We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Accommodation was wonderful - we had a junior deluxe suite which was spacious, clear and very comfortable. Plently of hot water in a very well organised shower / bathroom.
Staff were fanastic, very polite and sincere in their manner. We went there to escape the hustle of more central locations. The hotel has great pools, an excellent gym and loads of free activities to keep you busy. We found our oasis of peace at Katathani yet it was only a short walk to shops and restaurants. Taxis were readily available if you wanted to travel further afield.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a beach front - view is wonderful and they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJ3934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,184
    1,191
    360
    139
    97
See reviews for
1,272
1,830
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Positives-
the rooms and bathroom were spotlessly clean and nice touches such as white linen napkins in the room.

The staff were all very lovely and the grounds were very well maintained.

Needs development - didn't like the room used for breakfast/ meals - Chomtalay. It was dated and had plastic chairs and paper napkins. The food was also not iup to the same standard as found in an international hotel.

I didn't like the location at all- yes, it's on the beach but the street frontage is not good and the other buildings in the street are all run down and dumpy. Great range of shops/ restaurants in Kata but very steep hills to get there and unless you are very fit you would not make it. Have to use tuk tuk or taxi to go anywhere which adds to cost (500 THB to Patong one way ).

We always stay in 4+accommodation and I would rate this resort a 3.


  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CocoMelbourne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toukley, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We are late to review our trip from May 2011, but had to share our experience as we are planning to return this month.
We were impressed from the moment we arrived at the Katathani, the staff are just beautiful and eager to impress. We stayed in a junior suite in the Thani wing & it was lovely. equipped with king sized bed, options avail for pillow choices, a full sized marble lined bathroom with decent sized bath and rain shower.(note, most thai resorts seem to have quite firm mattresses, but this resort was quick to attend our requests and added mattress toppers for extra softness, perfect) The room also had TV, mini bar, plentiful warbrobe spaces, an sliding glass doors onto your own verandah with seating to sit and admire the awsesome view of the Andaman sea.
The grounds are imacculate and staff are always attentive to the grounds AND THEIR GUESTS! A number a pool choices, including an adults only pool (our favourite place to lounge, with lovely massage ladies roaming at your beck n call for pedis and manicures as well), all with their own bar area staffed by attentive souls, whom you only had to glance at and they would be quickly by your side with menu in hand for your choice of light meals and drinks.
The advantage of this resort is it is the ONLY resort in the Phuket area located near kata/karon that has its own fully private beach. the staff keep this pristenly clean, and it is a refreshing feel to know the general public have resrticted access to this piece of paradise.
I suggest you get your room with breakfast included, the buffet is always plentiful with daily changes for variety of freshly made hot and cold choices.
We also dined a number of nights in the resort for dinner, there are 5 dining choices to choose from, the fresh daily seafood in the fishermans wharf restuarant was beaufitul, with prawns the size of a dinner plate!
We really don't know why some people whinge about anything here, we never experienced anything on a negative side here - some past reviewers have mentioned mosquitos, bugs etc, honestly we didnt experience anything of the sort, but may be the time of year you travel....

This place is located well, close enough to get to all the sights and areas of interest, with transport right at your door on offer, yet also far enough removed to get out of the hustle and bustle of the towns and really feel like you are returning to your own private piece of paradise.
Do try the i the resorts other options, they have an onsite salon, and a day spa, plus a number of activities to try. There is also a games room, and a big plus for my hubby was the inresort doctor who was very attentive to his alergy needs (and not expensive).
Admittedly, we chose to travel in Thais off-peak times to avoid crowds and masses of families, being our 1st time travelling without our own children, we really didnt want to be subjected to other peoples kids, and to our delight, we never were.
This is also one of the only resorts from our research that offers 24 HR ROOM SERVICE..And believe me when I tell you, it is an advantage! If you choose to get out on the town and return a bit peckish, nothing is too difficult for the staff here, and QUICK! wow, we felt we had just put the phone down and our waiter was already knocking on our door to deliver!
Towards the end of our 10 day stay, we opted for a scooter hire (avail in shop outside katathani), so we could come and go at our leisure, fun! 1 night we hit the local towns, had dinner at the dino bar (wow!) then cruised the bars til we ended up on karon beach at a roadside set up cocktail bar operating from a fully decked out pink vw combi! Had the best time listening to Bob Marley music, being served by rasta-thai dudes, and pissing up with a bunch of russians! The security guy on the door at Katathani must of saw us coming down the hill on the scooter and was immediately at our side assisting the inebriated pair we were with parking of scooter, helping us wrestle our helmets off and a personal escort to make it to our room, bless him!
All in all, the thai people are a lovely race, it truely deserves it nickname "the land of many smiles", we came back totally humbled from the experience, and the friends we made along the way, thank you Katathani and staff!

Room Tip: If I had to look to improvement here, I'd say maybe the only area that wasnt 100% perfect was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed at Katathani for 8 nights in Junior Suite on the ground floor with a view of one of the pools and beach. Check in was smooth and we were greeted with a cool towel, flower bracelet and a ice cold juice.

We were very impressed with the size of the room which was cleaned everyday by the wonderful housekeeping staff. The air con needs to be updated as at times it was hard to maintain a consistent cool temperature. Our family who were in the suite next door had a issue with their air con which broke down then started to leak water however the staff were very prompt in rectifying this issue when we all went out to dinner. They even compensated them for the inconvenience and provided a free 1 hour massage from the massage ladies.

The resort grounds are enormous with a number of different pools, and huge grassed areas which is great for children to burn of some energy and of course adults alike. The resort is located in a quite part of Phuket directly in front of Kata Noi Beach and has access to a couple of mini marts and restaurants outside. Very cheap to eat at either Orchid or the Seafood restaurant which my wife fell in love with the Fired noodles with prawns or pork from Orchid restaurant and the Pad Thai was the best I had in Phuket.

Only down side of our stay was the checkout. We were provided with a late checkout which was great however our family weren't so we arranged to checkout at 12pm as we were all staying at another resort. Our luggage was supposed to be collected prior to 12 however by 12.30 I called reception to see what was going on, to which she arranged for a couple of bell boys to come and collect our luggage. Found it a tad wired that they arrived with a sack trolley rather than a luggage trolley considering we had three large suit cases and three carry bags. One of the bell boys pointed to the three carry bags and said you can carry that !! Paid our room charge bill and then waited for our driver to arrive. Our luggage was outside and no staff could be found to provide any assistance. Might sound picky but it made us feel like we’ve got your money, now get out!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Katathani and would like to return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Junior Suites in the Thani wing a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc_adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Gosh just reading some of these reviews and annoyed at how much people whine over nothing. We stayed for 16 nights for my birthday , we were delighted a cake was given on the day without us mentioning it , NO RATS ....lucky as t hat meant no worries about having to get compensation for .....oh packet of chips ! no water problems around the pool bar, mind you there probably was but what else would you expect .....it's a POOL bar...... I don't think most people would complain about this.... Please ignore reviews such as these petty minded people. We loved it so much we booked for October for 24 nights For ourselves and two teenage boys ...oh and I'm very picky about where I stay . I love this place and the staff were amazing and willing to help with any genuine concerns .

Room Tip: Ground level junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Antoinette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

stayed two families in two grans suites
suites are nice nothing to write home about
ground are lovely
pools are very nice
massage in the grounds are good value
beacg very very clean and beatiful
overall very good experience for families with young children!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this resort, after spending a few days in Bangkok. We loved the quietness, which this resort offered, and the fact that it sits right on the beach.

We arranged for the hotel to pick us up at the Phuket Airport, and it was just under an hour's drive in a Toyota Camry. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with a cold towel and apple juice, and were checked-in promptly. Despite the fact that we arrived shortly after 12 noon, we were told that our room was ready. We were taken to the room in a trolley, and our luggage carried to the 3rd floor (there is an elevator).

We booked a Grand Suite, Room 1307 and loved it. The room was spacious, and our view looked right out to the ocean and resort grounds. We had a balcony with a table and chairs. The room had a seperate shower/tub area, with a rock floor...very neat! The bedroom area was large, as well as the sitting area.

We spent one day at the adult pool, and found it easy to find chairs poolside. The waiters didn't seem to come by for drink orders very often, but the bar was close to get to. Beer prices were also cheap (between 10:30am and 6:30pm), about 70B, since they compete with the private beach vendors. Cocktails were about 200B. We also spent one day on the beach. Since it's a private beach, you pay 200B for 2 covered chairs, but that didn't bother us. We did find that the left side of the beach (looking out) did have a lot of debris. However, we were told this was because of high winds and the material was coming in from offshore.

We booked the FantaSea show and an excursion on the June Bathra using the tour services of the resort. June was nice to deal with and patient with our questions.

We walked into Kata one night, which took about 20 minutes, and was uphill on the way to town! After spending some time in Kata, we were so happy that we were at Katathani, as it was so much quieter. Kata was very busy, and I don't think it would've been the same experience at all.

My wife had a massage for 300B on the resort grounds.

The buffet breakfast was good each day, and we ate one night at La Scala, which was also very good.

I would certainly recommend Katathani for anyone who is looking for a relaxing get-away. It's the only hotel on the beach, and was a nice break from our otherwise busy trip to Thailand!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Grand Suite on the 3rd floor, room 1307. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doucetja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
887 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing