We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thailand holiday 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dover
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thailand holiday 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Katathani mid February. Our room was on the ground floor and metres away from the large pool. We foudn the resort extremely clean and the staff were always helpful and happy. I have no complaints whatsoever and take home with me many happy memories

Room Tip: When we booked we were under the impression that we would have a beach view, but on arrival we didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazzy1doverkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,163
    1,178
    352
    137
    95
See reviews for
1,252
1,813
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from Thailand and a weeks stay at the Katathani Beach Resort and loved every minute of it. Within a few days of making the reservation the Katathani staff contacted me to arrange transportation to the hotel. We were greeted at the airport and directed to a private car with ice cold water and warm towels to wash our hands! Upon arrival at the resort we were given orchid braclets and lovely lychee drinks while we checked in. Our room was spacious, modern and very clean with a beautiful ocean view. We loved the resorts proximity to local restaurants. The massages I. The garden area were great too. Overall wonderful stay at Katathani!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Katathani in late August 2012. The hotel was situated in a great location, over looking the sea. You can walk right from the hotel to the pool and then the beach -- without needing to cross a road. We think it's a great plus.
The atmosphere at the hotel is very relaxing, with massage services, mobile nail salon, and pool-side bars. I could spend the whole day by the pool and beach listening to the waves. My boyfriend also took scuba discovery course and the staff were very helpful. The service staff were also friendly, well trained, helpful, and attentive. We went to Patong for one night and spent the other two nights at the hotel. The night in Patong was quite convenient considering the shuttle service from the hotel. We came to the conclusion that we made the right choice not to stay close to Patong because it can be too overwhelming. We also participated in the frog race; and everyone loved it (both kids and adults!)... Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here last year on a special, two nights for the price of one. It was only this deal that makes it worth the value for money. If you have to pay full price you maybe disappointed.
The beach is lovely but lots of rubbish get washed up every day and they clean it up after every high tide. The pools are really nice, the service sometimes a bit slow and they needed prompting to clear plates or order food/drinks. You get one pool towel per day, and you have to put up with laying on a damp towel all day.
The breakfast is amazing and the highlight of the food offered at this hotel. We tried two of the restaurants, which we found expensive and were disappointed with the quality of the food, and prices are high. Go across the road to little Thai place and the food is yum and costs nothing in comparison.
The biggest thing that I didn't like was the stuffy old air conditioning in our room.I did complain, which is awful of your first day of your holiday, but the smell was gross. Smelt stale and musty. They did move us to another room which had a similar situation with the A/C but not as bad. Most of the time we didn't use it and opted to tolerate the tropical heat by having our room balcony door open. The bathroom was ok, but dated. This is not a flash 5 star, more like average 4 star accommodation.
The bed was rock hard but they put a mattress top on and it did make it better.
Overall the location and people are lovely, just do not expect a flash room, or super efficient a/c.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Katathani in September 2012 and absolutely loved every second! The resort cannot be beaten for beachfront location. It may be a little out of town, but we saw it as a good thing! Staff are all helpful and thorough. We stayed in an ocean view junior suite in the thani wing - the room was lovely - very spacious and clean. Breakfasts are fresh and plentiful, and the resort grounds are just perfect. We ate at the Ta Restaurant (out of the resort - just across the road) after a fellow holidaymaker recommended it - would highly recommend it for fresh, healthy and cheap meals!!

Room Tip: Ocean view junior suites in the thani wing are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife, my daughter and I shared a room at the resort so we could attend my nephew's wedding. We found many aspects of the resort postive but there are some aspects other travellers may want to consider before booking a room. To begin, all aspects of the wedding were wonderful: the location, the organisation, the food, the decorations, the staff service, it was perfect.
Re our stay, the staff were excellent, service was first class. My wife and I would particularly like to compliment the cleaning staff and the bar staff. All were friendly and helpful. The pools were wonderful as were the massages and little features like being able to have a free trial of scuba diving in the pool. The food was good though we would have liked more emphaisis on authentic Thai food. We found it a little strange to have an Italian night in Thai resort! The breakfast was great with a wide range of foods. The location was good in that it is well away from Patong and othe busier spots. The resort seemed very family friendly. If you wish to visit the more popular areas expect to pay about 500 Baht one way for a taxi ride (about 17 AUD). Staff at the front desk were very helpful in explaining and finding taxis. We also very much enjoyed a late night drink at the bar near the beach- it was excellent.
Our room had a view of the pool (not the beach) and the third "bed" in the room for our adult daughter was inadequate- it was a sofa with sheets. The room was really too small for three adults. The hotel was fully booked so we were stuck with it for the week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Robert J,
Thank you for your many kind compliments about Katathani, its staff and the wedding. I would like to inform that our room details are noted on the hotel website.
As you mentioned, we were fully booked during your period of stay and therefore we were sorry that we could not offer you an alternative accommodation according to your interest to upgrade. We hope to welcome you back to a more preferable room upon your next visit.

Best regards,
Suwimon P.
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors Hill, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

An amazing resort located on the Kata Noi beach. Restaurants, taylors, convenience store just outside resort. Short cab ride into Kata town. Loved every minute, cheap massages, mani,pedi by the pool. Staff are exceptional. I have been lucky enough to stay at the Shores at Katathani as well. Whilst the Shores villas and views are exceptional and the benefit of a private pool great, it can be a little isolated. But then the Katathani is just a golf buggy ride down the hill. The Shores gives you the best of both worlds. Love the Katathani, won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: At the Katathani try for a ground floor room, easier access to everything. At the Shores, sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing