We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Make sure you stay at the Thani wing..! And eat ouside the hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Make sure you stay at the Thani wing..! And eat ouside the hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We did enjoy our time in Phuket and were generally happy with the service and the resort. However, one thing really spoiled the holiday somewhat which I would like to share here. We booked the holiday and stay at the resort online and there were two main reasons for us to pick up Katathani. First, our friends had stayed there before and had recommended it and secondly, as we have a 7 year old daughter, we wanted to be spending our family holiday in the convenience and safety of a nice resort with all the amenities and right on the beach.

Only when we arrived at Katathani, we found out that we had to stay at a physically separated wing, the Bhuri Wing, which was not the resort environment we had envisaged and was certainly posing a danger for our 7 year old as she had to cross a relatively busy street to move between the room and the beach. Besides, the many other commercial properties (shops, massage parlours, taxi stands, restaurants, etc.) between the two wings which did not belong to the resort made us very uneasy about letting her "loose" in the safety of a resort.

There was no mention of two separate wings on the travel websites as well as the hotel's own website. The impression given was that all was one enclosed resort with several buildings spread around rather than two clearly and physically separate "facilities" divided by other commercial buildings and a busy road. I must say, it was not the kind of start we had hoped for and it was annoying and misleading that this was not at all clear on the website.

For a facility like the Bhuri Wing, there were many other similar "resorts" on the land side of the road and they did not cost as much. And the little one did not have much freedom to roam around as we were worried about her safety. When we brought our concerns and dissatisfaction to the attention of the hotel management, they offered to upgrade our room to a Deluxe room, but it was again at the Bhuri wing. However, it was not so much a room upgrade that we needed but what I tried to describe above. It would have been a great family holiday and much more relaxing if we could have stayed at a real "resort" as advertised, i.e. the Thani Wing. We were not looking for a cheap holiday, so money was not the main concern and had the internet advertising been clear enough maybe we could have picked up a more suitable arrangement.

And finally the food and drinks at the hotel is generally overpriced compared to the quality and service level. No need to pay double for the drink by the pool which you can get from the little kiosk on the beach in front of the hotel or for the food that you can find for less than half the price on the doorstep of the hotel... and it also tastes better outside the hotel...

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the Thani Wing (Beach side) to enjoy the resort properly and not at the Bh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Okai_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear obarutcu,
Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor and we are happy to know that you are generally happy with our hotel facilities and services.
Please kindly be informed that all the room types and locations are written very clearly in our hotel website. Regarding our small local road in front the Buri Wing, please be informed that its a dead-end street. This means there is very little traffic as only cars drop off and pick up the guests.
We also have a security team looking after the cars and helping customers across the road safely at all times.
I also do apologize that our Hotel restaurants not met your expectations but please be informed that we have special promotions drinks hours in every pool restaurants which are quite cheap compare to other Hotel’s in Phuket.
We appreciate your visiting us, and we hope to welcome you and your family back and into the satisfactory room category.

Best Reagards,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,978
    1,094
    329
    126
    78
See reviews for
1,125
1,669
58
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 10 days at Katathani Resort and just loved it. Every little detail was attended to. The staff were great, naturally friendly and it was obvious they all loved working for Katathani. Fantastic restaurants that cater for all tastes. We were in a group of 40, gathering for a wedding (also fantastic) and without exception everyone loved our Katathani experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First of all we stayed at this resort upon recommendation from friends. We are a family of four, kids aged 13 & 9, so first of all we required 2 rooms,not a problem. We arrived after a long journey from Krabi and our rooms were not ready, I could deal with that. Looking around the resort the grounds are lovely. We waited approximately one hour for our rooms to be ready. It is peak season so you can expect these delays. Once showed to our rooms, we were a little disappointed, we were staying in the newly refurbished Bhuri wing (contemporary decor). The refurbishment is cheaply done and everything seems to be made from chip board. The bathroom was still semi old and poor chip board sliding shutters closed off the open bathroom. Also we found the rooms to be noisy, partly because there are no proper seals on your hotel room door. So noise from the exterior hallways was a problem, also these rooms were facing the pool area which was also noisy at night from the ground floor revellers. As we had two rooms this was the most expensive hotel on our journey approx $800 for both rooms per night. The restaurants were ok, and there seemed to be a bout of gastro going around the hotel, which unfortunately both my kids picked up. The one thing I can really compliment this hotel on was the staff, the nurse on call went out of her way to look after my seriously ill daughter - such a wonderful woman. The security and grounds staff were also friendly and helpful. The beach is nice although watch out for stingers, it is clean and pleasant, but does get crowded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sydneygirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sydneygirl37,
Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor. We are very happy that our staff’s and Nurse could help your daughter when she was seriously ill and we really hope that she feels much better. Thank you for your complementing our staff’s and also our friendliness and helpfulness from our Security.
However, we are disappointed to know that our accommodation didn’t meet your full expectation. We appreciate your comment about our accommodation and will take this good feedback into serious consideration regarding future improvements to our workforce.
We would look forward to an opportunity for welcoming you and you’re Family again.
Best Regards,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is our fourth trip to Katathani and once again were not disappointed. The staff in all areas are extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room was overlooking the ocean and the sunsets every evening were beautiful. The beach is very clean at Kata Noi unlike some other beaches in Phuket. The location is very quiet but just a short tuk tuk or taxi to the markets at Patong. We were there for Thai New Year and the celebrations were fun and the buffet dinner was amazing. Thank you to Fard and the wonderful staff for a great holiday. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean are very quiet and the view is spectacular especially at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at the Katathani for 10 nights in April. We stayed in the Bhuri wing and found the room to be comfortable with very good air conditioning. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel with a great choice, freshly cooked omelets to suit your taste, and scrambled or fried eggs. There was a great choice of fresh fruit. It was busy but we only had to wait a couple of minutes for a table once or twice. The coffee was brought to your table and refilled when you wanted. We found the lunches by the pool to be good value. We eat in the hotel restaurants twice and found it to be very nice thought a little expensive. There were very good value restaurants beside the hotel. We walked into Kata at night rather than take a taxi and used the hotel minibus to go into Patong one night.

The gardens around the hotel were immaculate. Despite the size of the hotel resort it never felt busy or crowded. We enjoyed having a manicure and pedicure from the comfort of your sunbed. Good value for this bit of pampering. The beach was beautiful. We found all of the staff to be very helpful and friendly and we particularly thought the man helping people cross the road from the Bhuri wing to the beach was extremely pleasant all the time. There was 2 free bottles of water left in the room every day and our beach towel was collected and replaced every day. I liked the empty fridge in the room as we could put our beer and duty free in it rather than pay ridiculous hotel mini bar prices.

My only complaint about this hotel was that you did not have free wifi in the bedroom, it was available at reception but would be much more convenient if you could have it in the comfort of your room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank seabreezeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel arrival is one the best we have ever received, an open plan reception lounge with tropical Thai breezes giving a sense of freshness and calm. The cold towel dowsed in exotic scents leaves you with good impressions. The rooms are simply amazing, again open plan with the separation of glass from the bathroom, which gives a sense of overwhelming serenity. Views onto the beach are good depending on the angle of your room onto the beach but majority all have the same picturesque scene. Restaurants are good, you have a good selection of what is available but if hotel restaurants aren't your thing, then take a tut tut into kata itself for 150baht, u won't get it any cheaper, trust us LOL. Centre garden swimming pools with plenty of grassed areas to find your sun spots, massage people on hand all day and the staff are just the best for friendliness with that thai charm they all have, which comes over as harmless and non invading. Enjoy...

Room Tip: If facing the beach, try taking a room on the far right or as central to the resort as possible. Fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waleed m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I can't recommend Katathani Resort enough! From the start, we were picked up by a private car and taken to the resort. And then it all began! The beautiful, warm Thai welcome with a drink and hand made flower lay and seamless check in process. The concierge escorted us to our room and pointed all the facilities of the resort along the way.
The experience just got better, excellent breakfast, mini mart on site and plenty of eating options in and outside of the resort. Perfect for families or couples. Plenty of pools for everyone including an adults only!
The prices at the resort were very reasonable so we ate and drank there most of the time. Kata and Karon was a short walk or tuk tuk ride away. Tuk tuks readily available 24/7.
The beach is not owned by the hotel but the resort is so big and tucked away at Kata Noi that no one would really go there if they were not staying at the resort.
This place is just great, you will love it. But don't take my word for it, stay there for yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bhuri wing. Quieter and newly renovated rooms. The Naka Q rooms were great for twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#15 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 57 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing