for the entire day for less than $10 US, which was definitely worth it!) We ate at every restaurant and had drinks at every bar while we were there. There are plenty of options since it's such a large property, so you can count on there being good variety for meals. We mostly ate lunch at the larger pool bar by the Thani wing. It is right on the ocean, so the view is amazing, as is the cool breeze off the water (we had happy hour here several nights, too, and even spent 3 hours here one night when the monsoon appeared with lots of heavy rain! If you have to be stuck somewhere in a downpour, though, this was the place!) We did the spa package and had massages which were good--Swedish massage is not my favorite, but for the method it was good. We didn't take advantage of it, but there are also people from the hotel that will give massages or mani/pedis around the pools for a very good price. Other than being a bit far away from everything else on the island, our main complaint was that the room (which was quite beautiful and very clean) was incredibly humid despite constantly running the AC and keeping the doors closed all the time. Everything was damp and our swimsuits and beach clothes did not dry out the entire time we were there. An upgrade to their ventilation system to dehumidify more would be a bonus. Otherwise, we had a lovely time. I recommend Phuket Sail Tours speedboat tour to Phang Nga Bay as well as Siam Tours elephant trekking, but skip the trip to Fantasea. It was a waste of money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lincbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Service is good. Location is a great little oasis away from manning crowds with it's own beach. It is well maintained and a very safe choice. It has a variety of restaurants on site so you need never leave, if that's what you want from a holiday. Has a cool bunch of activities on site and I believe it cannot be faulted as a hotel, catering for every need, every season with variety for masses of people. Kids loved it.

We went in June, the monsoon season, and the prevailing wind blows directly off the ocean onto the hotel. Thankfully the Bhuri wing and its pool is sheltered from the wind making it a great place to hang out. However the other 2 pools and ocean facing apartments are constantly buffeted. That said the kids loved the variety and selection of pool bars. Beach is unusable is monsoon season due to rip tides and big waves (and of course the wind).

They have a kids club and gym open from 8-5. The pool facing and ocean facing rooms are small but great with 2 queen beds pushed together. Any more than 2 and you are moved into the apartment block style rooms lacking a bit of charm.

Free wifi available in either of the 2 lobby areas. Mini bars in the rooms not stocked but minimarts is on the main stretch across the road.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

WHAT A FANTASTIC TIME ! My husband & I just had a relaxing holiday at this lovely resort with 9 other friends we found ALL staff very friendly & helpfull from the pool-breakfast-cleaning-gym staff they always had a smile for you,we would be happy to come for 7days every Aussie winter....reading some of these other reports I guess some people are very hard to please......we would happily recommend this resort to more of our Aussie friends

Room Tip: junior ocean view great- views of the beachgreat need to keep a/c on because of humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diahann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The resort is huge with 6 swimming pools and 6 restaurants. Everybody where very friendly. Stayed in a Junior suite which was wonderful, awesome view while we were drinking ice cold beer. Life doesn't get any better than that. Breakfast was the best I have seen in all my years of traveling. Thai cooking class was good and tasty. Will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,936 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing