We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beachfront Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beachfront Location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have visited the Kata Thani Phuket on 4 occasions. August 2012 was my most recent visit. The beachfront location is wonderful for powder like sand and a long walk from end to end . One minute you can be sitting poolside enjoying a relaxing massage and the next you can be swimming in the sea. Caution: there were considerable riptides while we were there and caution flags were up. The breakfast was buffet style that would appeal to any age or ethnicity. The restaurants on property were average and we did take advantage of local, well established restaurants. The staff could most be described as warm, friendly, professional and very concerned about your comfort and care while at the Kata Thani. We did use the spa while there and it lives up to it's reputation as being "first class". The property is very clean and continually maintained but is starting to show it's age. In my past visits we stayed in the Oceanfront Junior Suite (my favorite) but on this trip we stayed in The Royal Thani Suite loated at the end of the building on the first floor. In opting for the larger suite, we gave up a better view. Also, for two prople the Royal Thani Suite would be fine if we were entertaining guests but there was no need for a dining room and an oversized living room. Kata Thani should certainly be on one's list of accomodations being considered. Frank Shea: fshea@alphagp.com

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor Junior Suite. Best views and pleanty of room to 2 prople. Be sure to arrange air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    1,212
    370
    141
    99
See reviews for
1,300
1,859
67
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Burri Wing and were pleasantly suprised.Good spacious room,bathroom and toilet a little bit of a weird setup( could not have doors closed of both at 0ne time) a minor detail for a couple but could be awkward for friends sharing.
Staff friendly and excellent.Breakfast good,but dinners so so.At least there are some good restaurants closeby.
Pool area great, a pool bar would be an improvement.
We had a good stay, our main reason for staying was to check out the place for our sons wedding next year. The wedding setup is excellent and we would have no reservations of recommending it.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe burri wing room,superior rooms not to our liking(a bit cramped)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My partner and i fromAustralia stayed here for 5 nights and it was amazing. If your looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing in Phuket then this is the place to be. The ocean pool view is absolutely beautiful. The staff are friendly and attentive and the breakfast is all you could want and more.

A couple of downfalls .. The TV reception is poor for those nights you want to stay in and order room service. The pools are very spread apart so each area only has a few people resulting in the atmosphere being a little dull (but like I said great if you just want to chill out) and there is no swim up bar which I would expect in a 5 star resort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at Katathani for a period of 10 days from the 3rd to the 13th of October 2012.

This is by far one of the best resorts I have stayed in. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the location is amazing.

The food in the restaurants was sensational and everything you could possibly need is located at the resort.

Our rooms were clean and tidy and made up for us every day. Our housekeeper was absolutely amazing, she left us towels folded into animals everyday and even left us flowers on the final night of our stay.

I am already planning my next trip back to Thailand around the same time next year and I will definitley be staying at this resort again. I have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone else travelling to Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best resorts we have stayed in. The staff are magnificent and the beach front was never busy. We will be back there for another visit. Close by to Kata Beach, a good 15 minute walk up and down hill. Did my open water dive course via Sea Fun Divers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we had a great stay there, even though it was raining. The staff were very nice, room was clean and big. food was great and excellent. We had a wonderful romantic dinner at the Italian restaurant. The dinner was included in the package, we didn't expect it would be nice, but out of our surprise, we had a great meal in that restaurant with a pianist playing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

myeself and my boyfriend spent 2 weeks at this magical resort and it was the most amazing two weeks of my life! the hotel is absoulutely stunning the staff are so lovely and the location is perfect. Kata noi beach is by far the most beautiful beach on the island of phuket. Its a short cab ride into patong if you want more nightlife. I cant wait to go back there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudders29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing