We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2013 Beautiful”
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“April 2013 Beautiful”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We arrive after a short flight from Bangkok. ( female 24 and male 26)
Once greeted at reception who were very helpful as my suitcase had no arrived with me. It has been lost some where between Bangkok and Phuket!. Reception phoned the airport for me and found out it hadn't arrive on the plane so they arranged It to be sent on the next flight to Phuket then sent by taxi. I was over the moon as it arrived within the day!.

THE ROOM - we were lead to our room which was beautiful and so unique, the setting is amazing and atmosphere just so special. The room is turned down on a night by a member of staff that comes round and closes the netting around the bed and sprays the room to keep the bugs away.

POOL- was lovely and cold and we never found that it was over crowded, which makes it feel all that more exclusive.

MEALS- we had breakfast and evening meals here, Breakfast was great...the selection was huge, from continental right to a few of the traditional English selections we could not fault the food. Evening meals we chose from the menu were very different as we chose traditionally, but all tasted amazing.

SETTING - whilst eating your meals you either feel like you are in a beautiful temple or if you sit closer to the outside then you can sit near a small pool where they have carp fish swimming which were great to watch.

FREE BEACH BUS - they doo provide a bus which takes you to the beach once every hour and back every hour. As we found it was too far to walk to the beach, we did on 2 occasions but with the heat being so strong, it was just too far.

BEACH- The beach has clear blue sea, which is so clear you can see through. The beach was beautiful although quite busy. We visited a bar just off the beach were you could watch people surf and a flow rider machine which was great fun to eat while watching people try their luck and fall off.

CLOSE BY - we did take a walk out in the day time and found it was mainly massage parlours, right the way down the street from this hotel. with all the ladies just sat outside waiting for you to walk by. We did chose a parlour and have a foot massage 3 times in our 5 day stay as the prices are just so cheap.

NIGHT LIFE - of a night we mainly eat out and found only a short walk will find many bars and great places to eat. Also live music which we enjoyed.

OVER ALL - great hotel feels like luxury while you are here, very traditional and great service by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    317
    105
    39
    21
See reviews for
150
738
51
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Upon arrival we were shocked at the quality of the Sawasdee Hotel. We were given a very dark room with 3 beds and little room to walk around. This reservation had been booked 5 months prior but she said the hotel was fully booked with no hope of a better room. Her ploy was to get us to spend $140 more a night to be in the Baray Villas which would make the cost of this tacky hotel close to $300 a night. When we refused she found "another guest's room" which she reluctantly give to us, hardly better and complete with cockroach. The showers are wood so you can imagine the cleanliness issue. The area is disappointing with not much to offer. Find a different hotel, it was the worst of our 5 week trip through South India, Sri Lanka and Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyndeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

It is very green area, as soon as you entered you understand that you in the heaven. Very humble workers, nice athmosphere, very good spa, very nice place to relax, we loved this village this is the reason we came twice and already planning to make reservation for our next wedding anaversiry. Thanks to Sawasdee for everything they are offering to us.
KOC room 114

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nk121989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If I have nothing good to say, I try to keep my mouth shut. I selected this place based on it's Trip Advisor ratings and reviews but fail to see why it was rated so highly. Anyway, after my stay, the Sawasdee sent me an email asking for a comment on Trip Advisor so here goes.

Talk about an old tired property and overpriced. A room the size of a closet and done up in an UGLY jungle hovel motif cost over $200 USD per night. The hotel's location was basically in a slum with massage parlours, tattoo joints, some very sorry looking souvenir shops, and an eatery for Russians among the neighbors. The bedroom was impressively SMALL. My wife and I aren't big people but the two of us could not walk past each other in that room without wiggling about like we were on a rushhour subway somwhere. The large bed took up most of the room and you could hardly see any floor....not that there was anything worth looking at on the floor.. The bathroom and shower were claustrophobic....old and tired and made of wood....a little judicious use of tiles and plastic would have given a more sanitary feeling to the place. The "complimentary" fruits consisted of one small dry orange and one banana. They looked like they had been sitting in the room for two or three days.

The overgrown and over the top jungle motif carried into the restuaruant where there was absolutely no air conditioning and the perforated walls and front entrance bordered the street meaning that we were literally sitting within 3 to 5 meters of the passing downtown traffice. We were breathing in road fumes while eating....and the traffic was loud. Actually I don't think I have ever eated sitting among the passing traffic before. This was no sidewalk cafe in Paris. The breakfast buffet was nothing to write home to mother about either. Wasn't bad but there wasn't anything good either.

So, I'm not really sure what other travellers found so delightful about this place. The staff were a bit too curt to be truly pleasant and the boy at check in kept insisting I forward him the telephone confirmation I received from Hotels.com for my prepaid room....shouldn't they have received that confirmation driectly without me having to provide it again? Overall, this is a $100 USD hotel and at $200 it was a rip off.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZhuhaiBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Location: In the heart of Kata beach area close walking distances to the main restaurants and shops. Kata is a good beach to locate out of in Phuket as more laid back than the other busier beaches. About 10 mins walk to the main Kata beach, but we didn't need to go there given the amazing swimming pool.

Room: Very traditional Thai style. The rooms are small compared to your typical resort, but it was super comfortable and just what we needed. We stayed with our child and the bed was a California King that easily slept 3. Shower and amenities were top notch. Nice wood teak feel to the whole place. Rooms equipped with air purifiers and internet computer. Our room was literally 2 steps from the pool and definitely worth trying to get one, but the garden rooms also looked nice in the heavy tropical gardens around the hotel.

Facilities: The pool is just amazing and would describe it like swimming in an Ankor Wat like setting. We didn't need to venture to the crowded beach as this was an oasis in itself. There is also a nice chill out room for reading. The spa is supposed to be one of the best in Thailand, but we didn't experience this. Walking into the hotel feels like you are lost in a Thai oasis.

F&B: Top notch compared to all the other hotels in the area. The setting of the restaurant is like a temple. Breakfast was great quality and something you looked forward to each morning. They also offered Thai cooking classes and would say given the decoration and quality of food also a good destination for dinner.

Service: Excellent. Very accommodating and friendly. Great at following up when you had issues. They also personalised the service when they welcomed you even though they were getting many visitors. We had trouble with a taxi and they helped us deal with it.

Value: Great value for money given the quality and design.

Summary: This is one of those special boutique hotels, and unique experiences for a hotel stay in Thailand. The stay enhanced the vacation, and didn't feel like just another resort you could be at somewhere else. It was small enough to be intimate and location was great for getting to the popular F&B/Shopping areas. Definitely would come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpagoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just got back Monday, what a fantastic experience. The hotel is set in a beautifully designed tropical oasis. The traditional decor has been thoughtfully put together. If you are thinking of staying here please do. The staff are the best I've every experienced , the service is second to none. I was unwell while I was visiting (nothing relating to the hotel) one of the reception staff bought me some flowers and a get well card, who does that these days? Almost everyone we met asked how I was feeling. The rooms are ample, the beds enormous and comfy. we slept very well as the rooms are dark and it's very quiet at the Sawasdee Village, no traffic noise. Blissful. Breakfast is buffet style and everyone's taste appears to have been catered for, there is a lot of choice. One thing to point out, don't take beach towels with you. You are given a beach bag and towels, which are replaced daily. How good is that? Go, you'll love it

Room Tip: I think the room are mostly the same, it's quiet wherever you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My partner and i decided upon this resort based on the reviews from tripadvisor and we couldn't be happier with this choice! We used this resort as a stop rest and go option as we had to leave for a tour inland then back again into Phuket. After a long flight we were so tired we justed wanted to get to our room to sleep. Upon entry the staff were so welcoming and gave us great comfort upon arrival, as we walked through the resort with a lovely receptionist lady escorting us, we already felt relaxed and had a sense of trinqulity with the sound of the water fountains and surroundings. The rooms were gorgeous with a traditional thai feel - free wifi and free breakfast included. I loved how the shower was set up with that tropical jungle feeling. During the day we could see the true beauty of the resort, the buffet breakfast was enjoyable in a gorgeous restaurant set up. The resort is located on a quiet part of Kata beach not far from all other main locations in Phuket. It sad that we didn't get to stay longer but we will definately next time. Thank you Sawasdee Village.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikitajmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
912 reviews
23.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Property: Sawasdee Village
Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing