We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location with perfect beach. Very popular with families. Rooms are only 3 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at Katathani for 5 nights (23-28 march). As a couple it was impossible to get away from the kids even in the adults only (labelled in 2 languages!) pool. The rooms themselves are VERY expensive for how basic they are. I would say 3 star rooms. More motel style than hotel at $300-400 per night. The rooms and other parts are clean. The pools are great but difficult to get poolside beds with people occupying them before breakfast and them often leaving them for hours just covered with towels. The beach is spectacular and not very busy compared to others in Phuket. We stayed in Bhuri wing room 6319 and had a great view of the main pool in that wing and the sea - albeit in the distance. We had initially booked the Thani wing closer to the sea but changed at last minute and glad we didn't pay the extra $150 per night for not that much more of a view.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanCv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,820 - 1,826 of 4,246 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

From the first warm welcome we felt at home right on the beach at the Katathani Beach Resort Hotel. The staff were quite delightful and all too willing to make your stay special. A junior suite facing the sea provided a beautiful backdrop for our watching the sunset over the sea; very exotic and enjoyable. We were made to feel very comfortable

Room Tip: Junior Suite all of which have a sea view but opt for the third floor for an improved view; only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinLupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Phuket is a busy spot and Katathani is on (basically) it's own beach just south of Kata main beach separated by a headland which makes it much quieter. The trade off is you need to walk or taxi in to Kata which didn't bother us.

It's a big resort but its laid out well enough with pretty gardens that it doesn't feel like it. There's 2 wings, Thani and Buri and i would recommend either, both are close to the beach. The bhuri wing technically has a road between it and the beach but it's basically just used by staff on the odd scooter or a taxi dropping off or picking up, don't let it worry you.

The resort is typical of a 5 star place, plenty of bars and pools, not that we ate at any because of the price. The rooms were nice without being mind blowing and the staff very friendly.

Would recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent a week at this resort in February and had done a lot of research before booking. We had a package that included hotel transfer, breakfast, afternoon tea and lunch or dinner. Check in was quick and we did receive a drink while checking in. They said that we had been "upgraded" to a Grand Suite in the Thani section but the room was on the first floor, right in front of the small shrine. We asked if there was a room available on a higher floor and/or in the ocean front room that we had originally booked. After about 45 minutes we were advised that nothing was available that night but would be available the following day. The Grand Suite was nice but with all the dark wood it did not seem too inviting. The next morning we were escorted to an oceanfront room on the 2nd floor in the Thani wing (which we had originally booked) and we were happy with this room. Yes, there was a musty smell a bit and no, nothing ever seemed to dry due to the humidity but we still enjoyed the room and balcony overlooking the small grass area and the beach. The room had all the amenities you need including beach bag to use while there, bath robes, fridge etc. Our room was cleaned well by staff each day and there was an elevator in this building.
Staff: I had left a bracelet in the room unknowingly and we received an email from the hotel while we were traveling, including a picture of the bracelet, inquiring if it was mine and how they could return it. This was a pleasant surprise and spoke to the honesty of the staff at the hotel. The staff we encountered were all friendly especially the beach security staff.
Food: We ate all our breakfasts at the restaurant next to the Thani and although busy staff were very quick to fill up your coffee cup and clear plates etc. There was a good variety of food at lunch and dinners and the fresh fruit was great. We had afternoon tea a few times when it was raining and one lunch and dinner at the Fisherman's wharf. The service was generally slow and orders were mixed up a few times, however the food was good overall. We ate the Italian restaurant one night and the food and service were excellent - the best in the hotel. Happy hours at the beach bars were good value and great scenery!
Grounds/Pool/Beach: The grounds were well maintained and the loungers were comfortable. We paid the 200 baht per chair on the beach and the water was clear and had a gradual entry. You can buy cold drinks/beer from the beach vendors at reasonable prices. We only used the adult pool a few times and it was clean and the loungers comfortable...though you might need to get there early if you wanted an umbrella etc.
Tours: We used Panya for two days as our driver and he was punctual, friendly and happy to share information about his island. We also went to Mom Tri's one night which was very good.
We celebrated my birthday during this trip and the hotel surprised us with a cake and candles one night (and the fridge is big enough to hold a cake). Overall we enjoyed our week however the hotel is pricey during high season compared to other hotels in other areas of Phuket.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room on upper floor in Thani wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is overpriced and apart from the location didn't have much else going for it for us. It looks tired and dated and could do with some serious freshening up. surprisingly there were no lifts, so tough for older people or those with young babies, prams etc. We booked having done research on the internet and read the glowing reviews on tripadvisor without, unfortunately, looking at the poorer reviews. We stayed in a junior suite because it was in the section of the hotel that's on the beach side of the complex. But this is not a suite - just a slightly bigger than usual room. As others have remarked, we also found the room musty and they put some oil burner in the room with a strange perfume which I guessed must be an attempt to neutralise the odour. The sheets smelled but as we arrived so late I couldn't be bothered to call housekeeping to get them changed. The shower was really old, the air conditioning was so noisy I could barely sleep the first night. I think this is great for families and groups but was just too big, cavernous and impersonal for us. On the positive side, the staff were very helpful and friendly and dealt very efficiently with our luggage which arrived after us at about 1:30 am due to flight delays. Breakfast was OK - lot of choice but a bit canteenish.
We moved on to the Renaissance hotel north of the island which was cheaper and far superior, but downside is its much further away from the main activities and centers of the island.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Nerys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Nerys A,
Thank youfor your review and compliments about our staff service and breakfast choice. However, we regret not having met your expectation with regards to the accommodation.
We do renovate often, however being located directly on the sea requires us to constantly reduce the results of chronic humidity. Please be informed that we have a lift in every building.
We hope you’ll return to Katathani in light of our continuous enhancements.

Best Regards,
Suwimon P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is intended to better inform those considering a holiday at Katathani. Many years of travelling to far flung places (experiencing various styles and size of hotel and different cultures) have helped us refine what we want from a holiday BUT we can only base our choice on the information available. We hope this (lengthy – sorry) review helps.
Katathani is on the beach and, at the front, is right on the road so there is some traffic noise.– certainly not one of those hotels with a long sweeping drive leading to a grand entrance. The lobby area is high ceilinged and air conditioned. We arrived at 1100, had a refreshing welcome drink and were checked-in quickly. Rooms are not usually available until 1400, we hoped ours would be ready but, sadly, it was not and we ended up sitting in the lobby for three hours. We were offered a room to change in but all we wanted was to get to our room, unpack and sleep. We splashed out on a Grand Suite in the Pacific building of the Thani wing – we thought this might be a quieter area but many guests with children book these rooms for the extra space. Also, the building is close to Chom Talay restaurant and the grass area in front is popular. We asked to be on the top floor and this was the case. Some travel companies claim these rooms are accessed via a bridge but that is the Ocean building containing the Junior Oceanview Suites (these cost slightly less than a Grand Suite, look more modern and have a much better position). The Grand Suites are large and comfortable – ours was kept very clean. The minibar system is a great idea – it is empty and you fill it with what you want (the hotel’s shops have a fair selection and you can charge it to your room). The first 2-3 days the oil burner in our room was on, once the cleaner stopped refilling it there was a definite damp/musty smell. Around this time, our clothes started to smell musty and feel a little damp (as did the soft furnishings in the room) – no, we do not leave the aircon on and the balcony doors open. Aware that this appears to be a problem in other rooms and the fact we had settled in, we decided to put up with it and bought diffuser reeds (the shops at the hotel have them) to improve the smell in the room - unfortunately, they didn’t! The hotel really needs to sort this out as soon as possible. Watch out in case your smoke alarm battery is low. This happened with us and we notified housekeeping who took it down but it was not returned until we mentioned it to the Service Desk. However, a few days later we realised the red light was not flashing and it did not respond to the test button. Fortunately, this discovery coincided with someone from housekeeping carrying out a general check of the room – when we told him he checked it, took it down and disappeared. It was back up and working later that day.
Other reviews refer to members of staff having a poor attitude. We thought this may be the result of demanding, rude guests and, from what we witnessed, that is probably true on occasion. Some staff members who were initially offhand responded positively when we tried out our few words of Thai but others ignored us or scowled and were very abrupt – we have never come across this before in our many visits to the “land of smiles”.
Restaurants: Chom Talay, the main restaurant in the Thani wing. Used for breakfast and evening buffets. Breakfast was a frantic, noisy affair. The selection of food was very good – fresh fruit, salad, cheeses, bread, hot meals etc - and the kitchen staff excellent. Unfortunately, most of the waiting staff do not appear to be up to the task – ignoring guests while carrying on private conversations, pushing trolleys right across the path of guests (it keeps you on your toes!) and regularly neglecting to bring special order drinks. Fortunately, a small number of waiting staff kept things on track, most notably Num - he was fantastic. The evening buffets were themed and included a “show” – there is a stage, lighting, the full works. Mostly people appeared to eat and run, the shows were virtually ignored. We attended one show as my OH was keen to hear two of the singers (they were fine, as was the food) but, to us, there was a distinct feel of a 1970’s holiday camp – entertainment is fine and it is always nice to see a local cultural show but on this scale it is not for us.
Chanadda: Thai food of a very high standard, as was the service – many thanks to Kookai and everyone working there.
La Scala: Wonderful Italian food and excellent service – they made our anniversary meal very special (including a cake). We really enjoyed the playing of the resident pianist.
Fisherman’s Wharf: Hit and miss. Our first experience was largely positive – tasty food, quick, if rather brusque, service. Second time was not so good. Our reserved table had been given to others and we had been moved near the smoking section (even though we had made it clear we are non-smokers), plus the main meal was disappointing. On this occasion the waiter was very good, gently teasing my OH about the dessert. Both times there was a duo singing table to table – not something we like, it would have been much nicer if they had remained in a central position.
Cinnamon: Tried the “Night Market” buffet. Food OK but the service and general attitude of the staff was poor – they failed to clear our plates, could not answer our questions about the food and, like Chom Talay, spent much of their time in private conversations. In addition to this, there was a terrible smell of drains. Another duo singing but they did not go to individual tables. We did not go back.
Seacret: Advised us they were only open for buffet lunch, though it seems they also hosted a couple of “special” evenings – one based around The Beatles and the other around the Bee Gees. We did not eat there.
Room Service: Good selection, fast service and great tasting food. It would be nice if trays were removed from outside the rooms asap – ours was still there the following morning even though we had advised room service when we put it out.
Bars: Good choice and service.
We did not like the banners and boards around the grounds promoting the buffet/show of the day, the five most popular meals at the resort and the weekly frog racing event (no, we did not watch this!). Fisherman’s Wharf has full sized cardboard pirate figures outside every Saturday!
It seemed the vast majority of guests were Russian (most of them with children), with the remaining guests coming from Asia, Europe, Australia and the USA. Some guests came across as quite challenging.
The grounds were well kept and quite pretty, though the most attractive area was rather out of sight between the Pacific and Ocean buildings in the Thani wing – it has a bridge over a lily pond, lovely!
The swimming pools were nice enough but the adult pool in the Thani wing was simply one half of a large pool with the children’s section in the other half, plus there was hardly any room to move sunbeds in and out of the sun. Massages on sunbeds around the pools/grass areas were popular with guests.
The beach is public but the hotel is proactive in helping to keep it clean. There are several rows of sunbeds along the beach (some of them extremely close together), with food/drink stands nearby. Based on the photo used by the hotel and several travel companies, we had thought we could take quiet, romantic walks along the beach but in reality it is crowded, very busy with people playing games and built up at the far end (most of this was The Shore - the upmarket sister hotel of Katathani). The waves are sometimes fairly rough (which some people enjoyed) and there is a strong undertow.
Mozzies: I am like a magnet to them and a two week holiday usually means a few bites but here I had over 50 (yes, fifty!). I have different lotions and sprays for trying to prevent them but nothing helped (including the local insect spray and fly spray for the room). We could hear the whine of mozzies on the grass areas and on our balcony. It should be said that we did not see any evidence of the hotel spraying (this has always happened elsewhere).
Wi-Fi is available free in a couple of the public areas but if, like us, you want to use it in your room (it works very well) there is a charge. Like other reviewers, we believe it should be free throughout.
Would we go again? No. Would we have booked if we had known the above? No. However, there are people it suits and we hope this review helps.

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Oceanview rooms rather than the Grand Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank summertimeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear summertimeSuffolk,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your detailed and valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor.
We are disappointed to know service did not meet your expectations. The resort sincerely apologizes for shortfalls encountered and I have addressed
your feedback with the operations team including relevant department heads who are able to take corrective measures.
We are currently reviewing in-detail those issues which can be improved to meet your expectations. While we regret the disappointments found,
it is our pleasure to hear you enjoyed the hotel facilities and Katathani’s restaurant staff .Once again, the resort appreciates your kind feedback
while wishing to welcome you back in order to experience our newly improved standards stemming from your good feedback.

Sincerely
Suwimon P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a lovely time at the Katathani. Very clean, very friendly and the restaurants within the complex were reasonably priced. Glad our friends talked us into coming and we will be back. We met some realy lovely people who worked here and they helped to make our holiday into a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChTaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,139 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,258 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $139 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing