We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort-the complete package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne,australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort-the complete package”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My hubby and i are due to leave tomorrow from this resort.
i chose it (as it was a surprise for his 50th) based on trip advisor reviews and our travel agent.
Upon arriving we were greeted at the airport and driven the one hour to the resort. i had booked a junior suite which is on the 3rd floor and we were most impressed from the layout and furnishings of the room, the biggest King size bed to the BEST views over the pool and ocean..The rooms were kept wonderfully clean and credit must go to housekeeping who definately take pride in leaving your rooms clean and tidy each day. From the workers on the ground who keep the resort fantastically maintained it is picture postcard perfect.
We just loved swimming in the aqua blue water which is literally a hop, skip and jump from your room. The water is so clean-no rubbish or seaweed and the sand a pleasure to lay on. there are many beds around the resort and as soon as people wake up they tend to reserve them with there towels but there was always somewhere to lie and have a singha beer and a massage which the ladies will gladly do at your sunbed or there is a hut on the beach. there is free wifi in the lobby but we purchased 15 days of unlimited internet and had no issues.... the tuk tuks and taxis out the front charge 200 baht which is approx $7 to take you into the next town Kata which has many shops and places to eat. as fans of Bali we found the thai not as friendly with the shopping and they won't tell you the price but always show you on a calculator. we always reduced it by a third! If ther"e not happy with the price you say they will let you walk away. We loved our stay, just fantastic, a wonderful resort, a beautiful country.The weather was perfect...sunny and hot with rain for half an hour late afternoon which was a welcome relief. It all sadly must come to an end- till next time :-)

Room Tip: i loved Junior suites as they have great ocean views whereas the ocean front tend to be tucked right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jules065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    1,212
    369
    141
    98
See reviews for
1,299
1,858
67
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had our wedding here, spectacular staff were fantastic loved everthing could fault this place. Very stunning. We highly recommend to stay here. location is great, close to eveything. also great for relaxation.

Room Tip: junior suite ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in a Ocean Front Junior Suite to ensure a sea view as when we booked the trip we originally booked a Grande Suite but could not be given a higher floor guarantee as we did not wish to be overlooked by people at the pool. Upon arrival we were given a ground floor Ocean View Suite but were able to ask to be placed on a higher floor. The room was clean and tidy but was in need of a refurbishment as paint was bubbling off the wall posibly due to damp and there were other items that were also in need of repair. The room provided excellent views of the ocean but was let down by the condition.
The staff at the hotel have been exceptional and are a credit to the hotel this is the main reason why we scored this hotel as high. The food at all the restaurants was really nice and good value for money. I have read about the Taxi /Tuk Tuk arrangements outside the hotel as being like the mafia and would agree that the prices seem to be fixed but not in line with the normal taxi fees as we can always get return taxi fees cheaper without any negotiation. I would like to see the hotel print recommended taxi fees to ensure their patrons are given a guide to fair pricing.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide greater privacy and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaccaPeachester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have visited the Kata Thani Phuket on 4 occasions. August 2012 was my most recent visit. The beachfront location is wonderful for powder like sand and a long walk from end to end . One minute you can be sitting poolside enjoying a relaxing massage and the next you can be swimming in the sea. Caution: there were considerable riptides while we were there and caution flags were up. The breakfast was buffet style that would appeal to any age or ethnicity. The restaurants on property were average and we did take advantage of local, well established restaurants. The staff could most be described as warm, friendly, professional and very concerned about your comfort and care while at the Kata Thani. We did use the spa while there and it lives up to it's reputation as being "first class". The property is very clean and continually maintained but is starting to show it's age. In my past visits we stayed in the Oceanfront Junior Suite (my favorite) but on this trip we stayed in The Royal Thani Suite loated at the end of the building on the first floor. In opting for the larger suite, we gave up a better view. Also, for two prople the Royal Thani Suite would be fine if we were entertaining guests but there was no need for a dining room and an oversized living room. Kata Thani should certainly be on one's list of accomodations being considered. Frank Shea: fshea@alphagp.com

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor Junior Suite. Best views and pleanty of room to 2 prople. Be sure to arrange air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Burri Wing and were pleasantly suprised.Good spacious room,bathroom and toilet a little bit of a weird setup( could not have doors closed of both at 0ne time) a minor detail for a couple but could be awkward for friends sharing.
Staff friendly and excellent.Breakfast good,but dinners so so.At least there are some good restaurants closeby.
Pool area great, a pool bar would be an improvement.
We had a good stay, our main reason for staying was to check out the place for our sons wedding next year. The wedding setup is excellent and we would have no reservations of recommending it.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe burri wing room,superior rooms not to our liking(a bit cramped)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My partner and i fromAustralia stayed here for 5 nights and it was amazing. If your looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing in Phuket then this is the place to be. The ocean pool view is absolutely beautiful. The staff are friendly and attentive and the breakfast is all you could want and more.

A couple of downfalls .. The TV reception is poor for those nights you want to stay in and order room service. The pools are very spread apart so each area only has a few people resulting in the atmosphere being a little dull (but like I said great if you just want to chill out) and there is no swim up bar which I would expect in a 5 star resort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at Katathani for a period of 10 days from the 3rd to the 13th of October 2012.

This is by far one of the best resorts I have stayed in. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the location is amazing.

The food in the restaurants was sensational and everything you could possibly need is located at the resort.

Our rooms were clean and tidy and made up for us every day. Our housekeeper was absolutely amazing, she left us towels folded into animals everyday and even left us flowers on the final night of our stay.

I am already planning my next trip back to Thailand around the same time next year and I will definitley be staying at this resort again. I have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone else travelling to Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing